SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3333 (Misses Dresses)

4 more reviews
Viewed 1794 times 
Reviewed by:lisaquilts
photo

 
 
About lisaquiltsstar
VA USA
Member since: 4/24/05
Reviews written: 52
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 13 people
patterns reviewed: 48
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/23/05 9:30 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
alicia said...
Nice review - love your idea of practicing being less inhibited in a new place!! Your dress looks great. Did you use a Fasturn for your straps?
5/23/05 9:40 AM
lisaquilts said...
Thanks for your comment, alicia. Yes, I used a Fasturn. I love that thing! I made the straps first, from a piece left over after cutting the fabric.
5/23/05 9:42 AM
Hilary said...
Oh, I am *SOOO* glad you reviewed this!! I have been itching to get this, but very concerned about the braless issue. Great idea to make a shelf bra!! I love the part about the recycled underwear elastic-my dmom does this too, and I always teased her about it :o)-lovingly,of course!. She will be glad to know she's not alone :D lol! Btw, your dress is really cute-good job! I can't wait to get it (you're right it'll be perfect for Texas weather-I live here and hot is an understatement :o) )
5/23/05 9:43 AM
sew2little said...
Cute, cute, cute! Could one wear a strapless bra with the halter dress?
5/23/05 10:37 AM
CatherineN said...
Great review with useful infomation. I hate wearing a bra in hot weather. It must be possible to make a shelf bra in other summer sytles. Your dress looks nice on you and the fabric is so cheerful.
5/23/05 11:59 AM
PegL said...
Really cute dress and great idea to add the shelf bra! Very good review!
5/23/05 12:48 PM
Skymom said...
I love the dress on you--you look really great. It's just right for the nautical thing that's going on in fashion this season.
5/23/05 1:50 PM
CarolynGM said...
Good review and the perfect dress for the Texas heat.
5/23/05 5:36 PM
AnneM said...
What a nice dress on you. Bring a cardigan, in case you are uncomfortable (cotton, of course, for the hot weather). But it looks very nice on you.
5/24/05 6:36 AM
ryan's mom said...
Great shelf bra idea with this kind of dress. I've been thinking along the lines of a strapless bra for these styles, but your review is motivating me to look into doing the shelf bra thing for halter styles.
5/24/05 8:38 AM
Teri said...
Very cute dress and a great review. I love the recylce part, I have been known to rip out a jeans zipper from an old pair of jeans, because it was easier than driving to the store, and my husband wouldn't think of throwing a shirt away without offering the buttons to me first:)
5/24/05 8:54 AM
mag said...
Love your review and the pictures of each step of putting in the shelf bra. The dress looks very comfortable. I hope that you enjoy it !
5/24/05 4:32 PM
drsue said...
I can't believe I missed this review! I got this pattern cued up to make. Do you think it can be worn with a strapless bra?
5/31/05 8:38 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
Oh it's so PRETTY on! It looks like you could wear this with a fleshtone strapless/convertible bra for more security. If the sides show, you could rasie the halter neckline. Lovely, lovely--and so summery. I bet you had a wonderful time swishing around in it in Texas.
6/6/05 1:10 AM
lisaquilts said...
Thanks for the kind words. Yes, the dress was fun in Texas (though it wasn't until I got it on that I realized the "Where's Waldo" similarity lol). As for the strapless bra question (sew2little, drsue), I think it could be worn if you raise the back of the dress: cut the back a little higher or you'll be constantly tugging it up to cover the bra. Happy sewing!
6/6/05 8:33 PM
SandraB said...
This is really nice. Thanks for a detailed and interesting review.
6/24/05 9:47 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

McCall's 6512

photo
by: KatiMade

Review
Marfy 2759

photo
by: clothingen...

Review
Bluegingerdoll The Betsy Pencil Skirt Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll The Betsy Pencil Skirt Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Jamie Christina Miz Mozelle Dress Pattern (JC313MD)

Jamie Christina Miz Mozelle Dress Pattern (JC313MD)

Buy Now