Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8765 (MIsses Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 621 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
Reviewed by:3kids1036
photo
About 3kids1036starstarstarstar
AL USA
Member since: 10/10/06
Reviews written: 241
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 193 people
patterns reviewed: 241
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/13/14 8:09 AM
Project Photo:Vogue Patterns: 8765 by 3kids1036

Pattern Photo:Vogue Patterns 8765
Vogue Patterns Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Cotton Sateen  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description: Lined dress has close-fitting bodice and back zipper. A: semi-fitted skirt and back hemline slit. B: narrow hem. Custom fit for A,B,C,D cup sizes.

Pattern Sizing: 8-16


Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?

YES!
Were the instructions easy to follow? These instructions are great until you get to the neckline and sleeves. I only read over them for the review. IMO it was confusing. I don't do mine the way they suggest so maybe that's why it was confusing. I have my own method lol.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I loved the modern/vintage look of this dress.


Fabric Used: Stretch cotton sateen


Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I shortened the dress about 8 inches. This dress has an extension piece. Once I added it on I shortened it 8 inches. I didn't like the original length of this dress. It hit me in a weird place.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I WILL make this again. I have a dress on my pinterest board that I want to make and this pattern is an exact dupe lol. I HIGHLY recommend this if you can find it. It's OOP.

Conclusion: Great pattern, love that is has cup sizes. Goes together great and I had a BALL wearing it!

You can see additional pictures on my blog.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
31 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jlg said...
This is so pretty on you!
1/13/14 8:29 AM
MrsCharisma said...
I like this a lot. Really love the fabric!!
1/13/14 8:48 AM
Ilonka said...
Very nice!
1/13/14 8:49 AM
Levone said...
This is gorgeous, I love it. The length you went with is definitely flattering. Sad to hear that it is OOP.
1/13/14 8:50 AM
Vonnevo said...
Beautiful !!!
1/13/14 9:25 AM
Vonnevo said...
Beautiful !!!
1/13/14 9:25 AM
Barbara V said...
So beautiful and flattering. You look gorgeous in it and your shoes are fabulous too!
1/13/14 10:07 AM
Joan Morley said...
Everything you make is fab!
1/13/14 10:12 AM
sewin said...
So cute on you. Greta job!
1/13/14 10:47 AM
Cher Hermanson said...
Your photo shows your flair and style and by far so much better than the pattern. Vogue should have used you to model the dress and would definitely have sold more patterns. I'm barely and intermediate level, and wonder if this pattern would be too hard for me.
1/13/14 11:52 AM
CallMeSu said...
I love it!!
1/13/14 12:40 PM
slmstyle said...
Pretty dress! It is so feminine and classy and it looks great on you!
1/13/14 1:21 PM
Sheeney said...
Looks great on you!
1/13/14 1:28 PM
Enid E said...
What a flattering dress and SHOES! The length is perfect and the fabric was meant for this dress...you look lovely in it.
1/13/14 2:49 PM
regal80 said...
you always look so nice in all the stuff you make :) great job...have you ever in your life made a stinker?
1/13/14 3:32 PM
sew2little said...
You look stunning in this beautiful dress! I love the full-skirted version!
1/13/14 5:19 PM
Couturemum said...
Great fabric choice. The dress looks gorgeous on you
1/13/14 7:20 PM
Baja Susana said...
Lovely, stylish dress you look wonderful.
1/13/14 10:22 PM
JuliN said...
The dress looks perfect on you. Love the print.
1/14/14 0:29 AM
Scheri said...
You look beautiful in your dress
1/14/14 1:25 AM
Adventurer said...
Once again you have completely outdone Vogue's illustration department! Another pattern I never looked at, now flabbergasted with your outcome. Yes, I agree, modern AND retro.
1/14/14 1:42 AM
Danmar said...
Another great wardrobe piece! I always enjoy your reviews and blog. You are so upbeat! :)
1/14/14 7:18 AM
Karine said...
Your dress is beautiful! So much nicer than the pattern illustrations would suggest. Looks great on you!
1/14/14 7:57 AM
Jane Wineteer said...
The pattern looks perfect for you, and it turned out beautifully!
1/14/14 9:16 AM
CypGrl said...
I want your closet! Another gorgeous garment and my goodness --review # 234!!!
1/14/14 10:43 AM
Linda S said...
Very chic!
1/14/14 1:05 PM
Sue Parrott said...
Wow, beautiful dress! You look gorgeous!
1/14/14 7:13 PM
3kids1036 said...
Thank you everyone! @Cher Hermanson I think you can do it. It's really not hard at all. @regal80 YES MAAM lol. I do a yearly sewing review on my blog and they are posted there lol.
1/15/14 10:02 AM
Laury S said...
That style suits you perfectly!
1/16/14 3:11 PM
calypso said...
This looks fabulous on you. Great accessories to!
1/16/14 7:13 PM
calypso said...
This looks fabulous on you. Great accessories to!
1/16/14 7:13 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Vogue Patterns 8323
photo
Review by jmosew on 3/1/14
Read Review

Butterick 3345 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16 )
Butterick 3345 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7033 Pattern
Burda 7033 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Marfy 1050
photo
Review by Debra H on 1/6/07
Read Review

Oliver + S Music Class Blouse + Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver + S Music Class Blouse + Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Lazy Days Romper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -24 mo )
Peek-A Boo Lazy Days Romper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -24 mo )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Three Pattern Collection Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Three Pattern Collection Pattern

Details
Price: $45.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $40.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us