SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5986 (Misses' Dress)

2 more reviews
Review submitted in Cocktail Outfit Contest Contest
Viewed 480 times 
Reviewed by:vernyce
photo

 
 
About vernyce
PA United States
Member since: 12/3/13
Reviews written: 3
Sewing skills:Advanced
patterns reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/27/13 10:06 AM


Butterick: 5986 by vernyce  
Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Needs More Info by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $19.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $19.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
thornberry said...
It does look fantastic! I'm dying to know - WHERE did you shorten it? I'm short too, and have been staring at the pattern pieces scratching my head trying to figure out if/where I can take a big fold through the pattern to make it shorter.
5/11/14 4:03 AM
DorothyK said...
Love the dress. Great idea to use a border print. Thanks for the tips.
1/15/14 11:28 AM
sew2little said...
GREAT fabric choice for this dress!
1/14/14 3:23 PM
Margaret said...
Wonderful dress! I am really impressed by your print placement given how strange the pattern pieces sound!
1/5/14 12:25 PM
lyndle said...
I love your version of this. How clever to think of using a border print and then to make it work even in this confusing pattern. Lovely result, congratultions!
1/4/14 11:09 PM
vernyce said...
YOU ALL ARE SO KIND! this is my first submission to a contest and i so appreciate the strokes i'm feeling. yes, i do think i'll make this dress again, esp. if i find a fetching border print in my travels. makes for some challenges, but what an outcome. i'mma do it to death!
1/3/14 1:14 PM
mangoflavor said...
Great look on you!
1/3/14 0:38 AM
kushami said...
The print placement is great! Your version looks so much nicer than the boring blue of the pattern photo. Love it :-)
1/2/14 7:04 PM
arianamaniacs said...
This is outstanding! You chose the perfect print for this, you look fabulous!
1/1/14 6:15 PM
Aroura said...
Looks fantastic, even if the skill level was mislabeled. :)
1/1/14 3:31 AM
AllNewtoMe said...
I agree with SewLibra! Your version is much better than the envelope's!
12/29/13 12:26 PM
SewLibra said...
Very eye catching dress and fabric. Looks much better than the envelope version!
12/28/13 8:49 PM
GermanKleinigkeit said...
You look wonderful in this dress, are you planning to make more? I suppose it's very comfortable and still looks so good, not so often these two points come together really. And thanks for the tip with the loops for the hanger, you are so right.
12/28/13 2:32 PM
ASiverson said...
Love how the dress came out and the fabric is lovely!
12/28/13 9:33 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I really like your dress. Great use of the fabric and glad you made it through the process of sewing this.
12/28/13 9:26 AM
Bobbi B said...
When I first saw the dress did not realize that it was This pattern. Thanks for the warning. It does look nice on you and I agree that your print was thoughtfully placed. Well done.
12/27/13 7:12 PM
Quickie said...
Very lovely fabric and interesting pattern Well done
12/27/13 4:08 PM
Kayseri said...
I agree with bconky - your great layout choice make an interesting dress amazing.
12/27/13 4:00 PM
bconky said...
I love the way you layed out the print. Dress looks wonderful.
12/27/13 1:14 PM
DesertMorning said...
The dress looks wonderful on you. I'm very intrigued by this pattern.
12/27/13 12:05 PM
MrsCharisma said...
An "easy or average" rating based on number of pattern pieces is crazy. You have a pretty dress with beautiful fabric. Even if it did try to drive you mad :)
12/27/13 10:38 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

Other Dressmaking with Liberty

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Christine Jonson Three Tees

Christine Jonson Three Tees

More Info
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Long & Short Caftans

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Long & Short Caftans

More Info
Butterick 5145

photo
by: guineveres...

Review