SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8539 (MISSES' JACKET)

4 more reviews
Viewed 424 times 
Reviewed by:regine
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About reginestar
SOUTH AFRICA
Member since: 9/26/05
Reviews written: 45
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 30
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/24/13 3:34 PM
Last Updated:12/24/13 9:11 PM


Vogue Patterns: 8539 by regine  
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Outerwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Historical Patterns
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
regine said... (12/26/13 4:14 AM) Reply
Thanks for your advice about snaps, unfortunately the boiled wool I bought would not work with snaps.
regine said... (12/26/13 4:14 AM) Reply
Thanks for your advice about snaps, unfortunately the boiled wool I bought would not work with snaps.
Lucy in Virginia said... (12/25/13 9:57 AM) Reply
Lovely job!
sewingcanary said... (12/25/13 4:31 AM) Reply
Im surprised Vogue didnt have a lining for this! Short-cut sewing? If your wool is like the boiled wools Ive had, hand button holes was a wise choice. The seam idea would mean 4 layers of fabric, plus interfacings. Depending on the fabric, it might be difficult to button. One option might be a solid fabric, or leather, bound buttonholes. However, a few years, ago I bought a fairly heavy 100% cotton sweater vest. The front bands are backed with matching wide cotton twill and it has big 25mm 1 snaps. The vest is almost as dark a gray as your coat and the snaps look like tarnished pewter. I LOVE IT! The snaps are great and become part of the design. The more I use them, the more I like snaps. Ive added them to several RTW jackets and coats with minimal or no snaps. I sew a button on and snap underneath. Using buttons with either a rim or dish-shape provides a nice nest for thumb or finger and makes for a good snap. The biggest drawback to them is the lack of color and size options. Where I live you can get bright silver or painted black, or huge, giant size bright gold nothing at all similar in size or color as my vest. This is a perfect coat for my current local weather conditions roomy enough for sub-layers. Cheers and Happy New Year. Canary
PattyE said... (12/24/13 10:16 PM) Reply
Your coat looks wonderful. Gosh, I've had this pattern for years and realize I have never made it. Now I see what a nice coat it makes. Thanks for the review.
kushami said... (12/24/13 8:18 PM) Reply
Looks fabulous, Regine. A hit of vintage style. Lovely!
Sew Good said... (12/24/13 4:52 PM) Reply
Buttonholes have always been a challenge for me on jean or coating. My basic Kenmore makes the best buttonholes on thick fabrics. This machine is 30 years old but I keep it just for the buttonholes. There are some great books with ideas for buttonhole alternatives. I love your jacket. If I decide to make it, I think I would use large snaps or alter the pattern to make an additional vertical seam and use the seam for my buttonholes. Thank you very much for your review! Very helpful!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Burda 7429

photo
by: arianamani...

Review
You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern

You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern

Pattern Details
You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern

Pattern Details