Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
LaFred: 107 (Europa Blouse) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1464 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:SouthernStitch
photo
Friend of PR
About SouthernStitchstarstarstar
LA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 117
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 34 people
patterns reviewed: 78
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/27/05 10:33 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
bunz said...
I don't think it looks dowdy at all -- quite the contrary :-) You shouldn't have revealed how it fit so great out of the envelope (just kidding), because when I saw the photo, I thought "she did a great job of fitting the pattern!"
5/27/05 10:37 AM
els said...
Mary your new blouse fits you perfect, maybe the sleeves could be a tiny bit shorter. Looking forward to see the results of your plan to use the silk doupioni.
5/27/05 10:40 AM
Irene Q said...
Oh, I'm so glad you reviewed this - it looks great! This is going right up in my "need to make this" list. Hope it sews up as well as yours!
5/27/05 11:05 AM
Frogstitcher said...
Mary, you did get a fantastic fit on this top. The neckline and princess seams are quite flattering on you.
5/27/05 11:07 AM
Peggy L said...
Mary - this looks great - not dowdy!!! The sleeves could be a tiny bit shorter but not much. You want them to end below the bust line so they are slimming and don't widen you. Hope that makes sense. This should go in your TNT patterns.
5/27/05 11:08 AM
Gigi Louis said...
I think the style is really cute on you! I agree it would look completely different in another fabric but I'm sure you'll be making this up quite a few more times.
5/27/05 11:15 AM
drsue said...
I think it looks pretty nice. I do think the sleeves should be a bit shorter as well as the angle of the hemline altered a bit so it appears more horizontal with the floor. It's interesting that you needed so few alterations. I made this up and had to massively alter the princess lines to match my torso.
5/27/05 11:30 AM
PhyllisC said...
Great top and review Mary....this really has me wanting to finally make up my Athena blouse...I've only had the pattern for, like, 4 years now :0}
5/27/05 11:37 AM
Allisonsews said...
This is a very hip top on you -- and I don't mean *hips*! Your yogurt commercial hits home, too. During my last dress I named my seam ripper "Buddy".
5/27/05 11:42 AM
SouthernStitch said...
Yes, but Drsue, you are so much smaller than me, that it would be hard to compare our fitting. Also, I am wearing "harnass bras" these days which really push the girls up! It surprised me when the bust point met my own.
5/27/05 11:43 AM
Joan Cramer said...
Dowdy? No way! I think the fit above the waist is phenomenal. The fit below is good too, but if it were me, I might add a bit more at the hip to create the look of a smaller waist. Wonderful shirt.
5/27/05 11:44 AM
flowermama said...
Mary this blouse looks great! I don't see dowdy at all. Being fluffy in the middle myself, you have inspired me to put this pattern on my wishlist. It would look so classy in dupioni!
5/27/05 12:27 PM
Nickle said...
I agree, I really think it looks very nice on you.
5/27/05 1:07 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
That looks great on you! Love the idea of double buttons and contrast topstitching. That would be very designer RTW. -Ann
5/27/05 1:57 PM
BjP said...
This looks like a pattern I should try! Love the double buttons and the fit is very flattering on you!
5/27/05 9:32 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Mary, great fit! I don't think that the blouse looks dowdy overall, but I do agree the sleeves are too long and would look more youthful if they were shorter. Personally, I don't like how Burda plus always has those long sleeves. It must've felt just great to sew this up without major alterations. What a rare treat!
5/28/05 2:20 AM
PixieCat said...
Mary, your blouse is beautiful and looks great. Not dowdy at all!
5/28/05 4:03 AM
MaryBeth said...
If you add some height (.5" or so) to the sleeve cap and/or lower the armscye a half inch or less you might be able to get a sleeve that will hang closer to your arm. This is how PMB drafts a sleeve without further changes so we learned to fix them fast! I like elbow length. On this blouse why not pin out an inch or less at the sleeve hem, tapering up and see what you think? I really like the double buttons and the princess lines and the neckline and how easy and cool the blouse looks on you. You look ready!
5/28/05 7:23 AM
AnneM said...
That does seem like it's a fantastic fit. It's a keeper! It should look stunning in the dupioni.
5/28/05 12:39 PM
diane s said...
Nice fit, looks cute with jeans...I have this pattern, I think I'll try and find it!
5/29/05 1:25 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Cake patterns 2222
photo
Review by Fox51 on 3/24/14
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Ikina Jacket & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Ikina Jacket & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Purse-Nickities
Purse-Nickities

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SBCC Patterns Mimosa Blouse Digital Pattern ( XL-3XL)
SBCC Patterns Mimosa Blouse Digital Pattern ( XL-3XL)

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Pleat Front Sleeveless Dress Digital Pattern
Salme Pleat Front Sleeveless Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 11-2012-151 Girl's dress
photo
Review by KAHooke on 2/28/13
Read Review

Butterick 4946 Pattern ( Size L-XL )
Butterick 4946 Pattern ( Size L-XL )

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7753 Pattern
Burda 7753 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us