Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 3338 (Misses Tops) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1622 times 50 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:dvazz
photo
About dvazzstar
MO USA
Member since: 8/15/03
Reviews written: 24
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 23
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2007
Posted on:5/22/05 10:21 PM
Last Updated:5/22/05 10:21 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Cambric Tea said...
Ah! Very helpful. Very good news, too. I'm glad that KS is updating, I like that company but was getting really frustrated with the amount of ease in the arms and above bust.
5/22/05 11:30 PM
alicia said...
Thanks for the thorough review! Have you checked out the "Using Clear Elastic to Stablize Necklines (Tip/Technique)" in the Tips? It solved my gaposis/wavy knit issues with necklines & armholes (and crowded the fabric while doing the hems, to prevent stretching.)
5/23/05 5:37 AM
CarolynGM said...
Thanks for reviewing this as I recently bought the pattern. The fit looks good. I can't wait to make mine.
5/23/05 6:38 AM
AnneM said...
Thanks for the review. Post a pic of your "good" version as well! This sounds like a good pattern. I agree on the hem; I don't know why you would want to do one that narrow w/ a knit
5/23/05 7:41 AM
Hilary said...
I am so glad to read your review! I just traced this off, altered and cut this out yesterday in a slighty cheap knit :o) to try it out. I can't wait to stitch it up, yours looks like a great fit, even in an un cooperative knit. About the neckline, I am sure you did it correctly; KS often binds necklines in this way. It looks fine usually as long as you trim away the excess inside well. If you have a cs machine (I wish I did!) you could finish it with that and it'd look great, I bet. Anyway, great review, thanks for posting! Show us your new version too! Btw, try giving the neckline a good steam, that could help a little with the waviness.
5/23/05 8:52 AM
dvazz said...
Thanks to those of you who left tips for my sloppy neckline! Yes, clear elastic is great stuff. At some point, I just resolved to only buy knits with good recovery, at least for fitted styles like this. This has been such a useful resolution that I kind of forgot to worry about the idiosyncrasies of "bad" knits! Now, of course, I can't bring myself to iron the neckline of a sleep tee in a bad color. I think a cotton lycra or ribknit would be best for this pattern in general because of the fit.
5/23/05 12:27 PM
CSY said...
I have ripped out rippled necklines and cut the new binding a little bit smaller and saved the shirt. They can be redone. Sometimes it is trial and error. You can remove the binding and make a note on the pattern for remembering how much to use if using similiar fabric in the future. The binding can be done nicely with knits without lycra. It sometimes takes a little practice.
5/23/05 11:43 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Simplicity 3629
photo
Review by jadesabre9 on 2/1/12
Read Review

You Sew Girl USB Fob Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl USB Fob Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $5.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Maddie Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Maddie Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Self Drafted Pattern 00016
photo
Review by cloudyhn on 11/10/10
Read Review

Sew Chic Beatrice Pocket Dress Pattern (ln1310)
Sew Chic Beatrice Pocket Dress Pattern (ln1310)

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Shapes High Five Jacket Pattern
Shapes High Five Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1903 Pattern ( Size 4-5-6-7-8 )
Simplicity 1903 Pattern ( Size 4-5-6-7-8 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1390 Pattern ( Size ONE )
Simplicity 1390 Pattern ( Size ONE )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us