Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8539 (MISSES' JACKET) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 381 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:regine
photo
Friend of PR
About reginestar
SOUTH AFRICA
Member since: 9/26/05
Reviews written: 44
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 29
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/24/13 3:34 PM
Last Updated:12/24/13 9:11 PM
Project Photo:Vogue Patterns: 8539 by regine

Vogue Patterns: 8539 by regine  
Pattern Photo:Vogue Patterns 8539
Vogue Patterns Pattern Info

More Info provided by regine

Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
See other patterns in this category: Outerwear    
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Boiled Wool  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
This pattern is for a three quarter length coat loose fitting coat.

I used a boiled wool from Fashion Fabrics Club. Although it is quite a hassle to buy from overseas I found that the selection and the prices on this site are excellent. Although I need to pay quite a lot of postage to South Africa it is still worthwhile.

The lining is a grey, patterned polyester, locally bought.

I made a size 14.

Yes it looks very much like the pattern drawing.

The instructions were very good and easy to follow. There are only a few pieces to the pattern so it was a quick project.

I love the collar and the fact that the coat is big so that I can wear a tailored jacket underneath it.

The only change I made to the pattern is that I lined the coat. I also left out the top button which I felt was unnecessary.

The buttonholes were a bit of a challenge. The wool is so thick that the machine could not cope so I made the buttonholes by hand.
I turned up the hem and zig zagged it in place.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sew Good said...
Buttonholes have always been a challenge for me on jean or coating. My basic Kenmore makes the best buttonholes on thick fabrics. This machine is 30 years old but I keep it just for the buttonholes. There are some great books with ideas for buttonhole alternatives. I love your jacket. If I decide to make it, I think I would use large snaps or alter the pattern to make an additional vertical seam and use the seam for my buttonholes. Thank you very much for your review! Very helpful!
12/24/13 4:52 PM
kushami said...
Looks fabulous, Regine. A hit of vintage style. Lovely!
12/24/13 8:18 PM
PattyE said...
Your coat looks wonderful. Gosh, I've had this pattern for years and realize I have never made it. Now I see what a nice coat it makes. Thanks for the review.
12/24/13 10:16 PM
sewingcanary said...
Im surprised Vogue didnt have a lining for this! Short-cut sewing? If your wool is like the boiled wools Ive had, hand button holes was a wise choice. The seam idea would mean 4 layers of fabric, plus interfacings. Depending on the fabric, it might be difficult to button. One option might be a solid fabric, or leather, bound buttonholes. However, a few years, ago I bought a fairly heavy 100% cotton sweater vest. The front bands are backed with matching wide cotton twill and it has big 25mm 1 snaps. The vest is almost as dark a gray as your coat and the snaps look like tarnished pewter. I LOVE IT! The snaps are great and become part of the design. The more I use them, the more I like snaps. Ive added them to several RTW jackets and coats with minimal or no snaps. I sew a button on and snap underneath. Using buttons with either a rim or dish-shape provides a nice nest for thumb or finger and makes for a good snap. The biggest drawback to them is the lack of color and size options. Where I live you can get bright silver or painted black, or huge, giant size bright gold nothing at all similar in size or color as my vest. This is a perfect coat for my current local weather conditions roomy enough for sub-layers. Cheers and Happy New Year. Canary
12/25/13 4:31 AM
Lucy in Virginia said...
Lovely job!
12/25/13 9:57 AM
regine said...
Thanks for your advice about snaps, unfortunately the boiled wool I bought would not work with snaps.
12/26/13 4:14 AM
regine said...
Thanks for your advice about snaps, unfortunately the boiled wool I bought would not work with snaps.
12/26/13 4:14 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2011-132 Girls tunic
photo
Review by sandramary on 4/11/14
Read Review

J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern
J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Retro Granny Skirt Formula Pattern
Paradiso Designs Retro Granny Skirt Formula Pattern

Details
Price: $11.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Bibury Capelet Digital Pattern (JC302BC)
Jamie Christina Bibury Capelet Digital Pattern (JC302BC)

Details
Price: $7.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Bluegingerdoll Billie Jean Digital Pattern
Bluegingerdoll Billie Jean Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $13.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 7500
photo
Review by AlexaNJ on 5/12/07
Read Review

Butterick 5209 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )
Butterick 5209 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2250 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 2250 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us