SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3338 (Misses Tops)

50 more reviews
Viewed 1630 times 
Reviewed by:dvazz
photo

 
 
About dvazzstar
MO USA
Member since: 8/15/03
Reviews: 24 (patterns: 23)
Skill level:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 7 people
more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2007
Posted on:5/22/05 10:21 PM
Last Updated:5/22/05 10:21 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CSY said... (5/23/05 11:43 PM) Reply
I have ripped out rippled necklines and cut the new binding a little bit smaller and saved the shirt. They can be redone. Sometimes it is trial and error. You can remove the binding and make a note on the pattern for remembering how much to use if using similiar fabric in the future. The binding can be done nicely with knits without lycra. It sometimes takes a little practice.
dvazz said... (5/23/05 12:27 PM) Reply
Thanks to those of you who left tips for my sloppy neckline! Yes, clear elastic is great stuff. At some point, I just resolved to only buy knits with good recovery, at least for fitted styles like this. This has been such a useful resolution that I kind of forgot to worry about the idiosyncrasies of "bad" knits! Now, of course, I can't bring myself to iron the neckline of a sleep tee in a bad color. I think a cotton lycra or ribknit would be best for this pattern in general because of the fit.
Hilary said... (5/23/05 8:52 AM) Reply
I am so glad to read your review! I just traced this off, altered and cut this out yesterday in a slighty cheap knit :o) to try it out. I can't wait to stitch it up, yours looks like a great fit, even in an un cooperative knit. About the neckline, I am sure you did it correctly; KS often binds necklines in this way. It looks fine usually as long as you trim away the excess inside well. If you have a cs machine (I wish I did!) you could finish it with that and it'd look great, I bet. Anyway, great review, thanks for posting! Show us your new version too! Btw, try giving the neckline a good steam, that could help a little with the waviness.
AnneM said... (5/23/05 7:41 AM) Reply
Thanks for the review. Post a pic of your "good" version as well! This sounds like a good pattern. I agree on the hem; I don't know why you would want to do one that narrow w/ a knit
CarolynGM said... (5/23/05 6:38 AM) Reply
Thanks for reviewing this as I recently bought the pattern. The fit looks good. I can't wait to make mine.
alicia said... (5/23/05 5:37 AM) Reply
Thanks for the thorough review! Have you checked out the "Using Clear Elastic to Stablize Necklines (Tip/Technique)" in the Tips? It solved my gaposis/wavy knit issues with necklines & armholes (and crowded the fabric while doing the hems, to prevent stretching.)
Cambric Tea said... (5/22/05 11:30 PM) Reply
Ah! Very helpful. Very good news, too. I'm glad that KS is updating, I like that company but was getting really frustrated with the amount of ease in the arms and above bust.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket

Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket

Pattern Details
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Designer Dress Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Designer Dress Shirt Pattern

Pattern Details
Papercut Patterns 1004

photo
by: JessieBear

Review