SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 4090 (Misses' Renaissance Skirts)

3 more reviews
Viewed 1653 times 
Reviewed by:alysonwonderlan
photo

 
 
About alysonwonderlanstar
MD USA
Member since: 5/11/05
Reviews written: 30
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 28
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/20/05 1:18 PM
Last Updated:5/21/05 10:26 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
JacyW said... (9/16/08 11:02 PM) Reply
Thanks a bunch! I've been looking for a good ren faire skirt pattern, and I picked this one up, but now I'll know to be careful with it. You're right, those skirts need to be FULL!!
centinela said... (3/18/08 3:15 PM) Reply
Great review. It helps to know the fullness and see photos. I found the lap instructions very obnoxious on this pattern and a simplicity pattern as well. I ended up figuring it out on my own because their descriptions made no sense.
Tiner W said... (5/22/05 12:04 PM) Reply
I love it! I'd love to try some of these patterns.
Lisa Laree said... (5/21/05 3:55 PM) Reply
I'd love to see a photo, too. I bet this could be adapted for Dickens-era costumes...;) Anne, 'lap' is the finish applied to the slit in the skirt below the waistband (or a sleeve, above the cuff) where the opening is; some variations call it a 'placket', but that ususally looks a little different. HTH.
Sweeta said... (5/21/05 11:27 AM) Reply
Sounds beautiful, if you could post a pic I'd love to see it.
AnneM said... (5/21/05 7:43 AM) Reply
What is the "lap"? Perhaps you need a crinoline skirt to add fullness.
esmer said... (5/20/05 5:46 PM) Reply
Thank you so much for your review and all the info you gave us on sewing this pattern. I may go into renaissance sewing for extra cash , but for now I am doing my homework on what to expect from some of the different patterns. Thanks again for your help.
bunz said... (5/20/05 2:11 PM) Reply
isn't it fun to be "forced" to learn a new technique?!?!?
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

BurdaStyle Magazine 01-2015-109

photo
by: Lynnelle

Review
Petite Plus 604 Pattern

Petite Plus 604 Pattern

Pattern Details
Favorite Things Little Bow Peep Pattern

Favorite Things Little Bow Peep Pattern

Pattern Details