Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Green Pepper: 504 (fleece socks) thumbsup - Type:Accessories
Review submitted in 2012 Fabric Stash Contest Contest    printable version
Viewed 2252 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:Janie Viers
photo
Friend of PR
About Janie Viersstar
OH USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 61
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 20
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/18/02 9:00 PM
Last Updated:1/14/12 2:44 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular Petite 
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
wow! what an enthusiastic review. One question.. since the socks are made from fleece, arent they bulky to wear under shoes and sandals?
8/18/02 9:05 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Most boots and heavy shoes are made to wear with "socks" that are wool or other heavy knitted materials. I have not had a problem wearing them with my tenners or boots or clogs. It is amazing how little bulk is involved with the polar fleece. You could use the 100 weight for loafers!
8/18/02 9:27 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I use the thinner fleece for socks to wear inside of shoes, thicker fleece for "house sox." I finish the top the same way as Janie. Also, for house sox I paint designs on the soles for the anti-skid effect.
8/18/02 9:29 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I have not had any slippage without the non skid bottoms. We have hardwood floors and congoleum so are a pretty slippery crowd! I have heard of using the "Puffy Paints" to draw on the bottom. You could write a name on the bottom if you wanted to identify the owner!
8/18/02 9:52 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thanks for the top treatment tip! I am going to make these now, and figured I had better check the reviews for hints. I'm glad I did!
11/6/02 5:43 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
trinity said...
Great, I have been going to buy this pattern and was wondering about it. Have used some Green Pepper patterns before and really like them.
12/23/03 8:18 PM
Muria said...
Great idea to write the names on the bottom! I'm thinkihg about making these for the kids, and the names on the bottom would be wonderful for sorting! Thanks!
12/10/05 7:03 PM
lorrwill said...
And 8 years later, this review is still very helpful!
9/19/10 4:05 PM
Terri A said...
They sound great! What a nice gift.
1/5/12 0:09 AM
Aroura said...
Fleece socks sounds soooo nice, I am envious. Lovely idea!
1/13/12 3:32 PM
RatRace said...
I recently made a lot of these. I followed the jalie youtube sock video when I started sewing these. You are right that they are worth the under $10 pattern cost. I have on a pair now made from clearance priced remnants. Forget regular socks, I wear these everyday. You're right about the sewing time. It takes me about 30 minutes to whip some up and I try to sew at least 2 at a time. Instant gratification and the zig zag is cute. I tried to serge, but the seams were to thick and not comfortable. I leave the tops unfinished. I found the pattern at Joanns
1/14/12 3:35 PM
Aroura said...
Oh my gosh, you made socks for an entire army troop, that is SOO good of you! Amazing. :)
1/24/12 11:17 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Vogue Patterns 8380 MISSES' DRESS
photo
Review by DeniseAnge... on 9/28/12
Read Review

Blank Slate A-Line A La Mode Dress Digital Pattern
Blank Slate A-Line A La Mode Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S School Bus T-Shirt Digital Pattern (6m-4)
Oliver + S School Bus T-Shirt Digital Pattern (6m-4)

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2805
photo
Review by Mahler on 5/17/09
Read Review

SewBaby Blankie Buddies Pattern
SewBaby Blankie Buddies Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern
SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6879 Pattern
New Look 6879 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 3889 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )
Butterick 3889 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )

Details
Price: $2.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us