Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
No Pattern Used: undergarments (Bra Copy) - Type:Lingerie    printable version
Viewed 1906 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:Dale C
photo
Friend of PR
About Dale Cstarstarstar
HI USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 164
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 50 people
patterns reviewed: 137
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/18/02 8:01 PM
Last Updated:5/24/03 6:28 PM
Pattern Size:Petite 


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
Wow! Sensational! And they fit, too. Both the bra and panties are gorgeous. Congratulations on a sensational job. . .well done.
8/18/02 8:08 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Wow, I love the bar and panties you did a great job. You sewing is beautiful. I enjoy looking at your stuff.
8/18/02 8:41 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Dale, that set is fantastic. Victoria's Secret will be jealous!
8/19/02 0:16 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Dale, they look too good to be true. Have scouted the shops for a elastic that would fit, since the RTW bras don't always have everything matching, sometimes only the color, BTW have you thought about reviewing the lingerie book you used? It would be kind of interesting.
8/19/02 2:21 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
What a great looking set! I too LOVE Slinky panties - they are so comfortable.
8/19/02 10:01 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Dale-these look great! Talk about a coordinated outfit!
8/19/02 10:04 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Dale, I'm not sure how to get the straps really thin. I've made a couple of bras with straps using a poly/lycra blend, lightweight but not as thin as, say, nylon tricot. One set I stitched over elastic, and it was too thick, I thought. The other I think I made as a tube, turned, and topstitched flat, and it's somewhat better. Maybe it's your fabric...I'd use strap elastic if you want thin and narrow. I'm encouraged by your success because I wear a smaller size than you, and haven't been able to purchase a nice bra in years. Maidenform used to have some really pretty ones in smaller sizes, but no longer...
8/19/02 1:36 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Wow, Dale, I'm happy for you that you found a bra that fits AND you made it yourself! Woohoo! I saw that article in Threads, but I didn't have the nerve to do anything more than fantasize about how neat it would be to do it!
8/19/02 5:59 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thanks all. And thanks for the tip Skymom. I'm thinking now that I could try interfacing the straps and just cutting and folding it so that it would be two layers. The edges would be encased in a cover stitch and just butted together. I just don't want to resort to strap elastic.
8/19/02 10:50 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
MaryBeth said...
Sew, that's like one long strap with an adjusting slide going around your neck? I like it. Does it feel good on?
5/24/03 7:11 PM
Dale C said...
MaryBeth, one long strap... Yup. Actually I cut it too long and thought I might want to keep it that way in case I decide to make this into a convertible bra. I'd just have to add a few other findings and things to make it interchangable. This one is very comfortable. I usually don't like underwires but I've found that since I started making my own, they're fine.
5/24/03 9:27 PM
els said...
Dale I have learned to place a piece of non stretching tule in the middle of the bra and because it is tule it will not shine thrue your fabric ,you must sew it together with the lycra or whatever you are using.For the straps here in the Netherlands we can buy them in a matching colour like any other materials you need for making a bra.Your bra looks good and fitts well as you describes,so now you have a good pattern and can experiment with different kinds of embelishments like lace inserting.
5/24/03 10:52 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Dale, your halter bra is beautiful! Better than RTW.
5/24/03 11:35 PM
els said...
Dale, the fabric which I mentioned earlier as tule is called sheer cup lining (found this out at www.bramakers.com)
5/25/03 9:18 AM
PickleToothbrsh said...
I want to try sewing my own lingerie. This article gave me some good ideas. Thanks!
1/10/07 10:45 AM
HatBuddy said...
I want to replicate my current bras since the style I wear now is no longer made and is the best fit I have Since I cant find the same elastic others that I have considered are much to wimpy and would provide no better support then a worn out Bra or are too firm and/or not skin friendly and would irritate if rubbing on skin all day. Where did you buy the elastic? Are you happy with the degree of stretchiness (support?) Does the elastic you used seem like it might last beyond just a few wearing and washings? Where did you buy it and what elastic did you use? Thanks for any help you can give me. I have been wanting and desperately needing to make new bras for year but canít find elastic I think will work well enough.
12/18/08 3:50 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

New Look 6463 Misses' Skirts
photo
Review by Riversmock... on 10/13/13
Read Review

Butterick 6009 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14-16-18-20-22 )
Butterick 6009 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $2.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8882 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 8882 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Colette Patterns 2003 Cooper
photo
Review by Lori V on 1/15/14
Read Review

Cake Patterns Hummingbird Top Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Hummingbird Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Sundress Digital Pattern
Salme Sundress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Hug-Me Bibs Pattern
SewBaby Hug-Me Bibs Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop New Yorker Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop New Yorker Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us