Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda: 7140 (Misses Jackets) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 368 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:Muggiesew
photo
About Muggiesewstar
Member since: 9/21/13
Reviews written: 37
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
patterns reviewed: 36
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/10/14 2:11 PM
Last Updated:1/11/14 6:07 PM
Project Photo:Burda: 7140 by Muggiesew

Burda: 7140 by Muggiesew  Burda: 7140 by Muggiesew  
Pattern Photo:Burda 7140
Burda Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Pattern OK, but did NOT work for Me
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $7.46 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Cotton  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description:
Fitted jacket with several options giving very different looks
Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Not yet on me but might do one day...second test garment looks much better now I've gone down a size.
Were the instructions easy to follow?
Yes so far but I don't think they are as clear as other patterns from the big 4 (might be I'm not used to them) I like the numbered notches.
What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I couldn't get the sleeves to look right on first test garment. Second version seems better. Love the look of peplum and collar in version 2 but also tempted with version c.
Fabric Used:
Furnishing cotton from stash to test the fitting. Second test garment is some linen from stash. Final will be wool.
Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
Usual body adjustments and every combination of more sleeve, less sleeve, different angle. Next step might be to convert to normal sleeves.
For second garment , after advice in the comments I went down a size and let out seam allowances where I need a bit more room.
Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I really want to make a wool version but not as it is so it needs it sit in the naughty box for a while...
I'm more inclined to finish this purple version and move onto the wool.
Conclusion:
Unfinished and left to think about its behaviour. I love the shpe of the patter and raglan sleeves are usually a good option for my shoulders but not this time it seems. I searched for ages to find a jacket I really liked and wanted to make in very expensive Donegal Tweed. I will have another go in a while. Sorry to be vague!
Now I've got a better fit with the purple, I'll sleep on it and prob change my overall verdict. Thanks to all the help and comments. Hope you agree thus one fits better.
Buy this pattern for $7.46  List Price: $9.95   Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
evdH said...
Sometimes my things just have to sit and ripen a bit before the solution comes. If I let them go for awhile, it usually takes just a tweak to solve the problem. I bet you will be wearing a beautiful Donegal tweed jacket before 2014 is over!
1/10/14 3:57 PM
RoseE said...
I'm about to try a raglan myself, so this issue is very timely. I think there's too much fabric in the front of your sleeve. Here's a link on how to correct it. http://www.madalynne.com/pattern-correction-raglan-seams
1/10/14 8:11 PM
knitmachinequeen said...
Love the style. I would suggest going down and size and adjusting the pattern where necessary.
1/11/14 9:24 AM
MrsCharisma said...
I agree that this size is too large. The upper back seems to be well fitting but the front and sleeve look like there's just too much extra fabric. And yes taking a step back has often times allowed a solution to materialize for me :)
1/11/14 9:57 AM
style inspired said...
I hope you can work out the fit issues. Is the cotton very stiff? If it's a lot stiffer than the tweed your fit adjustments may change somewhat when you make it up in the tweed. Do you have square shoulders or a narrow upper chest relative to a wide back? I think this could be some of your fitting issues.
1/11/14 10:01 AM
Sue Parrott said...
I'm not a fit expert by any means, but I really think the entire back fits you really well! Can you adjust the front pattern pieces by going down a size and leaving the back alone? I also wonder about a bust adjustment along the princess seam to help that part sit better. One of the recent Threads has an article by Anglea Wolff on how to adjust the fit. She recommends to start at the top of the garment and work down. :)
1/11/14 10:32 AM
wildberrymom said...
Have you considered a center seam on the sleeve? That might allow for taking up what appears to be excess through the shoulder and upper arm. I struggled with a raglan sleeve on a different pattern and it took major fitting adjustments in both the sleeve and the princess line where it meets the armhole. The issue for me was sloping shoulders that put excess fabric in the front and my shoulders were not nearly as square as the pattern was drafted for--don't give up! I concur with much of what has already been said and I will be checking out the link that RoseE suggests. Let it sit for a bit.
1/11/14 10:53 AM
Muggiesew said...
Jacket has temporarily come put of the naughty corner. I've tried taking the curved bit out of the seam as RoseE suggested. Thanks for that. In this case it worsened it. Next step- I've found some more fabric from my stash and will try cutting a smaller size and adjusting different bits. These broad shoulders of mine are proving to be a real challenge this time. More to follow...
1/11/14 2:27 PM
Dellia45 said...
Perfect color.
1/12/14 9:59 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

No Pattern Used 2012-3 large totes
photo
Review by katlew03 on 1/31/12
Read Review

Vogue 8649 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 8649 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 9769 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )
Simplicity 9769 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 2615
photo
Review by annakeeton on 9/30/13
Read Review

Oliver + S Pinwheel tunic + slip dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver + S Pinwheel tunic + slip dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo V-Neck Cardigan Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo V-Neck Cardigan Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

J Stern Designs Ribbon Skirt Pattern
J Stern Designs Ribbon Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby The Hat Shoppe Pattern
SewBaby The Hat Shoppe Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us