Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 1810 (Misses' & Plus Size Sportswear) thumbsup - Type:Coordinates    printable version
Viewed 296 times 10 more reviews
Reviewed by:LM2HYD
photo
Friend of PR
About LM2HYDstar
VA USA
Member since: 3/7/11
Reviews written: 69
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 68
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/2/14 10:55 AM
Last Updated:1/2/14 3:43 PM
Project Photo:Simplicity: 1810 by LM2HYD

Simplicity: 1810 by LM2HYD  Simplicity: 1810 by LM2HYD  
Pattern Photo:Simplicity 1810
Simplicity Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Easy & Great for Beginners
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Accessories    Tops    Pants    Plus    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Rayon  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description: Misses' & Plus Size pullover dress in two lengths, tunic or top with shoulder pleat detailing, sleeve variation and tie belt at the waist and pull-on pants. I made View B, the shorter dress with no sleeves.

Pattern Sizing: XXS-XXL I made a Medium and graded to a Large at the hip. There's plenty of ease in the hip so this grading wasn't necessary.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes it did.

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I had a piece of Hawaiian fabric and wanted a simple dress to show off the fabric.

I like how the ties are sewn into the back darts. I thought this was a very clever attachment.

Fabric Used: 100% Rayon from Hawaiianfabrics.com

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I made the ties dramatically longer. As drafted, the ties didn't seem long enough to be able to tie in the back if I wanted. So I made them very long (60"+) and figured I could shorten them if I wanted. They are so long that I an wrap them around myself twice!

I added 3" to the length of the view B dress. I am short (5'-2") and it now hits me at the knee.

I used self-made bias tape along the armholes.

I attached the ties about 1" lower than shown on the pattern. It just fit my shape better to be a little lower.

Somehow my neck facings stretched out and were too long for the neckline. I shortened them to fit and it's perfect.

Front View

Back View

Neckline view

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? Yes, and Yes. This is a very easy dress to make and would be perfect for beginners.

Conclusion: A easy, cool dress with no fasteners!

For more, see my Blog
Buy this pattern for $16.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
3 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
prttynpnk said...
This is really sharp- another pattern I might not have noticed if yours hadn't caught my eye- nicely done!
1/2/14 1:11 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Very nice dress.
1/2/14 1:17 PM
persevering said...
What a great dress for hot weather! I'm impressed by your sewing ... enjoyed seeing your blog. Thanks for your review ... oh and I really like how you lengthened the ties and can wrap it around twice at the lowered level you chose... I think it upgrades the look.
1/2/14 10:03 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Daisy Kingdom 2431
photo
Review by kathieh9 on 7/30/13
Read Review

SewBaby Easy Appliqued Bibs Pattern
SewBaby Easy Appliqued Bibs Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Reversible Skirt Pattern
SewBaby Reversible Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pattern Runway Coffee Date Dress Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Coffee Date Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pattern Runway Stella Dress and Top Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Stella Dress and Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2447 Misses' Tops
photo
Review by kittecat on 4/10/13
Read Review

Butterick 5930 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Butterick 5930 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2226 Pattern( Size 6-8-10-12-14-16-18 )
Simplicity 2226 Pattern( Size 6-8-10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us