Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 3267 (Men's Pants) thumbsup - Type:Mens - Pants    printable version
Viewed 107 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:piet
photo
About piet
CA USA
Member since: 5/6/12
Reviews written: 4
Sewing skills:Beginner
patterns reviewed: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/11/14 8:17 PM
Last Updated:1/11/14 8:18 PM
Project Photo:Kwik Sew: 3267 by piet

Kwik Sew: 3267 by piet  Kwik Sew: 3267 by piet  
Pattern Photo:Kwik Sew 3267
Kwik Sew Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
See other patterns in this category: Mens - Pants    
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Twill Drill  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
I am unsatisfied with the state of trousers available to me. Having been a stay-at-home mom when my kids were infants, I determined that cargo pockets were indispensable. It is easy find good cargo pants-- I prefer so-called BDU's, cut the same as the military wore from 1980 to about 2005. There are lots of colors of these available, but all muted tones from navy blue to khaki. Teaching very small children, it is important to project a cheerful aspect and not be a large, dark figure. I resolved to make my own trousers.
This pattern has given me all I ever need to make "slacks", plain trousers. There are, however, a number of changes I needed to make before I sewed cargo pockets on.
The pattern is good in all respects except one-- they are narrow at the hips. Moving around normally [drop-kicking soccer balls, climbing up on desks, sitting cross-legged, hauling a bicycle up the stairs to the light rail], one feels a slight restriction across where the hip bones are. Here's what I did: I bought a second copy of the pattern, cut up some BDU's, and recut the crotch of the Kwik Sew pattern in the same dimensions as the BDU's. I need to learn to do this better: now I have one inseam longer than the other when i sew the front to the back, but it does not cause problems.
I changed 2 other things on the body of the pants. For one, I deleted the pleat at the rear above the hip pockets. Also, I added the width of the waist-band to the body of the pants. That way I could fit the waist to the wearer before sewing everything together with the waistband. Little stuff.
Now, to the reason for the whole exercise: cargo pockets. Maybe I will write up how to do this, but it;s kind of obvious. Everything is rectangular. Personally, I prefer to have only one pleat at the rear of the pocket so it doesn;t tangle on students's chairs. I also like to sew the flap so the buttons are covered, but this is all just window dressing.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
4 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Fully Busted said...
Nice pants. I recently sewed kwik-sew pants for DH (a different pattern, 3663) and they too are tight through the hips though perfect everywhere else. Something to keep in mind.
1/11/14 9:39 PM
Laurasews said...
It is so great to get a guy's perspective on these patterns. I have three boys, not including my husband. Very helpful information
1/12/14 0:45 AM
2 Airedales n Me said...
Well done and well thought out. You will project a fun image making your own pants in not-so-practical fabrics! You sound like a fun guy!
1/12/14 4:49 AM
sacjeanie said...
Fantastic thought to merge two patterns to get what you need. There is no hip restriction on those pants. :-)
1/12/14 2:14 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Self Drafted Pattern 188474-1000
photo
Review by starryfish on 9/16/11
Read Review

McCalls 4478 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
McCalls 4478 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6652 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
McCalls 6652 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2791
photo
Review by zoezmommy on 5/14/09
Read Review

Sis Boom Rosetta Bag Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Rosetta Bag Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Shana Tunic Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Shana Tunic Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern
Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Little Hip Skirts Pattern
Favorite Things Little Hip Skirts Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us