SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Silhouette Patterns> 900 (Carol's Jacket/Top)

5 more reviews
Viewed 1511 times 
Reviewed by:Peggy L
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Peggy Lstarstarstar
TN USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 109
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 43 people
patterns reviewed: 79
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/27/05 3:45 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
xela said...
Clever use of all those embroidery stitches. Beautiful, fun jacket. It definitely does NOT look loving-hands-at-home made or hokey. The lining too is fun, like wearing fancy underwear-makes you smile all day long. Thank you for your review
5/28/05 1:15 PM
Tini said...
looks gorgeous not homemade.
5/28/05 1:07 PM
AnneM said...
My constructive criticism is to construct more just like that. Great decorative stitching; really makes it stand out. I prefer functional buttons, though.
5/28/05 12:23 PM
PixieCat said...
I love it! The decorative stitching is beautiful!
5/28/05 4:06 AM
flowermama said...
Absolutely beautiful use of decorative stitches!
5/28/05 3:04 AM
PegL said...
Your jacket is gorgeous! Looks like a designer original! Gotta love those wonderful 7570 stitches! ;>)
5/27/05 10:29 PM
Karen Easter said...
My husband just walked by while I had your jacket up on the screen, and he stopped and exclaimed "Wow! That's beautiful!"
5/27/05 10:11 PM
BjP said...
I think it looks wonderful and I'm impressed with your decorative stitches.
5/27/05 9:25 PM
PVA said...
Love your jacket! It has lots of what I would call designer touches! I usually don't use the term RTW -- most of the clothing manufacturers don't really perform up to the standards we seem to hold for ourselves. I like to compare something like this jacket to custom one-of-a-kind garments you'd find in a boutique. Your jacket can hold it's own anywhere! (I like the stripe fabric on the inside! A wonderful touch of whimsey!)
5/27/05 9:24 PM
Peggy L said...
Thanks guys! I am of the opinion just because I can do something doesn't necessarily mean I should! DJM - the pattern does have buttons/buttonholes but I changed that part. Mudcat - you are almost finished! The collar, cuffs, & band were easy to do just not the way I am used to doing things. Peggy Sagers uses a lot of these type of techniques. I took a class from her once - it was great. She is very personable.
5/27/05 8:30 PM
mudcat said...
I think it looks fine but I understand your concern. Your review has reminded me that I'm about 2/3s of the way through a jacket using this pattern. I have to admit I don't like the way she adds the cuffs, bottom band or collar which is why I haven't finished mine yet. But, I think I will now. :)
5/27/05 6:25 PM
PattiK said...
Beautiful.
5/27/05 6:23 PM
DJM said...
Your jacket looks wonderful. I like your decorative stitching in all those complementary color to blue denim. The buttons are interesting, decorative; they catch the light and provide textural contrast. I prefer functional buttons, but that would require something of a design change. Decorative buttonholes would be one possibility. Overall, a great-looking jacket. DJM
5/27/05 6:10 PM
DJM said...
Your jacket looks wonderful. I like your decorative stitching in all those complementary colors for blue denim. The buttons are interesting and decorative; they catch the light and provide textural contrast. I prefer functional buttons, but that would require something of a design change. Decorative buttonholes would be one possibility. Overall, a great-looking jacket. DJM
5/27/05 6:06 PM
MaryBeth said...
Not hokey, home-made! and here's another phrase I love that's it's not: becky home-ec-y (hehehehe) I love the colors and think it looks RTW and expensive. Congratulations!
5/27/05 6:01 PM
CarolynGM said...
Great job of making this pattern uniquely your own. I like the decorative stitching and the way you did the buttons.
5/27/05 5:25 PM
Modiste Madness said...
Doesn't look hokey, home-made, or tackey.It looks like a well made custom garment.
5/27/05 4:12 PM
Princess Jenny said...
Very, very nice. I love all the decorative stitching. :)
5/27/05 4:09 PM
jlg said...
I think that your jacket looks great. I like all of your added details.
5/27/05 3:56 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
More Knits
More Knits

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Self Drafted Pattern 225240-1001

photo
by: Char in KS

Review
Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern

More Info
Jamie Christina Lark Paper Pattern

Jamie Christina Lark Paper Pattern

More Info
Other 000000

photo
by: rivergum

Review