Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 2255 (misses tops) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 499 times 20 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:MrsCharisma
photo
Friend of PR
About MrsCharismastarstarstar
MN USA
Member since: 2/1/13
Reviews written: 109
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 40 people
patterns reviewed: 106
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/8/14 9:57 AM
Last Updated:1/11/14 11:50 PM
Project Photo:Simplicity: 2255 by MrsCharisma

Simplicity: 2255 by MrsCharisma  Simplicity: 2255 by MrsCharisma  
Pattern Photo:Simplicity 2255
Simplicity Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Great Wardrobe Builder
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Shirting - Cotton  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
White version

Pattern Description:

Misses' tunic or shirt with sleeve variations Easy to Sew pattern.

I sewed view A with the shorter length...or view D with sleeves

Pattern Sizing:

6-14, I cut a 14 and did a botched 1/2" FBA.

Finished measurements: 41" bust, 37" waist.
My measurements 39" bust, 34" waist.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?

Uhmm. Kind of.

Were the instructions easy to follow?

They were! The first one I started about 2 or 3 months after learning to sew and many details were confusing. This time, absolutely no problems at all.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?

I love the fit. I do have a bubble of fabric at center back (a length issue?) but since this is really a casual top, I don't mind. I need to compare other button front tops to this pattern because the bones of it works really well for me.

I *LOVE* that the button band is sewn on! The first button front top I attempted was Butterick 5678 and the folding is silly and unnecessarily confusing. I also like this for the option of using a contrasting fabric for the collar and band.

The mandarin collar is a little iffy. I have a short neck and I think I need to wear my hair down (rather than the very ratty twist/bun thing it's in now!) for it to not make me look stumpy.

And the sleeves.

The ease is good...there wasn't crazy amounts of fabric to ease in, but it's a straight sleeve...from the cap, it extends down in basically a straight line and you have to fold and fold and fold it before securing with the tab. I should have checked the sleeve length rolled up and then adjusted my tab to be where I'd want it to be...but I placed it according to the directions. I might actually chop off 2 inches so there's less sleeve to roll up! I wouldn't wear them unrolled because they are ridiculously big around the lower part of the arm, imo.

Fabric Used:

Cotton/poly (?) shirting from FabricMart in a "chambray".

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:

1/2" FBA, 1/2" narrow shoulder adjustment.

Made the shorter length with sleeves, no pockets.

Used snaps instead of buttons.

Did not topstitch because I'm "just okay" with topstitching and was afraid it wouldn't be neat enough with the thread I had. It wasn't a perfect match and would have stood out. I could see it topstitched in white though.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?

I will definitely sew this again. I would recommend it too.

Conclusion:

It's a great little top that doesn't take too much fabric, fits well and sews up sort of quickly. Also, there are tons of variations you can take on the pattern.
Buy this pattern for $15.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CraftAddict said...
Very nice. I'm going to have to pick up this pattern. It's a nice basic top and has so many variations. I like a lot of bang for my pattern buck.
1/8/14 10:39 AM
Adaire said...
Really pretty shirt!
1/8/14 11:26 AM
frame said...
This looks very nice. If the collar is too high, you can always cut it down a little bit. I have a short neck and find I have to do that with mandarin collars. :)
1/8/14 11:27 AM
MrsCharisma said...
Oh, that's a good point frame! See, things like that is where my "beginner-ness" shines through :) I have no vision! LOL! Thanks Adaire! Thanks Craft Addict!!
1/8/14 11:46 AM
swirlgurl said...
very nice! looks like a really versatile pattern.
1/8/14 11:56 AM
Rhoda K said...
Another winner - love this.
1/9/14 8:54 AM
charliegirl127 said...
Cute top.
1/9/14 10:16 AM
Levone said...
Nice looking top!
1/9/14 11:18 AM
MrsCharisma said...
Thanks all!!
1/9/14 2:25 PM
SewLibra said...
Great shirt! I love the mandarin collar. I just added this pattern to my wish list. :-)
1/9/14 4:53 PM
SewWil said...
Nice looking shirt!
1/12/14 0:05 AM
Barbara V said...
Cute shirt. It looks great on you and pairs perfectly with jeans & boots.
1/12/14 0:42 AM
MrsCharisma said...
Thanks!! It wears very well. Definitely going to be a 2014 fave.
1/12/14 9:35 AM
Sue Parrott said...
You are super cute in this! Well done!
1/12/14 9:39 AM
KensingtonCrab said...
Wow! Great top and cute outfit!
1/12/14 9:50 AM
Dellia45 said...
I love it. You look great in this shirt!!
1/12/14 9:53 AM
knitmachinequeen said...
You did a beautiful job. I love a good oxford shirt.
1/12/14 11:00 AM
valgal said...
Great job and where did you get those cute boots?
1/12/14 12:05 PM
sacjeanie said...
Mrs Chraisma - you have tons of vision. I've seen you create some wonderful things. You've taken to sewing like a duck to water. Bravo on a great looking shirt.
1/12/14 2:10 PM
MrsCharisma said...
Thanks everyone! Very much appreciated sacjeanie! I still get kind of miffed at myself for waiting so long to buy a machine and learn! I've been missing out on so much! :) Valgal from Sears of all places! And for like $7!
1/12/14 9:57 PM
canei said...
cute!
1/13/14 8:33 AM
carolynw said...
Really nice - good fit - collar and sleeves look good to me
1/13/14 6:57 PM
MrsCharisma said...
Thanks!
1/31/14 10:22 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Self Drafted Pattern 146547-1000
photo
Review by FL Girl on 10/30/10
Read Review

You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $9.05
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Animal Wrappers Pattern
SewBaby Animal Wrappers Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

MariaDenmark Audrey Dress Digital Pattern ( Sized For B-Cup Bust )
MariaDenmark Audrey Dress Digital Pattern ( Sized For B-Cup Bust )

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Megan Nielsen Eucalypt Tank & Dress Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Eucalypt Tank & Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3617
photo
Review by Nujoi1908 on 1/31/10
Read Review

Simplicity 2058 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18 )
Simplicity 2058 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3699 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3699 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us