Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Threads Magazine: 0000 (Organza Shawl (CoverMay 05)) - Type:Other    printable version
Viewed 2117 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 19 people   
Reviewed by:petra
photo
Friend of PR
About petrastarstar
NH USA
Member since: 6/20/03
Reviews written: 52
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 25 people
patterns reviewed: 48
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/21/05 8:05 PM
Last Updated:12/31/06 8:32 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
41 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
BjP said...
I wondered when someone would try this...and yours is absolutely awesome! I applaud you for taking the time to do the dye job - you ended up with beautiful colors!
5/21/05 8:15 PM
LisaLS said...
So pretty!!! I liked the one on the Threads cover, but I like your colors a lot better!
5/21/05 8:20 PM
Cami said...
Very clever to serge seams in alternate directions. Very pretty colors. Thanks for the great review.
5/21/05 8:25 PM
Modiste Madness said...
The green was the perfect touch. It is beautiful.
5/21/05 8:27 PM
CarolynGM said...
Great color combination. Beautifully done.
5/21/05 8:39 PM
Marita Kinnula said...
I love it!!!!
5/21/05 9:14 PM
jlg said...
Your shawl is gorgeous.
5/21/05 9:16 PM
jemgirlca said...
Beautiful! I like yours better than the one in the magazine.
5/21/05 9:37 PM
esmer said...
I would have been to scared to try this one so hat's off to you! Your are brave and look at what wonderful result's. I just love your wrap. Isn't organza slippery and hard to work with? Nonetheless I am willing to give it a try now. Thanks for the incouragement.
5/21/05 9:49 PM
annsew65 said...
Petra, your scarf is Beautiful! What type of thread did you use for serging? It looks like it might be rayon. I love the shiny effect on the silk organza.
5/22/05 0:12 AM
Sweeta said...
so lovely, I am stunned!
5/22/05 1:27 AM
Carina said...
Wow...wow...wow...., I was mulling over this already! And what a beautiful colour combination! I'll definitely have to give this one a try. Nice Job Petra!
5/22/05 3:50 AM
hongkongshopper said...
Oh that is gorgeous! The colours are beautiful.
5/22/05 4:30 AM
els said...
Gorgeous "threads" shawl, it is on my to do list too.Thanks for the review.
5/22/05 4:30 AM
KathleenS said...
I also thought I must make this when I saw it on the cover of Threads, but I'm not as fast as you. Yours looks great and thanks for the helpful review.
5/22/05 4:58 AM
Deepika said...
OMG what a pretty scarf. I was just reading the magazine and thinking I should make that. And after seeing yours I am convinced that this is a must sew!. Thanks!
5/22/05 5:58 AM
petra said...
Actually serging the organza was easier than I had thought - you have to practice with the negative feed setting and te manual stretch so that you get the right degree of ripple but it doesn't pull off the edge. I actually used a narrow hem with rayon embroidery thread top and bottom rather than a rolled edge as I found it worked better and looked nicer. You can also use strips of thin water soluble stabilizer on top if you are having a problem.
5/22/05 7:18 AM
AnneM said...
Lovely scarf. Very nice.
5/22/05 8:04 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
Gorgeous, gorgeous, gorgeous. This has been on my to do list since I first saw the Threads cover. Thanks for your detailed review of the process!
5/22/05 9:16 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I just read this article in Threads. Glad to see your review. Lovely scarf. I looked at your other photos. Great projects you have made. I must have missed a few but remember seeing others. Lovely work.
5/22/05 9:44 AM
Gigi Louis said...
Beautiful! I love your color combination.
5/22/05 10:15 AM
MickeyFan said...
Awesome! Glad to see this project really does turn out as nicely as promised in the article. Thanks for this review
5/22/05 10:16 AM
Tiner W said...
It's just beautiful!
5/22/05 12:00 PM
Pattern Junkie said...
Ooh, I've been lusting after this ever since I saw it on the Threads cover -- now I want it even more! It's gorgeous!
5/22/05 12:45 PM
alicia said...
Thanks for the great tips on making this!!! I've been lusting after it too - have the organza and dyes waiting for a few empty hours. :)
5/23/05 5:55 AM
Teri said...
Your shawl is just wonderful. I too have been mulling this over. I want to try the technique with sleeves.
5/23/05 9:20 AM
Julia in NC said...
your shawl is beautiful. I love your color combinations.
5/23/05 7:49 PM
SandraB said...
Your scarf is absolutely gorgeous. Your hard work has certainly paid off.
5/30/05 12:12 PM
jemgirlca said...
Wow, I wish you were my friend... lol Your scarfs are gorgeous!!
10/4/05 8:19 PM
Patti B said...
Gorgeous!
10/4/05 10:15 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
Stunning! Wow! It looks *so* expensive--totally gorgeous. Thanks for sharing your project & tips!
10/4/05 10:39 PM
SarahL said...
It's great to see your pictures of these scarves. It looked beautiful in the magazine, but the pretty photography had me convinced it wouldn't work so well in real life. Yours look great - and they look more like something I'd actually use than the ones in the magazine did. Thanks for doing this review!
10/4/05 11:11 PM
Sewphie said...
What beautiful scarves you've made! Will have to try this myself. Thanks for sharing your info.
10/4/05 11:38 PM
Maychi said...
Beautiful scarf! Great colour combination!
10/5/05 5:21 AM
Ceri590 said...
Wow! That is the kind of thing you see in boutiques for major dollars! I don't have a serger so I wonder if it would really look that good with just zig-zag?
10/5/05 6:16 AM
Linda F said...
Thank you for sharing this experience. What a beautiful scarf!!!
10/5/05 6:18 AM
christine A said...
I admired the threads magazine photo but thought it would be too difficult but now after reading your wonderful review I will definately have to try this. Do you think it will work with very silky poly?
12/31/06 11:18 AM
Elona said...
What gorgeous work, and so many helpful tips, too! Unfortunately, I cannot see the newest picture, but I bet the scarf is no less beautiful than the others.
12/31/06 12:17 PM
petra said...
ok, new photos should be visible now. Not sure if silky poly would work, but a poly organza would. It needs some stiffness.
12/31/06 12:21 PM
sewbehind said...
Very lovely. They are something special.
12/31/06 1:30 PM
Carolyndh said...
Okay, you've convinced me to try this! I love the elongated scarf over the dark dress. What an elegant way to dress up the "little black dress" that many of us have.
12/31/06 1:49 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Simplicity 4384 Girl's Dress
photo
Review by lizziwhizz on 10/24/08
Read Review

Favorite Things Sweet Es-Cape Pattern
Favorite Things Sweet Es-Cape Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Keyhole Top & Pants for Wovens
Christine Jonson Keyhole Top & Pants for Wovens

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Rory Double Bubble Skrit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -4T )
Peek-A Boo Rory Double Bubble Skrit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -4T )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Susie Sun Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Susie Sun Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 3097 Sweatshirt
photo
Review by Margaret on 2/17/10
Read Review

Simplicity 2478 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Simplicity 2478 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1657 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Simplicity 1657 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us