SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 4090 (Misses' Renaissance Skirts)

3 more reviews
Viewed 1664 times 
Reviewed by:alysonwonderlan
photo

 
 
About alysonwonderlanstar
MD USA
Member since: 5/11/05
Reviews: 30 (patterns: 28)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/21/05 10:26 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
JacyW said... (9/16/08 11:02 PM) Reply
Thanks a bunch! I've been looking for a good ren faire skirt pattern, and I picked this one up, but now I'll know to be careful with it. You're right, those skirts need to be FULL!!
centinela said... (3/18/08 3:15 PM) Reply
Great review. It helps to know the fullness and see photos. I found the lap instructions very obnoxious on this pattern and a simplicity pattern as well. I ended up figuring it out on my own because their descriptions made no sense.
Tiner W said... (5/22/05 12:04 PM) Reply
I love it! I'd love to try some of these patterns.
Lisa Laree said... (5/21/05 3:55 PM) Reply
I'd love to see a photo, too. I bet this could be adapted for Dickens-era costumes...;) Anne, 'lap' is the finish applied to the slit in the skirt below the waistband (or a sleeve, above the cuff) where the opening is; some variations call it a 'placket', but that ususally looks a little different. HTH.
Sweeta said... (5/21/05 11:27 AM) Reply
Sounds beautiful, if you could post a pic I'd love to see it.
AnneM said... (5/21/05 7:43 AM) Reply
What is the "lap"? Perhaps you need a crinoline skirt to add fullness.
esmer said... (5/20/05 5:46 PM) Reply
Thank you so much for your review and all the info you gave us on sewing this pattern. I may go into renaissance sewing for extra cash , but for now I am doing my homework on what to expect from some of the different patterns. Thanks again for your help.
bunz said... (5/20/05 2:11 PM) Reply
isn't it fun to be "forced" to learn a new technique?!?!?
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

Lutterloh 245-supp 282

photo
by: ladyampton

Review
Simplicity 9008

photo
by: HOWsMom

Review
You Sew Girl Best Dress Pattern

You Sew Girl Best Dress Pattern

Pattern Details
Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Pattern Details