Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 3333 (Misses Dresses) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1794 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:lisaquilts
photo
About lisaquiltsstar
VA USA
Member since: 4/24/05
Reviews written: 52
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 13 people
patterns reviewed: 48
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/23/05 9:30 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
alicia said...
Nice review - love your idea of practicing being less inhibited in a new place!! Your dress looks great. Did you use a Fasturn for your straps?
5/23/05 9:40 AM
lisaquilts said...
Thanks for your comment, alicia. Yes, I used a Fasturn. I love that thing! I made the straps first, from a piece left over after cutting the fabric.
5/23/05 9:42 AM
Hilary said...
Oh, I am *SOOO* glad you reviewed this!! I have been itching to get this, but very concerned about the braless issue. Great idea to make a shelf bra!! I love the part about the recycled underwear elastic-my dmom does this too, and I always teased her about it :o)-lovingly,of course!. She will be glad to know she's not alone :D lol! Btw, your dress is really cute-good job! I can't wait to get it (you're right it'll be perfect for Texas weather-I live here and hot is an understatement :o) )
5/23/05 9:43 AM
sew2little said...
Cute, cute, cute! Could one wear a strapless bra with the halter dress?
5/23/05 10:37 AM
CatherineN said...
Great review with useful infomation. I hate wearing a bra in hot weather. It must be possible to make a shelf bra in other summer sytles. Your dress looks nice on you and the fabric is so cheerful.
5/23/05 11:59 AM
PegL said...
Really cute dress and great idea to add the shelf bra! Very good review!
5/23/05 12:48 PM
Skymom said...
I love the dress on you--you look really great. It's just right for the nautical thing that's going on in fashion this season.
5/23/05 1:50 PM
CarolynGM said...
Good review and the perfect dress for the Texas heat.
5/23/05 5:36 PM
AnneM said...
What a nice dress on you. Bring a cardigan, in case you are uncomfortable (cotton, of course, for the hot weather). But it looks very nice on you.
5/24/05 6:36 AM
ryan's mom said...
Great shelf bra idea with this kind of dress. I've been thinking along the lines of a strapless bra for these styles, but your review is motivating me to look into doing the shelf bra thing for halter styles.
5/24/05 8:38 AM
Teri said...
Very cute dress and a great review. I love the recylce part, I have been known to rip out a jeans zipper from an old pair of jeans, because it was easier than driving to the store, and my husband wouldn't think of throwing a shirt away without offering the buttons to me first:)
5/24/05 8:54 AM
mag said...
Love your review and the pictures of each step of putting in the shelf bra. The dress looks very comfortable. I hope that you enjoy it !
5/24/05 4:32 PM
drsue said...
I can't believe I missed this review! I got this pattern cued up to make. Do you think it can be worn with a strapless bra?
5/31/05 8:38 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
Oh it's so PRETTY on! It looks like you could wear this with a fleshtone strapless/convertible bra for more security. If the sides show, you could rasie the halter neckline. Lovely, lovely--and so summery. I bet you had a wonderful time swishing around in it in Texas.
6/6/05 1:10 AM
lisaquilts said...
Thanks for the kind words. Yes, the dress was fun in Texas (though it wasn't until I got it on that I realized the "Where's Waldo" similarity lol). As for the strapless bra question (sew2little, drsue), I think it could be worn if you raise the back of the dress: cut the back a little higher or you'll be constantly tugging it up to cover the bra. Happy sewing!
6/6/05 8:33 PM
SandraB said...
This is really nice. Thanks for a detailed and interesting review.
6/24/05 9:47 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Jalie 2449 Crossover Top
photo
Review by RuthieSews on 5/23/07
Read Review

SewBaby The Twirly Dress Pattern
SewBaby The Twirly Dress Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Hazel Paper Pattern
Victory Hazel Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Roller Skate Dress and Tunic Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4T )
Oliver   S Roller Skate Dress and Tunic Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4T )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Schoolday Skirt Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Schoolday Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns OOP 9387
photo
Review by Marji on 11/13/06
Read Review

Simplicity 1695 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14-16-18 )
Simplicity 1695 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1557 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 1557 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us