Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5241 thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 190 times 22 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:twistedangel
photo
About twistedangelstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/18/05
Reviews written: 71
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 103 people
patterns reviewed: 63
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/31/13 4:59 PM
Last Updated:12/31/13 5:16 PM
Project Photo:McCall's: 5241 by twistedangel

McCall's: 5241 by twistedangel  McCall's: 5241 by twistedangel  
Pattern Photo:McCall's 5241
McCall's Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Would NOT Recommend
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $13.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Sweater Knit  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
AKA ... "The sad, emo cardigan"

Bottom line up front, what you need to know

  • This pattern makes a very unstructured cardigan, which works OK with my fabric choice, but isn't very well drafted at all

  • It's basically 2 squares with armholes cut into it. You could draft something better at home and not waste your money on this pattern



  • Pattern Description:
    Misses 1-hr cardigan in 3 lengths. I made the shortest length (view A)

    Pattern Sizing:
    XSM-XXL. I cut a SM (size 8-10) and altered for a MED arm and armhole after flat measuring the sleeves (I moved the MED armhole to the center of the small armhole per the picture above). This pattern is very unstructured, and I think the shoulders would have been at my elbows if I used the size MED!

    The photo above shows how to move the armhole to another desired position. I think grading the location down from XSM one more size would work perfect.

    Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
    If you stand awkwardly like the model, yes. The way the model is standing is a dead give away. This isn't posed for fashion purposes.

    Were the instructions easy to follow?
    There are like 2 steps. I exaggerate, there might be 10 ... but it's super easy and quick to put together. I'm really glad I didn't put too much effort into this.

    What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
    The placement of the armholes makes all of the difference, combined with the give in your fabric. I dislike that there isn't any guidance on this.

    Fabric Used:
    Sweater knit from JoAnn. I think the whole piece was like $5 from the clearance section after holiday 75% discount.

    Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
    Because I used a swather knit, I made this a little more "deconstructed" in style. i.e., exposed seam on the sleeve and serger hem all around (in place of rolled hem.

    I haven't taken in the back yet to bring the shoulders together, but I will do that and repost with links to the fix sometime in the future. For now, it goes in the UFO pile.

    Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
    Nope. Never making it again. Would not recommend it. Run away!!

    Conclusion:
    Disappointing mess. Unless you're into sad, emo sweaters.
    Buy this pattern for $13.00  List Price: $16.25   Add to Bag Add to Bag
     
    thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
    Merchants on PR
    Budo Bear Designs
    Asian Designs
    Web site
    Patterns from the Past
    vintage sewing patterns
    Deals!
    Elliott Berman Textiles
    Fabrics for Greater Ideas
    Deals!
    << Previous      Next >>
    3 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
    RadarRadiance said...
    Your fabric is so cute that it does look adorable on! My girlfriend did up this pattern too and was very disappointed. I think she threw hers away. It's such a cute style and many other patterns out there to get the look. Thanks for your review but yours still looks very nice considering your frustration.
    12/31/13 6:38 PM
    Sewingchick83 said...
    I am looking at this pattern right now and was all geared up to make it! LOL btw at said you saying it an emo sweater!
    12/31/13 7:30 PM
    Helen near Sydney said...
    Even a quick sew like this is annoying when it doesn't work, on to bigger and better things!
    1/1/14 2:18 AM
    Login
    Online Sewing Classes
    Break your Serger Out of the Box
    Fee: $29.00
    (Regular $49.00)
    Break your Serger Out of the Box

    Online Sewing Classes
    Altering Jackets
    Fee: $19.99
    (Regular $59.00)
    Altering Jackets

    Burda 7942
    photo
    Review by lamstu on 9/2/09
    Read Review

    Salme Kimono Sleeve Dress Digital Pattern
    Salme Kimono Sleeve Dress Digital Pattern

    Details
    Price: $7.00
    Add to Bag Add to Bag

    Maria Denmark Pernille Pencil Dress Digital Pattern Size C
    Maria Denmark Pernille Pencil Dress Digital Pattern Size C

    Details
    Price: $10.95
    Add to Bag Add to Bag

    Simplicity 5144
    photo
    Review by mamakooz on 7/15/04
    Read Review

    The Whimsy Bag
    The Whimsy Bag

    Details
    Price: $7.00
    Add to Bag Add to Bag

    Sewing Workshop Daily News Bag Pattern
    Sewing Workshop Daily News Bag Pattern

    Details
    Price: $12.00
    Add to Bag Add to Bag

    Vogue 8346 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16 )
    Vogue 8346 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16 )

    Details
    Price: $27.50
    Add to Bag Add to Bag

    Vogue 1362 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
    Vogue 1362 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

    Details
    Price: $32.00
    Add to Bag Add to Bag


    Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
    Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us