SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Make it Perfect> P021 (Sheerwater Kaftan)

Viewed 154 times 
Reviewed by:amandajewls
photo

 
 
About amandajewlsstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 12/18/10
Reviews written: 6
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/6/14 4:45 PM
Last Updated:2/8/14 1:43 AM
Project Photo:Make it Perfect: P021 by amandajewls

Pattern Photo:

More Info provided by amandajewls

Pattern Rating:Easy & Great for Beginners
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Voile  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description: Brighten up your wardrobe with a sensational Shearwater Kaftan. With just the right balance between floaty and fitted and featuring lovely front placket detail in a choice of two lengths, the Shearwater Kaftan is comfortable, flattering and practical.
Throw it on over a pair of swimmers and shorts, wear it with a summer skirt or dress up a pair of jeans – the possibilities are endless...

Pattern Sizing: XS to XL (max bust line is 40 inches)
I forced this pattern to fit my bigger frame.
Multiple Muslin Tests

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? While the XL said it was for a 42 inch bust line, it would be with 0 ease. No way it would ACTUALLY fit a size 42 bust line. So I had to make a HEAP of modifications until I came up with a shirt that would work. After paying $17.50, no way I was going to waste my money. Learned a LOT about adjusting patterns during this adventure.

Here is my blog entry that details my journey: Multiple Muslin Tests

Fabric Used: Cotton Voile

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
1. FBA by 1 inch
2. Broad Back Adjustment - pattern is tiny between shoulder blade arm hole to arm hole line. 2.5 inches adjustment in my case.
Have to trace own pattern from several A3 papers.
3. Will narrow the neckline just a bit on my next project as this almost falls off my shoulders.
4. I made my own, bigger facing pieces in a constrasting fabric so it is more interesting and finished looking when the front pops open.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I would recommend this pattern if you are under a bust line of 40 inches as you can use the pattern as is. The pattern is a little complicated given it is printed on 3 x A3 pages double sided so it is a little confusing to figure out which ones to connect.
You HAVE to trace the pattern onto tracing paper. Do NOT cut the original pattern or you won't be able to get the other two pattern pieces.

Do 1 cheap muslin first to make sure that it all will work before cutting your expensive fabric.

Conclusion:
Once I made a few cheap muslins and did the FBA and Broad back adjustments, this shirt fits well. The instructions were straight forward and no fancy techniques to worry about.

Super easy though once you have a fitting pattern and ready to go. 4 pieces to sew together and then lots of options for closing the raw edge of the neckline.
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
msschiel said...
This is a nice top! Love the fabric!
2/8/14 7:25 AM
MrsCharisma said...
Gorgeous casual top!
2/8/14 8:29 AM
SewOm said...
I love your fabric! I've ogled it before, but never bought it. It's nice to see it made up so nicely.
2/8/14 8:40 AM
KensingtonCrab said...
Great top! I think that neckline is flattering to you!
2/8/14 10:06 AM
FreyaStark said...
A nice top, and you've done well to make the pattern work for you. I made it myself a couple of years ago but didn't like it; in fact I disliked it so much I not only discarded the top but also later deleted my review. Recently I noticed Burda 8363, which offers a similar look and - I hope - a better fit. It is high on my list of sewing priorities.
2/8/14 4:48 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Favorite Things Hope Skirts Pattern

Favorite Things Hope Skirts Pattern

Buy Now
Jamie Christina Sunny Day Dress and Skirt Pattern (JC308SD)

Jamie Christina Sunny Day Dress and Skirt Pattern (JC308SD)

Buy Now