SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Petite Plus Patterns> Basic Shell Blouse (101 Basic shell blouse)

Viewed 1645 times 
Reviewed by:Learn To Sew
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Learn To Sewstar
Member since: 4/12/05
Reviews written: 34
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 18
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/24/05 11:57 AM
Last Updated:2/1/06 3:01 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SouthernStitch said...
I have a Burda shell with that type of facing - and I love it too! Good luck with your next one - oh and good review, I found it helpful.
5/24/05 12:15 PM
Irene Q said...
Congratulations on your first review! Let us know how the next one turns out.
5/24/05 12:53 PM
Doris Stewart said...
I have this at the top of my 'to do' pile - thanks for the review.
5/24/05 2:03 PM
Learn To Sew said...
I have been talking to others who have made this pattern. Julie from Timmel Fabrics recommens making it up in a lovely, high quality knit, in a size smaller than if you made it in a knit. She says it makes up so nicely, you will make the pattern over and over and over.
5/26/05 11:23 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Glad to see your review. I just purchased the pattern and plan to sew it up this weekend.
5/26/05 7:59 PM
Peggy L said...
I'm glad you like this pattern and are getting the fit to suit you perfectly. I know you have struggled with this but what a great tried and true pattern to have. Good review.
12/28/05 3:36 PM
Mini said...
This is a nice pattern, but it does have a problem due to the total lack of back shaping. I think that adding a center back seam, and/or back shoulder darts will make it fit more comfortably and solve the problem of the neckline not sitting correctly. A center back seam can also eliminate the need for a faced keyhole opening. Just make a wide seam allowance, and leave the center back seam open enough to pull over the head easily. For a neater finish, the center back seam allowance can be topstitched around the opening. Less bulk, and much easier than the faced opening.
12/28/05 11:50 PM
Learn To Sew said...
Mini, One of the alterations I will need to make next time is shoulder darts. I might consider the back seam instead of the keyhole. That seems so out of date to me.
2/1/06 3:42 PM
sideseams said...
Thanks for the review. I have been thinking about purchasing this pattern and now I know what to expect.
2/1/06 5:02 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

SewBaby The Hat Shoppe Pattern

SewBaby The Hat Shoppe Pattern

Buy Now
Candice

Candice

Buy Now
Simplicity 5704

photo
by: wendlesue

Review