Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 3988 (Misses Yoga Pants) - Type:Activewear    printable version
Viewed 252 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:Immelu
photo
Friend of PR
About Immelustar
KS USA
Member since: 5/6/06
Reviews written: 117
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 24 people
patterns reviewed: 115
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/6/14 9:43 PM
Last Updated:1/6/14 9:45 PM
Project Photo:Kwik Sew: 3988 by Immelu

Kwik Sew: 3988 by Immelu  
Pattern Photo:Kwik Sew 3988
Kwik Sew Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Mediocre Pattern
See other patterns in this category: Activewear    
Available for sale on PR: $11.99 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description: Very close fitting pull-on pants have crotch gusset, wide waistbands with elastic, twin needle top-stitching. View A: Mid-calf length with leg gusset in outside seam. View B: Full length with waistband insets.

I rated this as a mediocre pattern because it didn't really work or me, but it might be great for someone else with a few tweaks. As it is, this is probably the only time I'm ever going to make this pant.

Pattern Sizing:I made a straight up medium since I fall right in the middle of the medium range. My hips are 38ish and my waist is 28ish.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?Kind of. I made the full length pant and mine just seem to be bigger than the photo would lead you to believe.

Were the instructions easy to follow? No. I'm particularly disappointed in how they tell you to make the waistband. i had to do it THREE times and I still only have mediocre results. I had zero trouble with the gusset though.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
Dislikes: The loose fit, the instructions for the waistband, the look of the waistband in reality. Likes: the look of the pattern on the envelope, the length is good for me. The rise is pretty good on me, but there are some serious crotch issues going on.

I even tried turning the pants around while I had them on to see if maybe I had them on backwards, but they still looked just as bad.

Fabric Used: A navy workout knit from Needle Nook Fabrics. It was a remnant table find, so at least there's not much lost.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:None.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?No, I will not sew it again. If someone likes the style, I think it'd be ok if you went down a size and figured out a smarter way to do the waistband. I used my serger and perhaps the sewing machine would have created a better look. I think if there was less ease they'd also look better. Also, I don't think the facing pieces had any notches on them (unless I missed tracing them). I'd recommend adding them to match the waistband pieces.

Conclusion: Disappointed. Learn from my experience. Also, if you make them, you would probably get a better look if you didn't use the inset on the waistband and instead just used the facing piece for the inside and outside...at least for your first pair.

Buy this pattern for $11.99     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
julie w said...
Sorry these did not work out for you.
1/7/14 5:46 AM
Patti B said...
Thanks for the honest review. Weird about the instructions because that's usually a strength of Kwik Sew.
1/7/14 8:45 AM
madbadger said...
Thanks for a great review - shame it didn't work out for you. I hate when I put so much time into something to have it not work out. Namaste!
1/7/14 8:49 AM
Izzie said...
I had some of the same problems you did with this pattern-thought it was just me! I made the short pants and I thought I had them on backwards too!
1/7/14 9:59 AM
treefrog said...
Sorry these didn't work out for you. I made this pattern up last week and agree with you that the instructions aren't the usual KS standard.
1/7/14 4:31 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Butterick 4789
photo
Review by chicagoche... on 3/12/10
Read Review

Blank Slate Schoolday Skirt Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Schoolday Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Bosco Bowtie Digital Pattern FREE
Sis Boom Bosco Bowtie Digital Pattern FREE

Details
Price: $0
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2652
photo
Review by NhiHuynh on 1/6/12
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern
Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 202 Pattern
Petite Plus 202 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 9793 Pattern
Burda 9793 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8983 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Vogue 8983 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us