SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8877 (Misses Top)

5 more reviews
Viewed 475 times 
Reviewed by:KateS
photo

 
 
About KateSstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 3/28/06
Reviews written: 41
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 32
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/21/13 9:46 AM
Last Updated:12/21/13 10:55 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $22.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $22.50 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
carolynw said...
Reading your blog it seems you are using a much older pattern and I find it so facinating that the same top is now in the current line up! You will hear from a lot of others here that this top looks really nice - give it some time off and you may learn to love it
12/21/13 10:34 AM
carolynw said...
Went back to your blog and my error - just didn't think the envelope would look like that
12/21/13 10:49 AM
KateS said...
Carolynw I only brought this pattern recently, about two months ago. I think it might just be a case of misinterpreting the pattern illustration on my part. As you say some time away from it may help me to get a better perspective, it has happened before ! :)
12/21/13 10:51 AM
KateS said...
I agree - view B and C look very early 1990's IMHO- view A is what sold me!
12/21/13 10:52 AM
olybinewski said...
I think you started with too large a size. I'm 5'6", 180lbs w/ 36DDD and I wear unaltered Mediums in Vogue (or size 18, which is smaller than what my measurements indicate on the envelope.)
12/21/13 5:30 PM
mmcp said...
Really helpful review, whether you end up wearing it or not, it is really useful to know the difference between reality as we know it and the jacket illustration!
12/21/13 8:29 PM
debbieB said...
I Like your choice of fabrics!
12/21/13 8:39 PM
Danvillegirl said...
It is a pretty top. Now that you made it hopefully you will decide to try again adjusting for the current fitting issues. It is lovely fabric combination.
12/22/13 8:44 AM
TJSEWS said...
I think the top looks rather cute on you. I especially like the yoke section. After all of the effort, I do hope you wear it often because it's lovely. The pattern may have given you a hard time but you persevered and now have a pretty top.
12/22/13 3:09 PM
KateS said...
Thanks ladies this top is growing on me (not literally ha!) so I may try this pattern again. Unfortunately the silky synthetic blue/white fabric is very insulating so it wont get much wear out of it in the next few months (summer here in Australia). Olybinewski I'm not sure how the M, L, XL etc sizing works for me, I went one size under what they suggested after looking at the finished bust/waist measurement. There was only a cm or two difference between my bust and the finished garment bust so I'm not sure if another size down would have "accommodated" everything ;) Pattern sizing and in built ease are two factors I'm just starting to come to grips with.
12/24/13 9:01 AM
Lookingpast said...
I bought this pattern for the same reason you did and found your review to be very helpful. (The comments, too, BTW) I have the same problem with Houston summers as you have with Australian ones, so I will definitely use cottons and sheers. I'm curious if you found the neck opening too wide--it looks like it from the pictures on the envelope, but your version looks just fine. It really does look good on you.
7/22/14 3:34 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Simplicity 9469

photo
by: arianamani...

Review
You Sew Girl SEWING CLASS 1 - Shopping Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl SEWING CLASS 1 - Shopping Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus D202 DVD

Petite Plus D202 DVD

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 1315

photo
by: Sharon M

Review