SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Silhouette Patterns> 900 (Carol's Jacket/Top)

5 more reviews
Viewed 1511 times 
Reviewed by:Peggy L
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Peggy Lstarstarstar
TN USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 109
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 43 people
patterns reviewed: 79
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/27/05 3:45 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
xela said...
Clever use of all those embroidery stitches. Beautiful, fun jacket. It definitely does NOT look loving-hands-at-home made or hokey. The lining too is fun, like wearing fancy underwear-makes you smile all day long. Thank you for your review
5/28/05 1:15 PM
Tini said...
looks gorgeous not homemade.
5/28/05 1:07 PM
AnneM said...
My constructive criticism is to construct more just like that. Great decorative stitching; really makes it stand out. I prefer functional buttons, though.
5/28/05 12:23 PM
PixieCat said...
I love it! The decorative stitching is beautiful!
5/28/05 4:06 AM
flowermama said...
Absolutely beautiful use of decorative stitches!
5/28/05 3:04 AM
PegL said...
Your jacket is gorgeous! Looks like a designer original! Gotta love those wonderful 7570 stitches! ;>)
5/27/05 10:29 PM
Karen Easter said...
My husband just walked by while I had your jacket up on the screen, and he stopped and exclaimed "Wow! That's beautiful!"
5/27/05 10:11 PM
BjP said...
I think it looks wonderful and I'm impressed with your decorative stitches.
5/27/05 9:25 PM
PVA said...
Love your jacket! It has lots of what I would call designer touches! I usually don't use the term RTW -- most of the clothing manufacturers don't really perform up to the standards we seem to hold for ourselves. I like to compare something like this jacket to custom one-of-a-kind garments you'd find in a boutique. Your jacket can hold it's own anywhere! (I like the stripe fabric on the inside! A wonderful touch of whimsey!)
5/27/05 9:24 PM
Peggy L said...
Thanks guys! I am of the opinion just because I can do something doesn't necessarily mean I should! DJM - the pattern does have buttons/buttonholes but I changed that part. Mudcat - you are almost finished! The collar, cuffs, & band were easy to do just not the way I am used to doing things. Peggy Sagers uses a lot of these type of techniques. I took a class from her once - it was great. She is very personable.
5/27/05 8:30 PM
mudcat said...
I think it looks fine but I understand your concern. Your review has reminded me that I'm about 2/3s of the way through a jacket using this pattern. I have to admit I don't like the way she adds the cuffs, bottom band or collar which is why I haven't finished mine yet. But, I think I will now. :)
5/27/05 6:25 PM
PattiK said...
Beautiful.
5/27/05 6:23 PM
DJM said...
Your jacket looks wonderful. I like your decorative stitching in all those complementary color to blue denim. The buttons are interesting, decorative; they catch the light and provide textural contrast. I prefer functional buttons, but that would require something of a design change. Decorative buttonholes would be one possibility. Overall, a great-looking jacket. DJM
5/27/05 6:10 PM
DJM said...
Your jacket looks wonderful. I like your decorative stitching in all those complementary colors for blue denim. The buttons are interesting and decorative; they catch the light and provide textural contrast. I prefer functional buttons, but that would require something of a design change. Decorative buttonholes would be one possibility. Overall, a great-looking jacket. DJM
5/27/05 6:06 PM
MaryBeth said...
Not hokey, home-made! and here's another phrase I love that's it's not: becky home-ec-y (hehehehe) I love the colors and think it looks RTW and expensive. Congratulations!
5/27/05 6:01 PM
CarolynGM said...
Great job of making this pattern uniquely your own. I like the decorative stitching and the way you did the buttons.
5/27/05 5:25 PM
Modiste Madness said...
Doesn't look hokey, home-made, or tackey.It looks like a well made custom garment.
5/27/05 4:12 PM
Princess Jenny said...
Very, very nice. I love all the decorative stitching. :)
5/27/05 4:09 PM
jlg said...
I think that your jacket looks great. I like all of your added details.
5/27/05 3:56 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

New Look 6924

photo
by: junethstar

Review
Simplicity 5189

photo
by: spasibason...

Review
Wonder Wallet

Wonder Wallet

Buy Now
Claire Handbag

Claire Handbag

Buy Now