SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> Petite Plus Patterns> Basic Shell Blouse (101 Basic shell blouse)

Viewed 1647 times 
Reviewed by:Learn To Sew
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Learn To Sewstar
Member since: 4/12/05
Reviews: 34 (patterns: 18)
Skill level:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 8 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/24/05 11:57 AM
Last Updated:2/1/06 3:01 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sideseams said... (2/1/06 5:02 PM) Reply
Thanks for the review. I have been thinking about purchasing this pattern and now I know what to expect.
Learn To Sew said... (2/1/06 3:42 PM) Reply
Mini, One of the alterations I will need to make next time is shoulder darts. I might consider the back seam instead of the keyhole. That seems so out of date to me.
Mini said... (12/28/05 11:50 PM) Reply
This is a nice pattern, but it does have a problem due to the total lack of back shaping. I think that adding a center back seam, and/or back shoulder darts will make it fit more comfortably and solve the problem of the neckline not sitting correctly. A center back seam can also eliminate the need for a faced keyhole opening. Just make a wide seam allowance, and leave the center back seam open enough to pull over the head easily. For a neater finish, the center back seam allowance can be topstitched around the opening. Less bulk, and much easier than the faced opening.
Peggy L said... (12/28/05 3:36 PM) Reply
I'm glad you like this pattern and are getting the fit to suit you perfectly. I know you have struggled with this but what a great tried and true pattern to have. Good review.
Danvillegirl said... (5/26/05 7:59 PM) Reply
Glad to see your review. I just purchased the pattern and plan to sew it up this weekend.
Learn To Sew said... (5/26/05 11:23 AM) Reply
I have been talking to others who have made this pattern. Julie from Timmel Fabrics recommens making it up in a lovely, high quality knit, in a size smaller than if you made it in a knit. She says it makes up so nicely, you will make the pattern over and over and over.
Doris Stewart said... (5/24/05 2:03 PM) Reply
I have this at the top of my 'to do' pile - thanks for the review.
Irene Q said... (5/24/05 12:53 PM) Reply
Congratulations on your first review! Let us know how the next one turns out.
SouthernStitch said... (5/24/05 12:15 PM) Reply
I have a Burda shell with that type of facing - and I love it too! Good luck with your next one - oh and good review, I found it helpful.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

New Look 6823

photo
by: Sheila457

Review
Fit For Real People DVD

Fit For Real People DVD

Pattern Details
Lazy Girl Designs Bendy Bag Paper Pattern

Lazy Girl Designs Bendy Bag Paper Pattern

Pattern Details
Fehr Trade 000

photo
by: ArtAttack

Review