Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Lekala Patterns: 4011 (Jacket/Sweatshirt) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 342 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:MrsCharisma
photo
Friend of PR
About MrsCharismastarstarstar
MN USA
Member since: 2/1/13
Reviews written: 111
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 40 people
patterns reviewed: 108
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/25/13 11:03 PM
Last Updated:12/25/13 11:04 PM
Project Photo:Lekala Patterns: 4011 by MrsCharisma

Lekala Patterns: 4011 by MrsCharisma  Lekala Patterns: 4011 by MrsCharisma  
Pattern Photo:

Pattern Info provided by MrsCharisma

Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Sweatshirt Fleece  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description:
Sweatshirt

Pattern Sizing:
Custom.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes!

Were the instructions easy to follow?
Ha! No. I learned a lot though because I had to use common sense quite a bit to figure out what I was being told to do.

The instructions were confusing because of the terminology used. Once I figured out a step by putting 2 and 2 together, the instructions then made sense.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?

I love the pattern. It's a pretty cute jacket and it went together very well. I really like the pockets, the asymmetrical zip and the collar.

Fabric Used:

Sweatshirt fleece in neon green from Hancock Fabrics

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
None. It was my first Lekala pattern and it was important to me to "sew it out of the envelope" to gauge the drafting. My daughter was my guinea pig

I'm sure though that there are things that can't be accounted for in measurements (or the newly added questions that also ask if you have long legs compared to torso length or vice versa...are your shoulders narrow, regular or wide...etc)...but I am pretty happy with the fit.


Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?

I just ordered the pattern in my size! (they're all $1.49 right now)

Conclusion:

Cute jacket, great fit and she LOVED it!

More info Blog Post
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
cmcarr said...
Nice. When do you sleep? Do you sew every day?
12/25/13 11:30 PM
MrsCharisma said...
Ha! I swear I work and sleep and cook dinner for my family! :) I am new to sewing is I do try to get in the sewing room at least 30 minutes a day. It goes a long way. Plus I'm a rebel. No muslins (maybe every now and again), and I just started tracing my patterns!
12/26/13 7:16 AM
Jrhee said...
Cute jacket, and in my favorite color too!
12/26/13 8:53 AM
CraftAddict said...
I have always been afraid to try their patterns but they do have very good designs.
12/26/13 9:12 AM
betty bushwacker said...
You've done so many projects lately you're making ME tired lol! That jacket is really great on your lovely girl.
12/26/13 9:49 AM
DorothyK said...
Very cool.
12/26/13 10:55 AM
MrsCharisma said...
Thanks Jrhee!! They do CraftAddict! I think you can tackle one though! Maybe start with a free one! Betty, I'm in a "sewing is keeping me sane due to life" moment right now. I'm tired too! Thanks! That's my sweet girl!
12/26/13 10:55 AM
SewButterflySew said...
Love your jacket! I just picked up my first Lekala patterns the other day, too. Almost bought this one, but it's still in my wishlist. Not for long after seeing yours. I saw on your blog your comment about the pattern saying 'linen type top'. I think they mean to use that to differentiate the fashion fabric from any lining pieces - I got a coat pattern that has 'linen type top' and 'linen type lining'.
12/26/13 11:19 AM
MrsCharisma said...
Interesting SBS! I was a bit amused by the "beam" line for sure :) I purchased three patterns for myself last night.
12/26/13 11:23 AM
Baja Susana said...
I love this, the color, the asymmetrical zipper, and your review and blog post! Felices fiestas
12/26/13 6:53 PM
sunniek said...
I bought #5065 after reading your review and going to lekala website. I just cut it out. There were a few odd things. The "beam" line is actually something in Russian. I have a Russian friend am going to check with her on that one. I asked for seam allowances and that was a mistake as they put them on folds also. It's been interesting.
12/27/13 2:23 AM
MrsCharisma said...
Sunniek I would have them replace the pattern. Oh but you said you've already cut it. Bleh. We'll hopefully it sees up well for you!
12/27/13 5:47 AM
Michele Lommasson said...
Well, both daughter and jacket are darling. A sweatshirt fleece moto- jacket. Who knew? I really like it. You has some real hurdles to overcome, but you did a great job. The next one will surely be easier. : )
12/27/13 2:24 PM
CraftAddict said...
Ok MrsCharisma, I took the plunge and ordered two dress patterns. We'll see how it goes.
12/27/13 4:07 PM
sunniek said...
Mrscharisma..I think it will be fine once I get used to their way of doing things. They don't express themselves quite like we do. I consider this a learning experience and the pattern is one I can use many times.
12/27/13 8:23 PM
MrsCharisma said...
So true sunniek! Can't wait to see them craft addict!! Thanks Michelle! :)
12/29/13 1:04 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Simplicity 4878
photo
Review by mdeeter on 1/3/09
Read Review

McCalls 6729 Pattern ( Size 1-2-3 )
McCalls 6729 Pattern ( Size 1-2-3 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1348 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 1348 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

StyleArc Jane Over Shirt
photo
Review by GayMcDonel... on 6/26/12
Read Review

Dixie DIY Movies in the Park Shorts
Dixie DIY Movies in the Park Shorts

Details
Price: $4.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simple Things Simply Sweet Circle Scarf Digital Pattern (006)
Simple Things Simply Sweet Circle Scarf Digital Pattern (006)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Easy Coat
Christine Jonson Easy Coat

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Ikina Jacket & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Ikina Jacket & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us