SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 02-2010-112A (Boat-Neck Tee)

1 more reviews
Viewed 412 times 
Reviewed by:lsaspacey
photo

 
 
About lsaspaceystar
VA USA
Member since: 10/21/07
Reviews written: 42
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 42
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/17/14 0:06 AM
Last Updated:3/4/14 2:28 AM
Project Photo:BurdaStyle Magazine: 02-2010-112A by lsaspacey

BurdaStyle Magazine: 02-2010-112A by lsaspacey  BurdaStyle Magazine: 02-2010-112A by lsaspacey  
Pattern Photo:

Pattern Info provided by lsaspacey

Pattern Rating:Easy & Great for Beginners
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Cotton-Lycra Knit  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern: Burdastyle 02/2010 #112A c. 2010

Pattern Description: Knit top with raglan sleeves and wide neckline.

Pattern Sizing: Sizes 36-46 (US 10-20). I originally cut it out as size 44, which corresponded to a US size 18. I then basted and cut it down slowly until I liked the fit.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes, after I made some alterations.

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes, very simple.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I loved the slight curve of the wide neckline and the slight waist shaping.

Fabric Used: An 8.5 oz. medium-weight half-inch black and white stripe cotton spandex knit (CL-1260) from GirlCharlee.com ($5.50 per yd) and Pellon Easy-Knit fusible interfacing.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: My first issue was matching the stripes at the raglan sleeve and at the side seams. Where the sleeve joins the body needs to result in chevron and it would be noticeable if they did not match. I used this tutorial by Sewaholic to match the striped fabric.

Luckily, the pattern pieces have printed match lines for striped fabrics though you could add your own to any pattern. I would even suggest if your pattern paper is transparent that you trace a stripe all across the piece to make a more accurate match.

I aligned the match lines on the pattern with particular stripes on the fabric. I did the same with the second pattern piece, matching its match lines with corresponding stripes in the fabric. Though the fabric was folded for the bodice, I cut the piece out of the top layer only. Putting aside the paper piece, I used the cut fabric piece as a guide to cut the lower layer making sure the stripes were parallel. I then used the front piece as a guide to cut the back piece matching stripes starting from the bottom.

The front and back pieces were basted together by hand and I attached one sleeve in order to check the fit. I wanted my top to fit the same way as Nicole's.

At this point, the top was too large so I laid the pattern over the pieces and found that the fabric had stretched and grown. I cut down both the pattern pieces and fabric to a smaller size above the waist and a larger one below for the hips. Once I finished the alterations, I pinned and basted, by hand again, making sure that all stripes were aligned at the seams. Using a narrow zigzag stitch, I sewed the top together on my machine.

As a last step, I fused interfacing to the hems and neckline for durability. I used knit interfacing as a substitute for the Vilene bias tape suggested in the instructions. I then attached the neck binding differently, as single-fold binding, because the double-fold method they called for would have been far too bulky. I folded the hems over 1/4" and then 1/2", stitching them to the inside by hand.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? Yes, no wonder it is a popular top on patternreview.com. Depending on the knit, I will probably cut the shoulders of the next one in a size 40 (US 14) with the waist and hips staying a 42.

Conclusion: Another great knit t-shirt and perhaps another TNT pattern. My goal is a whole wardrobe of knit tops of all styles.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
stonecutter17 said...
Oh la la! Tres chic!
1/17/14 2:37 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Love stripes of 'any stripe'!!! Great review…
1/17/14 8:10 AM
CissieW said...
I am always attracted to striped T's. Love the neckline on this one!
1/17/14 9:08 AM
sewtime said...
So nice, really love it!
1/17/14 9:37 AM
SewWil said...
Perfect striped tee! Love it!
1/17/14 9:57 AM
Speech girl said...
Great shirt! Coincidentally last night I was looking at this shirt in the preview section of the previous issue and thinking it was such a nice raglan top. Thanks for the review.
1/18/14 9:04 AM
SusiM said...
Very nice! I love stripes.
1/18/14 12:39 PM
MamaSewing said...
Wonderful tee, the stripes are so fun, you did a great job matching them all!
1/20/14 9:21 AM
dragon10 said...
Love your stripes! Looks great with your red skirt. Thanks for the review. I must dig this pattern out.
3/4/14 2:41 AM
HRigg said...
Great top. Thanks for the review.
3/4/14 3:22 AM
Baja Susana said...
Love stripes! The top looks wonderful.
3/4/14 4:41 AM
sewrose said...
I had some of your same issues when I made this top for my daughter (it was quite some time ago). Your results are better than mine for sure!
3/4/14 10:04 AM
Sheenagh said...
Very nice ... so chic!
3/10/14 8:28 PM
One Off said...
Love the stripe matching!
3/16/14 7:04 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Vogue Patterns 2964

photo
by: Jessamaka

Review
Cutting Line Designs 60565

photo
by: marthamyer...

Review
WhatNots

WhatNots

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 100mm Shell Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 100mm Shell Purse Pattern

Buy Now