Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 6614 (Misses'/Men's Tops and Jacket) thumbsup - Type:Outerwear    printable version
Viewed 143 times 9 more reviews
Reviewed by:HolleyM
photo
About HolleyM
MN USA
Member since: 4/26/07
Reviews written: 21
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 18
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/20/13 8:24 PM
Last Updated:12/24/13 1:06 AM
Project Photo:McCall's: 6614 by HolleyM

Pattern Photo:McCall's 6614
McCall's Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Easy & Great for Beginners
See other patterns in this category: Mens - Jackets    Tops    Coat/Jacket    Mens - Shirts    
Available for sale on PR: $15.16 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Fleece  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description: Close fitting pullover tops have princess seams and narrow hem.

Pattern Sizing:Small to 3XL

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?Yes. The views are quite different but it looks like the zip up version.

Were the instructions easy to follow? yes.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?I started out making this maybe 6 months ago. I didn't think the T shirt type ribbing I had was heavy enough and wasn't finding anything else in the fabric stores. I finally ordered some from Wawak. Should have purchased more instead of getting two different types! They are very narrow tubes so you'd have to cut lengthwise and make it narrower than I planned. Also I missed that you were supposed to use a contrast on View D, the zip up jacket. It didn't show on the photo and I just saw the main fabric layout. I'll have to see if there is a contract fabric showing a second hood cut out for View D. ( There is. It was below the main fabric cut out. )
I did not line the hood. I didn't use a facing either.

Fabric Used:Polar Fleece.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?Yes, it's a pretty simple pattern. measure the length of the jacket before you buy the zipper! I trimmed off an inch at the top. I handstitched a stop at the top of the zipper. I hope that works.


Conclusion: I'm finishing this up for a Christmas gift for my cat crazy adult daughter. I will remember to take a photo when I finish it!

Buy this pattern for $15.16  List Price: $18.95   Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
1 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Chempac said...
Cute jacket! I know your daughter will love it!
12/25/13 8:41 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Burda 7646 SHIRT / DRESS
photo
Review by Sewmetoo on 6/23/12
Read Review

Simplicity 1670 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3 )
Simplicity 1670 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8691 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 8691 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2011-116 Bardot dress
photo
Review by gwenj on 8/9/11
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Avery Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Avery Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Seashore Sundress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver + S Seashore Sundress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Boyfriend Jacket and Shell
Christine Jonson Boyfriend Jacket and Shell

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us