Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8961 (Misses' Tunic, Dress and Pants) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 245 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:slmstyle
photo
Friend of PR
About slmstylestarstarstar
OR USA
Member since: 9/17/08
Reviews written: 121
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 49 people
patterns reviewed: 118
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/16/14 11:55 AM
Project Photo:Vogue Patterns: 8961 by slmstyle

Vogue Patterns: 8961 by slmstyle  Vogue Patterns: 8961 by slmstyle  
Pattern Photo:Vogue Patterns 8961
Vogue Patterns Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Mediocre Pattern
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Silk Charmeuse  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description: Very Easy Vogue tunic, dress and pant pattern. Pullover blouson dress and tunic have elastic waist and narrow hem. I made the blouson dress view B.

Pattern Sizing: 8-10-12-14-16. I made the 14 according to the pattern measurements comparing to my measurements and it came out HUGE!

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? It looks much more form fitting and flattering on the illustration on pattern envelope.

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes, they are very easy to follow. It only took a few hours to make this simple style.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I like the idea of an easy, pull on blouson dress, but I dislike how enormous and unflattering it turned out. Everywhere is huge, including the large and wide neckline.

Fabric Used: A beautiful silk charmeuse that I am dissapointed that I used and didn't make a muslin first. I hope that I can salvage this dress or use the fabric in some other way as I feel that I wasted my nice silk! Stupid Me!

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I didn't do the rouching in the sleeve, and I made french seams for the side and sleeve seams.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? Nope, I will not be sewing this again and I don't recommend it, unless you are looking to make a big old blob dress.

I might go back and try to take it in or something as I really like the idea of this style. But for now, I will not be wearing this sack dress in public. Sorry.

Conclusion: Not happy about this pattern. Maybe others will have better luck with it. I would recommend making a muslin first to check for fit and if you want to bother with sewing it. Maybe the tunic and pant have a better fit, but the dress just did NOT work for me. Boo!

Buy this pattern for $25.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Nenewhis said...
I am sorry this didn't work out for you. Believe me, I have been there! So disappointing after the time you put into it, perhaps you can refashion it into something else. Put it away, have a nice cocktail and don't think about it for a day or 2.
1/16/14 12:13 PM
CissieW said...
So sorry that you weren't happy -- especially after using such special fabric. But I'll bet you can use this and end up with a winner, which you almost always do!
1/16/14 1:02 PM
Sew Good said...
If there is no way of taking in the side seams to make it smaller, why not wear it as a nightgown? I love the feel of silk. Luxury while sleeping. I know it was expensive fabric and re-purposing is one option, but wearing as a nightgown may also make you happy
1/16/14 3:25 PM
SewWil said...
Don't beat yourself up. We're all been there. I'm sure you will find a way to salvage this dress/fabric. Thanks for the review.
1/16/14 8:29 PM
VivianZ said...
I am sorry it didn't fit, but I bet if you took the time to take the waist out, you could alter it easily. Just unstitch the waist elastic area on each side and take the dress in, then take the waist casing in take up the elastic and reattach the casing.
1/17/14 7:51 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $29.00)
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Fashion Sewing Group 1945 Jacket
photo
Review by marthamyer... on 4/17/10
Read Review

PerfectFuse Medium White
PerfectFuse Medium White

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Prairie Girl Pattern
Favorite Things Prairie Girl Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Shana Tunic Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Shana Tunic Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simple Things The Flight Cap Digital Pattern (004)
Simple Things The Flight Cap Digital Pattern (004)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2922 Project Runway
photo
Review by Meggie LuL... on 5/28/08
Read Review

Vogue 1403 Pattern ( Size )
Vogue 1403 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1773 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 1773 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us