Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 2226 thumbsup - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 175 times 34 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:Wagyuburger
photo
About Wagyuburger
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 12/15/13
Reviews written: 3
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
patterns reviewed: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/27/13 7:45 PM
Last Updated:12/27/13 7:55 PM
Project Photo:Simplicity: 2226 by Wagyuburger

Pattern Photo:Simplicity 2226
Simplicity Pattern Info

More Info provided by Wagyuburger

Pattern Rating:Easy & Great for Beginners
See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Cotton  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description:
Simplicity's Learn to Sew pattern collection. Misses' skirt in two lengths and tie belt.

Pattern Sizing:
6-18.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes.

Were the instructions easy to follow?
The belt loops are called the "carrier", which I have not heard of before.
The instructions/diagrams for the zipper installation could have been clearer, I referred to the excellent Noodlehead sewalong posts for this part.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
Like: pockets
Dislike: the gathering on the back of the skirt makes it puff out, so the side and back views are VERY unflattering. I already knew this as it's my second time making the skirt, I wanted a skirt with pockets and didn't want to buy a new pattern so went with this one anyway.

Fabric Used:
Cotton - it's a quilting cotton so it was too stiff to drape/hang well, which I knew before cutting into it.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
Left out the belt loops.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Maybe. The skirt came together easy enough. As I said above, my only gripe is the puffiness. So if you don't mind your bum looking twice the size it is, sure. (Or if you are only taking photos from the front, then no problemo).

Conclusion:
If you are a beginner, I highly recommend checking out Noodlehead's sewalong posts for further clarification and detailed photos on sewing this skirt.
Buy this pattern for $15.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
4 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SewLibra said...
Congrats on your first review! This is a very cute style of skirt, and your fabric print is interesting, too. Since you feel it's too puffy, try a softer, drapier fabric next time and post another review. Looking forward to it. :-)
12/28/13 8:28 PM
talesofawannabe said...
This is a very cute skirt! I love your fabric choice. Congrats on your first review!
12/29/13 3:59 PM
GatorDenise said...
Cute skirt! One option for reducing the puffiness in this style is to replace the gathers with small pleats!
12/29/13 5:48 PM
Wagyuburger said...
Thanks guys :-) I do like the shape of the skirt, so I think there WILL be a next time and I will try a softer fabric. However I don't know how to replace the gathers :-(
1/1/14 6:51 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Jalie 2788
photo
Review by CMae on 5/14/12
Read Review

Jamie Christina Mission Maxi Pattern (JC312MM)
Jamie Christina Mission Maxi Pattern (JC312MM)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 604 Pattern
Petite Plus 604 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simple Things Mr. Dash Digital Pattern (002)
Simple Things Mr. Dash Digital Pattern (002)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Belle Bow Blouse
Belle Bow Blouse

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5559 Misses' Dress
photo
Review by Sixtiesgir... on 11/25/13
Read Review

McCalls 5775 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
McCalls 5775 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1019 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 1019 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us