Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Loes Hinse Designs: 5201 (Sweater Set) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 3589 times 26 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:Mini
photo
About Ministarstarstarstar
WI USA
Member since: 3/21/02
Reviews written: 115
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 102 people
patterns reviewed: 57
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/6/01 11:09 AM
Last Updated:8/4/03 6:41 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
I have owned this pattern for about 2 years and haven't made it yet. But now I am anzious to try it. I think it would go great with my new best skirt pattern the Brussels skirt. You are very correct in that body measurement is everything in Loes' patterns but that is also where the great fit and stlye comes from. Now all I have to do is find my knit fabrics - did you make a muslin first?
1/6/02 4:32 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Debbie, yes I did make a muslin. I nearly always do, and the only time things go wrong is when I get overconfident and skip this step. I used a cheap knit as a test, but a anything lightweight will probably be okay. If you trace your pattern on something like Do Sew or True Grid, you could also baste or pin the pieces together for a preview. This is such a fast pattern to sew that the test garment won't take long.
1/6/02 6:36 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Mini, thanks to your review I bought this pattern and finally finished it today (I was waiting for the TS shoulder pads!). It is wonderful, just the change I was looking for from my old standby twinset. Many thanks!
1/6/02 11:45 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I love the look of this sweater set. But, what is the 5" strip of velcro listed in the notions used for?
2/28/02 4:18 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Rhonda, I never noticed that until you mentioned it. If you use shoulderpads (I don't), you can use velcro to attach them.
2/28/02 6:33 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Hi Mini, I am playing with the Sweater Set and decided to search the reviews to see what others thought of this pattern. Just made the shell and like the fit in the neck, shoulders, and bust, but it is drawing up in the front and seems quite large at the high hip. Could be my funky monkey cheapo fabric, or could be that I need to lengthen the front and use a better stitch length for the topstitching. Any words of wisdom? Did you encounter this issue?
7/11/02 6:28 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Diane, I think everybody who has ever used this pattern has that problem! Of course, your fabric and stitch length can make a difference, but I think it is something about the way the shell is drafted. It seems to be designed for a smaller-busted figure than the other patterns in this line. As drafted, I think it would be okay for A cup busts. The rest of us need to either add length at center front, or put in a dart or dart equivalent.. This depends on your personal taste, and how much the top pulls up in front.
7/28/02 7:46 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Mini, I have not be able to access your site for several of your reviews, this one included.
8/29/02 9:16 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I see what you mean. I am not sure why this is happening, but I will try to fix it.
8/29/02 11:48 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thank you for a wonderful review! Seriously considering getting this pattern.
9/11/02 12:15 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Hellene, I still like this pattern BUT I reviewed it before I had worked with Kwik Sew patterns. The twinset Nikki just reviewed-AKA the infamous twinset-is might be a better choice. I am finding that the Kwik Sew fit works better for me, and the patterns are less expensive. Of course, I use larger sizes so what works for me might not be right for petites.
9/11/02 1:12 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Your review is great, but the link to the finished photo doesn't work. I see from the link that you have set it to an editing page within your Yahoo photo album. Make sure that your photos are viewable to the public and then use the link that yahoo assigns to the photo :)
9/15/02 4:47 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Maybe this will work. Click here
9/15/02 9:57 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
OOps! Guess not. If you go to my review of Stretch and Sew 1039 Quick and Easy Jacket, the album has another photo of the LH cardigan.
9/15/02 10:00 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I fixed the photo link.
9/15/02 10:03 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Will definitely try pattern. I have little time to sew- this sounds perfect for me.
10/6/02 9:35 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
Slyone said...
Mini, you are an inspiration to my top heavy 5'4"Body. I will be brave soon and send in some reviews, meanwhile keep me laughing with your "cotton lycra that turned into a personal flotation device."
2/21/03 6:35 PM
Monica R said...
Great review Mini, thanks. Your cardigan looks great on you!
2/21/03 10:44 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

McCall's 5752
photo
Review by SueV on 1/8/10
Read Review

Vogue 1354 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 1354 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1462 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 1462 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 2899
photo
Review by PhyllisC on 1/24/05
Read Review

Oliver + S After-School Shirt + Pants Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S After-School Shirt + Pants Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Hopscotch Skirt, Knit Top & Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver + S Hopscotch Skirt, Knit Top & Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Terrific Teepees Pattern
SewBaby Terrific Teepees Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Bluegingerdoll The Winifred Dress Paper Pattern
Bluegingerdoll The Winifred Dress Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us