SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8539 (MISSES' JACKET)

4 more reviews
Viewed 416 times 
Reviewed by:regine
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About reginestar
SOUTH AFRICA
Member since: 9/26/05
Reviews written: 45
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 30
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/24/13 3:34 PM
Last Updated:12/24/13 9:11 PM


Vogue Patterns: 8539 by regine  
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Outerwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
regine said...
Thanks for your advice about snaps, unfortunately the boiled wool I bought would not work with snaps.
12/26/13 4:14 AM
regine said...
Thanks for your advice about snaps, unfortunately the boiled wool I bought would not work with snaps.
12/26/13 4:14 AM
Lucy in Virginia said...
Lovely job!
12/25/13 9:57 AM
sewingcanary said...
Im surprised Vogue didnt have a lining for this! Short-cut sewing? If your wool is like the boiled wools Ive had, hand button holes was a wise choice. The seam idea would mean 4 layers of fabric, plus interfacings. Depending on the fabric, it might be difficult to button. One option might be a solid fabric, or leather, bound buttonholes. However, a few years, ago I bought a fairly heavy 100% cotton sweater vest. The front bands are backed with matching wide cotton twill and it has big 25mm 1 snaps. The vest is almost as dark a gray as your coat and the snaps look like tarnished pewter. I LOVE IT! The snaps are great and become part of the design. The more I use them, the more I like snaps. Ive added them to several RTW jackets and coats with minimal or no snaps. I sew a button on and snap underneath. Using buttons with either a rim or dish-shape provides a nice nest for thumb or finger and makes for a good snap. The biggest drawback to them is the lack of color and size options. Where I live you can get bright silver or painted black, or huge, giant size bright gold nothing at all similar in size or color as my vest. This is a perfect coat for my current local weather conditions roomy enough for sub-layers. Cheers and Happy New Year. Canary
12/25/13 4:31 AM
PattyE said...
Your coat looks wonderful. Gosh, I've had this pattern for years and realize I have never made it. Now I see what a nice coat it makes. Thanks for the review.
12/24/13 10:16 PM
kushami said...
Looks fabulous, Regine. A hit of vintage style. Lovely!
12/24/13 8:18 PM
Sew Good said...
Buttonholes have always been a challenge for me on jean or coating. My basic Kenmore makes the best buttonholes on thick fabrics. This machine is 30 years old but I keep it just for the buttonholes. There are some great books with ideas for buttonhole alternatives. I love your jacket. If I decide to make it, I think I would use large snaps or alter the pattern to make an additional vertical seam and use the seam for my buttonholes. Thank you very much for your review! Very helpful!
12/24/13 4:52 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Megan Nielsen MN1001

photo
by: WhiteMouse

Review
Checkbook Cover

Checkbook Cover

Buy Now
Shapes Three Fold Vest Pattern

Shapes Three Fold Vest Pattern

Buy Now