Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5263 (apron) - Type:Accessories    printable version
Viewed 86 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:HolleyM
photo
About HolleyM
MN USA
Member since: 4/26/07
Reviews written: 21
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 18
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/24/13 1:36 AM
Last Updated:12/24/13 12:57 PM
Project Photo:Butterick: 5263 by HolleyM

Butterick: 5263 by HolleyM  
Pattern Photo:Butterick 5263
Butterick Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
See other patterns in this category: Home Dec    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Cotton  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description: There are 3 separate views of aprons.

Pattern Sizing:Small med or large. Not sure if it comes in larger sizes.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes I have twice uploaded the photos and they aren't here! I will try again.

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I love the pockets and also the sash, giving it some shape. I liked using a contrasting fabric also.

Fabric Used:Cotton My son in law is from Texas. I like lizards so I chose this Southwest Native type design.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: My daughter is an XL so I added width to the pattern. I made this before, for my niece's wedding shower. I made that one in a red and black cherry blossom type print and then did the pocket and sash in a black, grey and white chevron print and had a great button on the back. This one, I bought fabric when I didn't have the pattern with me and didn't get enough of the brown to make the sashes out of it. Also I thought I had purchased brown double fold bias tape, and I did not. So here it is Dec 23rd and I did have brown single fold tape which was much harder to use. I ended up opening up the fold to stretch it over the edge and be able to stitch it down. It was putsy with me trimming more, and the width of the bias edge varies. I do not think it will be very noticeable and it is an apron so I "made it work". Because of the very narrow bias tape I had trouble having the stitching catch the back side always and then went to zig sagging it which I liked. I think the bias tape adds a nice contrast.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?Yes and yes

Conclusion: Three very different apron patterns that are unusual and pretty.

Buy this pattern for $16.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
0 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Simplicity 2852
photo
Review by graysquirr... on 5/4/09
Read Review

You Sew Girl Kids Beret Pattern
You Sew Girl Kids Beret Pattern

Details
Price: $15.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Liberated Woodlands Shirt
Sew Liberated Woodlands Shirt

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kimono Tee
Kimono Tee

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Peplum Skirt Digital Pattern
Salme Peplum Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 12-2009-112
photo
Review by Catherine ... on 2/3/10
Read Review

New Look 6072 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18-20-22 )
New Look 6072 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1497 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Simplicity 1497 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us