SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3156 (gaucho pants)

9 more reviews
Viewed 2196 times 
Reviewed by:sewkal
photo

 
 
About sewkalstar
Member since: 8/11/04
Reviews written: 20
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 19
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/23/05 5:31 PM
Last Updated:5/23/05 5:34 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Suits / Separates    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Leslie in Austin said...
Hooray for cute gauchos! Not nearly as cute as my denim vest and gaucho set (paired with rust colored suede knee high boots--I was da bomb in 3rd grade), but still very cute! Nothing like satiating that inner obsessive sewing monster, huh.
5/23/05 5:50 PM
els said...
Your gaucho pants looks very pretty, congratulations on your redrafting well fit Kwik sew pattern. If you lengthen the legs from this new gaucho pants and use a very drapery fabric you can also have another fantastic pair of pants. The possibilities are endless.
5/23/05 5:51 PM
CarolynGM said...
I had no idea that gauchos, a style I rather like, had returned to fashion. Yours look very cute on you. Clever use of your KS pattern.
5/23/05 6:03 PM
Allisonsews said...
Draw back those horses, I think I'll jump on the gaucho bandwagon, too! These look fabulous - can I borrow your espadrilles? :)
5/23/05 6:14 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
I really like these on your. what a great use of a pattern you really like.
5/23/05 7:06 PM
Jackie V said...
I like your Gauchos. How would the foldover waistband be made. Would you use some very stretchy lycra knit? The black looks good with your strappy shoes. I think the length looks good on you.
5/23/05 7:09 PM
alicia said...
They look so nice on you!!! Wow, that look takes me back ...
5/23/05 7:18 PM
PVA said...
Hey, courtkal, Way to go! They're absolutely smashing! I like them with the espadrilles, too. I'm looking forward to seeing your next version!
5/23/05 9:45 PM
Maychi said...
Wow, I love them! I didn't know what gauchos were. Now...I have to have them. Great job!
5/24/05 3:09 AM
Kathryn said...
Cute, cute, very cute! You did an excellent job! Urban Outfitters had better move over~who needs them after seeing your creation!
5/24/05 6:23 AM
AnneM said...
Cute outfit; very mod.
5/24/05 6:41 AM
Teri said...
I had no idea that gauchos were back either. Thank goodness for our urban PR sisters. I will expect them here in Idaho next summer:) I loved mine in....well a long time ago:)
5/24/05 9:10 AM
Clev said...
I love them. So cute when pants look like a skirt--thanks to you I'm going to try a pair myself. Thank you very much!
5/24/05 11:18 AM
CSchiffgens said...
These came out really great. I've been following the goucho pant thread on the message board. I think you're the first one to produce something. When you widened the legs - did you just widen the outside seam or both the outside and inside leg seam?
5/24/05 5:16 PM
sewkal said...
Thanks for all the kind comments- glad I inspired some of you to jump onboard the gaucho bandwagon! I widened both the inside and outside seams- if I were to pull the legs out flat, they'd look like triangles. Jackie, I'm thinking that I will use the same type of stretchy knit for my next pair and just lengthening and narrowing the waist in order to make a roll dolwn waistband.
5/24/05 5:32 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Very nice adaptation of these pants. I think your gauchos look great with the espridrilles as well. Good job.
5/25/05 5:59 PM
M.T. said...
Thanks for the information. I thiunk I'll make a pair myself!! With elastic in the waistband, does it gather or does the waist lay flat? ~ M.T.
2/28/06 6:21 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Butterick 5672

photo
by: Jstarr4250

Review
New Look 6000

photo
by: Mahogany S...

Review

Pattern

Learn to Sew a Shirt or Blouse DVD

Learn to Sew a Shirt or Blouse DVD

Buy Now
Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Pattern (JC303PD)

Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Pattern (JC303PD)

Buy Now