SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> LaFred> 107 (Europa Blouse)

3 more reviews
Viewed 1467 times 
Reviewed by:SouthernStitch
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About SouthernStitchstarstarstar
LA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 123
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 35 people
patterns reviewed: 80
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/27/05 10:33 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
bunz said...
I don't think it looks dowdy at all -- quite the contrary :-) You shouldn't have revealed how it fit so great out of the envelope (just kidding), because when I saw the photo, I thought "she did a great job of fitting the pattern!"
5/27/05 10:37 AM
els said...
Mary your new blouse fits you perfect, maybe the sleeves could be a tiny bit shorter. Looking forward to see the results of your plan to use the silk doupioni.
5/27/05 10:40 AM
Irene Q said...
Oh, I'm so glad you reviewed this - it looks great! This is going right up in my "need to make this" list. Hope it sews up as well as yours!
5/27/05 11:05 AM
Frogstitcher said...
Mary, you did get a fantastic fit on this top. The neckline and princess seams are quite flattering on you.
5/27/05 11:07 AM
Peggy L said...
Mary - this looks great - not dowdy!!! The sleeves could be a tiny bit shorter but not much. You want them to end below the bust line so they are slimming and don't widen you. Hope that makes sense. This should go in your TNT patterns.
5/27/05 11:08 AM
Gigi Louis said...
I think the style is really cute on you! I agree it would look completely different in another fabric but I'm sure you'll be making this up quite a few more times.
5/27/05 11:15 AM
drsue said...
I think it looks pretty nice. I do think the sleeves should be a bit shorter as well as the angle of the hemline altered a bit so it appears more horizontal with the floor. It's interesting that you needed so few alterations. I made this up and had to massively alter the princess lines to match my torso.
5/27/05 11:30 AM
PhyllisC said...
Great top and review Mary....this really has me wanting to finally make up my Athena blouse...I've only had the pattern for, like, 4 years now :0}
5/27/05 11:37 AM
Allisonsews said...
This is a very hip top on you -- and I don't mean *hips*! Your yogurt commercial hits home, too. During my last dress I named my seam ripper "Buddy".
5/27/05 11:42 AM
SouthernStitch said...
Yes, but Drsue, you are so much smaller than me, that it would be hard to compare our fitting. Also, I am wearing "harnass bras" these days which really push the girls up! It surprised me when the bust point met my own.
5/27/05 11:43 AM
Joan Cramer said...
Dowdy? No way! I think the fit above the waist is phenomenal. The fit below is good too, but if it were me, I might add a bit more at the hip to create the look of a smaller waist. Wonderful shirt.
5/27/05 11:44 AM
flowermama said...
Mary this blouse looks great! I don't see dowdy at all. Being fluffy in the middle myself, you have inspired me to put this pattern on my wishlist. It would look so classy in dupioni!
5/27/05 12:27 PM
Nickle said...
I agree, I really think it looks very nice on you.
5/27/05 1:07 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
That looks great on you! Love the idea of double buttons and contrast topstitching. That would be very designer RTW. -Ann
5/27/05 1:57 PM
BjP said...
This looks like a pattern I should try! Love the double buttons and the fit is very flattering on you!
5/27/05 9:32 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Mary, great fit! I don't think that the blouse looks dowdy overall, but I do agree the sleeves are too long and would look more youthful if they were shorter. Personally, I don't like how Burda plus always has those long sleeves. It must've felt just great to sew this up without major alterations. What a rare treat!
5/28/05 2:20 AM
PixieCat said...
Mary, your blouse is beautiful and looks great. Not dowdy at all!
5/28/05 4:03 AM
MaryBeth said...
If you add some height (.5" or so) to the sleeve cap and/or lower the armscye a half inch or less you might be able to get a sleeve that will hang closer to your arm. This is how PMB drafts a sleeve without further changes so we learned to fix them fast! I like elbow length. On this blouse why not pin out an inch or less at the sleeve hem, tapering up and see what you think? I really like the double buttons and the princess lines and the neckline and how easy and cool the blouse looks on you. You look ready!
5/28/05 7:23 AM
AnneM said...
That does seem like it's a fantastic fit. It's a keeper! It should look stunning in the dupioni.
5/28/05 12:39 PM
diane s said...
Nice fit, looks cute with jeans...I have this pattern, I think I'll try and find it!
5/29/05 1:25 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

New Look 6123

photo
by: mnitts

Review
Simplicity 5514

photo
by: sewnotwork

Review
Sew Liberated Myla Tank Pattern

Sew Liberated Myla Tank Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern

Buy Now