Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 3156 (gaucho pants) thumbsup - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 2195 times 8 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:sewkal
photo
About sewkalstar
Member since: 8/11/04
Reviews written: 20
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 19
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/23/05 5:31 PM
Last Updated:5/23/05 5:34 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    Suits / Separates    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Leslie in Austin said...
Hooray for cute gauchos! Not nearly as cute as my denim vest and gaucho set (paired with rust colored suede knee high boots--I was da bomb in 3rd grade), but still very cute! Nothing like satiating that inner obsessive sewing monster, huh.
5/23/05 5:50 PM
els said...
Your gaucho pants looks very pretty, congratulations on your redrafting well fit Kwik sew pattern. If you lengthen the legs from this new gaucho pants and use a very drapery fabric you can also have another fantastic pair of pants. The possibilities are endless.
5/23/05 5:51 PM
CarolynGM said...
I had no idea that gauchos, a style I rather like, had returned to fashion. Yours look very cute on you. Clever use of your KS pattern.
5/23/05 6:03 PM
Allisonsews said...
Draw back those horses, I think I'll jump on the gaucho bandwagon, too! These look fabulous - can I borrow your espadrilles? :)
5/23/05 6:14 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
I really like these on your. what a great use of a pattern you really like.
5/23/05 7:06 PM
Jackie V said...
I like your Gauchos. How would the foldover waistband be made. Would you use some very stretchy lycra knit? The black looks good with your strappy shoes. I think the length looks good on you.
5/23/05 7:09 PM
alicia said...
They look so nice on you!!! Wow, that look takes me back ...
5/23/05 7:18 PM
PVA said...
Hey, courtkal, Way to go! They're absolutely smashing! I like them with the espadrilles, too. I'm looking forward to seeing your next version!
5/23/05 9:45 PM
Maychi said...
Wow, I love them! I didn't know what gauchos were. Now...I have to have them. Great job!
5/24/05 3:09 AM
Kathryn said...
Cute, cute, very cute! You did an excellent job! Urban Outfitters had better move over~who needs them after seeing your creation!
5/24/05 6:23 AM
AnneM said...
Cute outfit; very mod.
5/24/05 6:41 AM
Teri said...
I had no idea that gauchos were back either. Thank goodness for our urban PR sisters. I will expect them here in Idaho next summer:) I loved mine in....well a long time ago:)
5/24/05 9:10 AM
Clev said...
I love them. So cute when pants look like a skirt--thanks to you I'm going to try a pair myself. Thank you very much!
5/24/05 11:18 AM
CSchiffgens said...
These came out really great. I've been following the goucho pant thread on the message board. I think you're the first one to produce something. When you widened the legs - did you just widen the outside seam or both the outside and inside leg seam?
5/24/05 5:16 PM
sewkal said...
Thanks for all the kind comments- glad I inspired some of you to jump onboard the gaucho bandwagon! I widened both the inside and outside seams- if I were to pull the legs out flat, they'd look like triangles. Jackie, I'm thinking that I will use the same type of stretchy knit for my next pair and just lengthening and narrowing the waist in order to make a roll dolwn waistband.
5/24/05 5:32 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Very nice adaptation of these pants. I think your gauchos look great with the espridrilles as well. Good job.
5/25/05 5:59 PM
M.T. said...
Thanks for the information. I thiunk I'll make a pair myself!! With elastic in the waistband, does it gather or does the waist lay flat? ~ M.T.
2/28/06 6:21 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Butterick 5756 Misses Skirt
photo
Review by mimi g. on 3/9/12
Read Review

McCalls 6142 Pattern ( Size )
McCalls 6142 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1649 Pattern ( Size ONE )
Simplicity 1649 Pattern ( Size ONE )

Details
Price: $2.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 1812
photo
Review by Sblk211 on 8/10/08
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Annabelle Hat Digital Pattern ( Size 0-10 years )
Peek-A Boo Annabelle Hat Digital Pattern ( Size 0-10 years )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Sunday Brunch Jacket + A-Line Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver + S Sunday Brunch Jacket + A-Line Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Learn to Sew a Shirt or Blouse DVD
Learn to Sew a Shirt or Blouse DVD

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Best Dress Pattern
You Sew Girl Best Dress Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us