SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 7140 (Misses Jackets)

3 more reviews
Viewed 383 times 
Reviewed by:Muggiesew
photo

 
 
About Muggiesewstar
Member since: 9/21/13
Reviews written: 76
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 74
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/10/14 2:11 PM
Last Updated:1/11/14 6:07 PM


Burda: 7140 by Muggiesew  Burda: 7140 by Muggiesew  
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $7.46 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $7.46 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
evdH said...
Sometimes my things just have to sit and ripen a bit before the solution comes. If I let them go for awhile, it usually takes just a tweak to solve the problem. I bet you will be wearing a beautiful Donegal tweed jacket before 2014 is over!
1/10/14 3:57 PM
RoseE said...
I'm about to try a raglan myself, so this issue is very timely. I think there's too much fabric in the front of your sleeve. Here's a link on how to correct it. http://www.madalynne.com/pattern-correction-raglan-seams
1/10/14 8:11 PM
knitmachinequeen said...
Love the style. I would suggest going down and size and adjusting the pattern where necessary.
1/11/14 9:24 AM
MrsCharisma said...
I agree that this size is too large. The upper back seems to be well fitting but the front and sleeve look like there's just too much extra fabric. And yes taking a step back has often times allowed a solution to materialize for me :)
1/11/14 9:57 AM
style inspired said...
I hope you can work out the fit issues. Is the cotton very stiff? If it's a lot stiffer than the tweed your fit adjustments may change somewhat when you make it up in the tweed. Do you have square shoulders or a narrow upper chest relative to a wide back? I think this could be some of your fitting issues.
1/11/14 10:01 AM
Sue Parrott said...
I'm not a fit expert by any means, but I really think the entire back fits you really well! Can you adjust the front pattern pieces by going down a size and leaving the back alone? I also wonder about a bust adjustment along the princess seam to help that part sit better. One of the recent Threads has an article by Anglea Wolff on how to adjust the fit. She recommends to start at the top of the garment and work down. :)
1/11/14 10:32 AM
wildberrymom said...
Have you considered a center seam on the sleeve? That might allow for taking up what appears to be excess through the shoulder and upper arm. I struggled with a raglan sleeve on a different pattern and it took major fitting adjustments in both the sleeve and the princess line where it meets the armhole. The issue for me was sloping shoulders that put excess fabric in the front and my shoulders were not nearly as square as the pattern was drafted for--don't give up! I concur with much of what has already been said and I will be checking out the link that RoseE suggests. Let it sit for a bit.
1/11/14 10:53 AM
Muggiesew said...
Jacket has temporarily come put of the naughty corner. I've tried taking the curved bit out of the seam as RoseE suggested. Thanks for that. In this case it worsened it. Next step- I've found some more fabric from my stash and will try cutting a smaller size and adjusting different bits. These broad shoulders of mine are proving to be a real challenge this time. More to follow...
1/11/14 2:27 PM
Dellia45 said...
Perfect color.
1/12/14 9:59 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Other Dressmaking with Liberty

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Young Image Magazine FW-2012-Y1252

photo
by: squirrelly...

Review
Favorite Things An Everyday Bag Pattern

Favorite Things An Everyday Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Bluegingerdoll Mae Blouse Patterns

Bluegingerdoll Mae Blouse Patterns

Buy Now