SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 6101 (Children's/Girls'/Misses' Pull-On Skirt and Petticoat)

1 more reviews
Viewed 89 times 
Reviewed by:Sethskid
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Sethskid
MD USA
Member since: 9/26/13
Reviews: 2 (patterns: 2)
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/2/14 11:25 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $13.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $13.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sethskid said... (1/4/14 12:22 PM) Reply
Thank you so much everyone! Oh FranE! I would love to see that picture!!
FranE said... (1/4/14 10:19 AM) Reply
The skirt is adorable. Thanks for reminding me of them and the petticoats. I have a picture of me, somewhere, wearing one of these when I was about 12 yrs old. My Mother had made it as she did most of my clothes.
Pj3g said... (1/3/14 4:59 PM) Reply
Very cute skirt! You did a great job!
Sethskid said... (1/3/14 8:50 AM) Reply
Thank you ceedee! I don't know if poodle skirts are coming back but the 50's style is definitely popular right now. I made this skirt for my husband's aunt. She & her husband like to go to antique car shows & dress the part :-)
ceedee said... (1/3/14 8:23 AM) Reply
Adorable and your poodle came out terrific! Really, are poodle skirts coming back? I need to spend more time looking at pattern/fashion websites. I, too, vaguely remember musical notes. Fun skirt!
Sethskid said... (1/3/14 7:18 AM) Reply
I didn't exactly do an historical search. I did go searching for pictures before I decided on this pattern. I was there in the 50's but I was pretty young. I have two older brothers & I remember their girlfriends wearing the poodle skirts. I don't remember anyone ever having a guitar or a cat like the pattern cover shows. I do remember records & music notes however. I have seen in my search, the Eiffel Tower on a circle skirt along with a poodle (French of couse!). This poodle is made with satin and a little fake fur. Thanks for the comments! Happy New Year to you!
sewingcanary said... (1/3/14 6:37 AM) Reply
The Poodle Skirt has returned! Wondering if you did an historical search. I always wondered why these skirts either had a poodle or nothing. I don’t think they ever had any other designs on them. And the poodles always looked corny – like a cartoon character or something. I think the poodles were often made with felt or curly fabric similar to boiled wool. They wore them with white bobby socks, usually folded down once. I think they’d be called crew sox now. The wedding dress was a cool idea. Happy New year.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

Butterick 5929

photo
by: Jenny80

Review
Vogue Patterns 8840

photo
by: Lori V

Review
JSM-Pant 1

JSM-Pant 1

Pattern Details
SewBaby Terrific Teepees Pattern

SewBaby Terrific Teepees Pattern

Pattern Details