Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 4760 thumbsup - Type:Mens - Pants    printable version
Viewed 43 times 26 more reviews
Reviewed by:PAMomof3
photo
About PAMomof3star
USA
Member since: 6/14/11
Reviews written: 38
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 37
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/1/14 9:03 PM
Last Updated:1/1/14 9:08 PM
Pattern Photo:Simplicity 4760
Simplicity Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Mediocre Pattern
See other patterns in this category: Mens - Shirts    Kids(boys & girls)    Mens - Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $14.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Flannel  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description: Mens'/boys' pants and shirt pattern. I made the men's pants

Pattern Sizing:S-XL; I used the men's large. It's really hard to fit him, but we figured the size L would be a good place to start because of the waist.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Um, no. Beyond the fact that the guy on there looks nothing like my short and sweet hubby, the pants on the pattern look professional, if a bit mediocre. Mine look weird, unflattering and odd. As others posted, though, it's hard to find good mens' pants patterns, so I wanted to give this one a try.

Were the instructions easy to follow? For the most part, except (as others have said) for the waistband. That was ridiculous. I don't know what went wrong; the fly went in pretty easily but the waistband was obscenely hard. It didn't match up (the seams on the waistband with the seams in the pants) and I don't *think* that's my fault. Also, the button is on the inside (facing inside from the outside left fly front, if that makes sense) but you can only tell if you look at the drawings.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I liked that it was a pattern for men's pants. I hated the waistband, though. The legs are really, really big on him (although he says they're comfy) and the waist, while curved (which is a nice touch), is tight. Again, that is probably just the way he is built, but it's not even a flattering big leg thing. It just sort of hangs on him.

The belt loops are also somewhat weird. You sew the large patch pockets (which are lined; I think this might be overkill, as it makes them bulky and heavy) onto the pants and the very top of the pockets creates a belt loop on either side. You also sew on two belt loops to the back. However, once you sew the facing for the waistband onto the pants, the belt loops become so short that they are basically unusable unless the man in your life likes using a rope for a belt. This would be easy to fix, but I just don't like the look, and he isn't all that impressed either.

Also, for some bizarre reason I couldn't get my buttonhole to work well with the zipper. They're pretty much on top of each other. He has to button up the button and then zip them up (and reverse the process to get out). I actually put the button on the bottom facing out and the buttonhole on the top (left) like in regular pants because I couldn't get it to fit the other way. I will say that I liked the idea of putting some fusible interfacing under where the button (I think? or the buttonhole) would go; that is usually not in patterns.

The fly front itself wasn't all that difficult, but the waistband instructions for the front made me feel like I was undergoing some mind experiment. I simply couldn't figure them out. On top of that, the facings just didn't line up properly; I had to do a lot of finagling to get them to "work". I was quite grumpy when I finished these. I'd be happier if they looked good on him, but they don't. That could be his build, but I just don't see the point of trying this pattern again.

Fabric Used: It's an odd fleece-backed polyester of some sort. I believe my dad had a pair out of fabric that looked like this (at least from the outside) in the early 80's. They're quite unflattering but very warm. He looks like a well-dressed hobo, but he says they're really cozy.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I did a lot of wacky things to the front and waistband to get it to fit together properly. Other than that, I simply did what I could to make it all work. I'll post photos when he has them on next.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I doubt it. I do like the curved waistband - it's nicer than a straight waistband - but they are just not very flattering. I found myself shouting at the pattern at one point because it just didn't make any sense.

I wouldn't recommend this pattern without significant alteration; a muslin of the waistband is highly recommended. It's just frustrating because I really wanted to make him another pair of pants. (I had last made him the Burda pattern I reviewed on here; the pants legs on those are ridiculously wide, but in a much more fashionable way.) These just look…schlumpy, if you can imagine what that would be.

Conclusion: Mediocre pattern that would need a lot of redoing. I will probably just donate it. I have other shirt patterns (he doesn't really like that style of shirt anyway) and there are so many pattern tissue papers in there that unfolding them all to get to the shirt doesn't seem worth it. The fabric I chose isn't very easy to work with because it is quite thick. I should have read the reviews on here first, but I would have probably gone ahead and tried them anyway. Live and learn, I guess.
Buy this pattern for $14.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
0 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Vogue Patterns 8473
photo
Review by AmyLT on 3/1/11
Read Review

Close Case Files Bombshell Swimsuit Digital Pattern (Print at a copy shop)
Close Case Files Bombshell Swimsuit Digital Pattern (Print at a copy shop)

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Bib Top Digital Pattern
Salme Bib Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewaholic Patterns 1103 Minoru Jacket
photo
Review by Mia007 on 5/28/12
Read Review

You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Waterfall Pattern Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Waterfall Pattern Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7091 Pattern
Burda 7091 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6186 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )
New Look 6186 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us