Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 6101 (Children's/Girls'/Misses' Pull-On Skirt and Petticoat) - Type:Costumes    printable version
Viewed 62 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:Sethskid
photo
Friend of PR
About Sethskid
MD USA
Member since: 9/26/13
Reviews written: 2
patterns reviewed: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/2/14 11:25 PM
Project Photo:McCall's: 6101 by Sethskid

Pattern Photo:McCall's 6101
McCall's Pattern Info

More Info provided by Sethskid

Pattern Rating:Recommend, with Modifications
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $11.16 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Fabric:Polyester Shantung  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description: 50's poodle skirt costume

Pattern Sizing:Children 7-8-10 Junior girls 10-12-14 and Misses XS-SML-MED-LRG-XLG

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes it did except for the poodle

Were the instructions easy to follow? I didn't use them.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I didn't like the fact that there's one piece for the front and one for the back. I'd be in trouble if I didn't have a huge cutting table. I also didn't like the poodle but I had no trouble drawing my own.

Fabric Used:I believe it's polyester shantung

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I had to shorten the skirt considerably. It went practically to the floor as it was. I also used a wide band of black elastic sewn directly onto the waist instead of a casing. For the petticoat I cut off the bottom of the petticoat from a flea market wedding gown. It worked great without all the work, just added a casing & elastic.

Would you sew it again? I don't think I will sew this pattern again. If I ever make another circle skirt, I think I'll use this http://www.danamadeit.com/2008/07/tutorial-the-circle-skirt.html.

Conclusion: In conclusion it turned out very pretty. Aunt Shirley loves it and sent me a very nice thank you card
Buy this pattern for $11.16  List Price: $13.95   Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewingcanary said...
The Poodle Skirt has returned! Wondering if you did an historical search. I always wondered why these skirts either had a poodle or nothing. I don’t think they ever had any other designs on them. And the poodles always looked corny – like a cartoon character or something. I think the poodles were often made with felt or curly fabric similar to boiled wool. They wore them with white bobby socks, usually folded down once. I think they’d be called crew sox now. The wedding dress was a cool idea. Happy New year.
1/3/14 6:37 AM
Sethskid said...
I didn't exactly do an historical search. I did go searching for pictures before I decided on this pattern. I was there in the 50's but I was pretty young. I have two older brothers & I remember their girlfriends wearing the poodle skirts. I don't remember anyone ever having a guitar or a cat like the pattern cover shows. I do remember records & music notes however. I have seen in my search, the Eiffel Tower on a circle skirt along with a poodle (French of couse!). This poodle is made with satin and a little fake fur. Thanks for the comments! Happy New Year to you!
1/3/14 7:18 AM
ceedee said...
Adorable and your poodle came out terrific! Really, are poodle skirts coming back? I need to spend more time looking at pattern/fashion websites. I, too, vaguely remember musical notes. Fun skirt!
1/3/14 8:23 AM
Sethskid said...
Thank you ceedee! I don't know if poodle skirts are coming back but the 50's style is definitely popular right now. I made this skirt for my husband's aunt. She & her husband like to go to antique car shows & dress the part :-)
1/3/14 8:50 AM
Pj3g said...
Very cute skirt! You did a great job!
1/3/14 4:59 PM
FranE said...
The skirt is adorable. Thanks for reminding me of them and the petticoats. I have a picture of me, somewhere, wearing one of these when I was about 12 yrs old. My Mother had made it as she did most of my clothes.
1/4/14 10:19 AM
Sethskid said...
Thank you so much everyone! Oh FranE! I would love to see that picture!!
1/4/14 12:22 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Simplicity 5867
photo
Review by AnneM on 7/27/04
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Valencia Jacket & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Valencia Jacket & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Bell Sleeve Wrap & A-Line Skirt
Christine Jonson Bell Sleeve Wrap & A-Line Skirt

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Pyramid Purse Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Pyramid Purse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $6.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Angela Osborn Bobby Shorts Digital Pattern (SS10-11-401)
Angela Osborn Bobby Shorts Digital Pattern (SS10-11-401)

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 9430 Misses Tops
photo
Review by Mushywear on 11/5/10
Read Review

Jalie 2916 Pattern
Jalie 2916 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.75
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2561 Pattern
Jalie 2561 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.75
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us