SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8943 (Misses' Dress and Slip)

Review submitted in Cocktail Outfit Contest Contest
Viewed 1348 times 
Reviewed by:sewin
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About sewinstar
MS
Member since: 5/13/10
Reviews written: 22
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 22
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/21/13 6:16 PM
Last Updated:12/29/13 3:05 PM


Vogue Patterns: 8943 by sewin  
Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
43 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MrsCharisma said...
This dress made up just as amazingly as I thought it would! It's BEAUTIFUL!!!!!!!! Good save on the hole. I think we've all put a hole or two in accidentally :)
12/21/13 7:05 PM
chenille said...
Just beautiful and she does look like a princess!
12/21/13 9:01 PM
SewLibra said...
Absolutely gorgeous and well worth the time you spent! Your daughter looks so pretty in it. I also have had accidental holes and cuts in my work and it makes me crazy! ;-) All you can do is what you did, and fix it to the best of your ability.
12/21/13 9:15 PM
Amanda S. said...
Just plain beautiful!
12/21/13 9:50 PM
AdaF said...
Just gorgeous! I'm sure your daughter is ecstatic about the dress. You did a wonderful job!
12/21/13 11:37 PM
Scheri said...
Your daughter looks absolutely glowing. Great work.
12/22/13 0:13 AM
ArtAttack said...
Wow! This is gorgeous! She looks beautiful in it...and happy!
12/22/13 2:11 AM
Quickie said...
You made your daughter very happy with this dress, I can see it in her face. Dress is gorgeous
12/22/13 3:14 AM
Sherry440 said...
So beautiful on you!! How did you know it would look so good on you?! Red carpet perfect! Does the lace itch?? I wonder.
12/22/13 3:57 AM
jlg said...
Lovely! So glad that you reviewed this pattern.
12/22/13 6:44 AM
mmcp said...
I think the fit you got on this dress is amazing--and she looks really beautiful in it! So glad it was a patchable lace hole--I once did that to a satin skirt and the dress was unsalvageable.
12/22/13 7:26 AM
Woolygal said...
I congratulate you. This is one beautiful piece of work. It's the reason we sew. Perfect fit.
12/22/13 7:50 AM
Danvillegirl said...
So glad you were able to fix the lace melt! Very pretty dress!
12/22/13 8:40 AM
LlanoGirl said...
Very, very beautiful, great job! I wish my Mom had sewn something like that when my three kids were small!
12/22/13 9:10 AM
mnitts said...
What a great mom you are making this for your beautiful daughter. Great job!
12/22/13 9:22 AM
caper81 said...
Gorgeous dress on your very beautiful daughter! And yes, good save on that hole! I've scorched some fabric on one project and had to cut a new pattern piece:( Glad you didn't have to with this one! Very "Audrey Hepburn";)
12/22/13 9:54 AM
Sue Parrott said...
Wow, it is just beautiful!!!
12/22/13 10:20 AM
cmarie12 said...
Stunning! Simply stunning!
12/22/13 12:16 PM
slmstyle said...
Gorgeous! Not only did you make a beautiful dress, but you got to learn about couture sewing techniques. That's a win-win kind of pattern to sew!
12/22/13 1:33 PM
sewin said...
Thank you all for the lovely comments. That's one of the things I love about pattern review, the wonderful support the members show for one another. It's just the icing on the cake of creating a garment.
12/22/13 4:35 PM
carolynw said...
Gorgeous dress - your daughter looks so elegant in it. Great work
12/22/13 7:31 PM
DJWa said...
Gorgeous! I would think your daughter should feel like a princess in that dress! Audrey Hepburn dress - how appropriate!
12/22/13 10:47 PM
ggf2005 said...
sensational!
12/23/13 12:55 PM
mesewlot said...
This dress is absolutely beautiful and very elegant!
12/23/13 11:29 PM
wexford said...
Wow, what a stunning dress!
12/24/13 1:45 AM
Sindy in PA said...
You created such a lovely fit - it looks like an A+ quality garment. Fantastic!
12/27/13 11:03 AM
JanElise said...
Beautiful labor of love! It looks very RTW and perfect fit.
12/28/13 9:48 AM
3kids1036 said...
This is gorgeous!
12/29/13 3:07 PM
SewWil said...
Gorgeous dress!!!
12/29/13 7:44 PM
Melwyk said...
Really stunning! It's a perfect fit, and looks beautiful and natural on your daughter. Thank goodness you could fix the lace and continue on!
12/29/13 10:43 PM
MamaSewing said...
Simply gorgeous!
12/30/13 10:17 AM
Aroura said...
Such a professional and amazing dress, what a lucky daughter! She looks stunning!
1/1/14 3:52 AM
Baja Susana said...
lovely dress, and your daughter looks wonderful. Haven't we all done something like melting the fabric? You saved it and made a perfectly beautiful dress for your daughter.
1/2/14 4:16 PM
madbadger said...
Beautiful - well worth all your effort!
1/3/14 11:36 AM
butterflyfly said...
Just stunning! Your daughter does look like a princess indeed!
1/4/14 10:30 AM
Margaret said...
Very elegant! Looks great on your daughter!
1/5/14 7:59 AM
sewin said...
Thanks for the kind comments ladies. Your encouragement means so much to me. My daughter loves the dress and she said she did feel like a princess wearing it. Mission accomplished!
1/6/14 3:22 PM
mcbrow said...
Congratulations! You are an inspiration!
1/10/14 11:24 AM
wildberrymom said...
What a fabulous dress! Great job and great review.
1/10/14 11:49 AM
Cosso said...
Your dress looks beautiful. Think I would be inclined to attache the hip yoke to the waist and make the skirt one piece as the join in the front is markedly obvious in this Vogue pattern, esp if the underskirt is lighter than the top lace.
1/21/14 5:22 AM
Lenarciak said...
Wonderful! Great job!
1/28/14 7:50 AM
missdin said...
I love it! I just bought this pattern and plan to make it in white for the spring/summer.
2/11/14 5:02 PM
sewin said...
Can't wait to see your version Msdinn.
2/12/14 9:14 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Ottobre Design Magazine 04-2010-7

photo
by: jent

Review
brerrabbit.com Dove Fitted T

photo
by: ZoSews

Review
Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 6-14(Cup A-DD) )

Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 6-14(Cup A-DD) )

Buy Now
SewBaby Hug-Me Bibs Pattern

SewBaby Hug-Me Bibs Pattern

Buy Now