Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Lekala Patterns: 4315 (Dress with Tie Collar) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 166 times
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:kdbobo
photo
About kdbobo
NJ USA
Member since: 7/28/10
Reviews written: 9
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/3/14 9:51 PM
Last Updated:1/4/14 6:44 PM
Project Photo:Lekala Patterns: 4315 by kdbobo

Lekala Patterns: 4315 by kdbobo  Lekala Patterns: 4315 by kdbobo  
Pattern Photo:

Pattern Info provided by kdbobo

Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Interlock Knit  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description:
Knit dress with midriff band and tie collar

Pattern Sizing:
Custom fit--I used the new "extra" options this time, too!

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Mostly. The midriff band is higher on mine and the collar does not stand up as it appears to in the drawing. Also, mine is a bit more curve-huggy in the skirt, not really A-line as the photo indicates, and I'm not sure it's only the fabric. It's also shorter than I thought it would be--it's a little above the knee on 5'9"height-and-34-inch-inseam me.

Were the instructions easy to follow?
Eh. I would rate this pattern "Easy but not great for beginners." I think if you've got some dress sewing under your belt, so to speak, they are ok; they do cover the basics but there is a certain amount of instruction-deciphering and general winging it that you have to do (more of the former than the latter). They are pretty straightforward and bare-bones; no walking you through how to do things. It's really a very easy dress to make, but for an absolute beginner I'd think this could be daunting, especially making and attaching the collar.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I was really enchanted with the style--I love tie collars! It looked like a really nice little simple workdress. And no zipper meant it would go together quickly, too (it did).

Fabric Used:
A lightweight interlock knit (I think) that I bought several years ago. I loved the cheerful, vintage-y pattern on the fabric--little multicolored Os. A friend has dubbed this the "Cheerios Dress".

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
Nearly none. I have a bunch of Lekala patterns but this was the first one I sewed up, and this was the first I'd ordered using their new, more extensive lineup of fitting details. I wanted to see if this would really work. In addition to my usual measurements, I specified that I had longer legs, a higher waist, wider and lower bust, and bigger upper arms. (compared to whom, I'm not sure, but...) I'm not sure these additions helped me all that much. I still had to lengthen the skirt by about 3 inches (it was just going to be too short to wear to the office, even with tights) and the waist was actually a bit too high. The bust darts, however, were spot on. (THIS NEVER HAPPENS!!!) But I needed more length to accommodate the DDDs (see closeup of dart and midriff band in picture #3). And though I thought the the bodice pieces looked awfully tiny, except for a need for an inch or two more length they were the perfect size. It's not perfect, but it's definitely wearable.

I debated whether to interface the collar and asked Natalia (the owner of Lekala) for help--she suggested forgoing it to preserve the drape of the ties, and she was right. I was really impressed, however, that she would go back and forth with a customer over email like that. I mean, I only spent like $2 on the pattern!!!

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Yes on both counts. I'm already plotting to lengthen the bodice pieces and make one in a solid.

Conclusion:
I'm glad I made this! It was such a nice change to sew up something straight from the pattern and have it fit decently without days of adjusting, grading, redrafting, muslin-making work.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
RoseE said...
I love it! Thanks for a great review!
1/4/14 2:06 AM
Janine S said...
Thank you for the thorough review. I'm just about to venture into the Lekala patterns so your insight has been very helpful
1/4/14 2:58 AM
Puppet Girl said...
I love the dress style (it's my tie collar period :P) I didn't know Lekala patterns and thanks to your complete review, I will probably try it !
1/4/14 5:36 AM
Curly26 said...
I was thinking of getting this pattern and review has helped me to make my decision. Thanks for the great review. Happy Sewing!
1/4/14 8:37 PM
evdH said...
Love your fabric choice. I learned so much from your review and want to try Lekala patterns now. You've inspired me.
1/5/14 10:25 AM
KateS said...
Cute fabric - its suits the retro feel of the dress! The information re extra fitting details on lekala patterns- I have my eye on a few of their designs!
3/10/14 4:55 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $29.00)
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

McCall's 2132
photo
Review by Sister of ... on 12/5/09
Read Review

Liesl + Co. Men's Metro Shirt Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Men's Metro Shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Class Picnic Blouse & Shorts Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)
Oliver + S Class Picnic Blouse & Shorts Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2648
photo
Review by aburlock on 3/11/12
Read Review

Gracie Handbag
Gracie Handbag

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby "I Can Do It" Cloth Activity Book Pattern
SewBaby

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 0119 Pattern
Kwik Sew 0119 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5998 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Butterick 5998 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us