Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 8281 (70s Barbie Clothes) (1977 Barbie Clothes) - Type:Crafts    printable version
Viewed 131 times
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:Sharon M
photo
Friend of PR
About Sharon Mstarstarstarstar
MN USA
Member since: 8/3/02
Reviews written: 213
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 97 people
patterns reviewed: 212
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/25/13 7:27 PM
Last Updated:12/25/13 7:31 PM
Project Photo:Simplicity: 8281 (70s Barbie Clothes) by Sharon M

Simplicity: 8281 (70s Barbie Clothes) by Sharon M  Simplicity: 8281 (70s Barbie Clothes) by Sharon M  
Pattern Photo:

Pattern Info provided by Sharon M

Pattern Rating:Easy & Great for Beginners
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Cotton  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description:
A 1977 pattern to sew a wardrobe for an 11-1/2" dolls (Barbie) and 12-1/2" dolls (Cher - anyone remember that doll?!?)
Includes patterns and instructions for a wedding gown and veil, two-pieces evening gown and cape, top and pants, sundress, top and wrap skirt, top culottes and vest, and a warm-up suit.

As a gift for a 3-1/2 year-old I sewed a top and wrap skirt, sleeveless top and pants, sundress and cape. The evening gown in the photo is from Simplicity 7073 c. 2002, a Sewing for Dummies pattern with reviews with reviews here.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
They do, just be sure to look past the lovely 70s-era fabric and hairstyles on the pattern cover.

Were the instructions easy to follow?
This time around I didn't bother to look at them, but I referenced them in the past and they are fine. Over the years, after sewing hundreds and hundreds of Barbie clothes, I've discovered a lot of tips for sewing these tiny creations that are not included in the pattern sheets.

I, like many others, began sewing Barbie doll clothes at a very young age. By the time I was 14 I had a pretty successful part-time business designing, sewing and selling doll clothes. This is one pattern I used before I discovered it probably wasn't a good idea to sell things made from commercial patterns.

Recently, I was told my great-niece (the above mentioned 3-1/2 year-old) had begun playing with Barbie dolls, I wanted to sew a few outfits for her, continuing the long tradition in our family of Auntie Sharon sewing doll clothes for Christmas and Birthdays.

Fabric Used:
All of the garments, with the exception of the cape, are quilting cottons, a great choice for these clothes. The fabric is durable and presses well. Yep, I press those tiny seams open and press those tiny hems before stitching. Just watch your fingers!

Narrow strips of velcro were substituted for the snaps - easier for me to sew on and easier for those little fingers to get those clothes on and off the dolls.

The waist of the pants and the neck of the top were finished using Seams Great as a facing, instead of turning under and pressing as instructed.

The cape is a brocade, which ravels easily. I finished the inside seams with a zig-zag stitch and used a purchased bias binding as a hem tape for the front and bottom edges.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Of course! I have no idea how many times I've used already used the pattern and I will continue to use it as long as I have little ones that want Barbie clothes.

Conclusion:
The pattern can be found on eBay or Etsy or thrift shops and by using current fabrics the garments are updated for today.

More pics on my blog, Sharon Sews, Click Here

A few posts I wrote with tips for sewing tiny clothes can be found here and here

thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
3 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Adaire said...
I expect I will have to sew some in the near future. Thanks.
12/25/13 8:14 PM
Mobycat said...
Nice wardrobe to make a little girl happy.
12/25/13 10:46 PM
ASiverson said...
My mother sewed clothing and even knitted tiny sweaters for my Barbie dolls! TFS! your review brought back good memories!
12/26/13 10:50 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Vogue Patterns 8805
photo
Review by paolag on 3/23/14
Read Review

Christine Jonson Boyfriend Jacket and Shell
Christine Jonson Boyfriend Jacket and Shell

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Bluegingerdoll Stella Blouse
Bluegingerdoll Stella Blouse

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Tiny Pocket Tank
Tiny Pocket Tank

Details
Price: $6.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simple Things Cozy Cap Digital Pattern (003)
Simple Things Cozy Cap Digital Pattern (003)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 3762
photo
Review by MCBurbage on 11/1/09
Read Review

New Look 6070 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12-14-16 )
New Look 6070 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2290 Pattern( Size XS )
Simplicity 2290 Pattern( Size XS )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us