Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 6834 (Misses'/Miss Petite Dresses) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 388 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:Riversmocker
photo
Friend of PR
About Riversmocker
SC USA
Member since: 8/25/13
Reviews written: 11
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 11
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/17/14 4:30 PM
Pattern Size:Regular Petite 
Project Photo:McCall's: 6834 by Riversmocker

McCall's: 6834 by Riversmocker  McCall's: 6834 by Riversmocker  
Pattern Photo:McCall's 6834
McCall's Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Great Wardrobe Builder
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $15.96 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Polyester Brocade  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description:
Semi-fitted, flared, pleated dresses have underlays and invisible back zipper. A: Bias neck and armhole binding. B: Self-lined sleeves.
I did B.

Pattern Sizing:
6-8-10-12-14
I made the 8 for my daughter who measures, 33.5-27.5-37 (which the pattern envelope says should be a size 12). I used 5/8" seams on the red(muslin) and it fit like a charm, although I must say she wanted it to be very close-fitted.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes, even the length, which I did the 1 1/2" the pattern allowed and my daughter is 5'6"

Were the instructions easy to follow?
Yes

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
Lots of pieces, lots of seams, you certainly get your moneys worth of stitching out of this one. The underlay pleats are very forgiving of not perfect seaming, always something I like in a pattern

Fabric Used:
My daughter fell in love with the black/silver brocade jacquard at JoAnn's, so I figured I'd make a practice dress from the poly/Georgette that was on sale, I underlined it with a cotton batiste for body.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
Not a thing, it fit right out of the envelope. Although the bust seems to be a little high, maybe I would lower it if I made this again, for now she is just going to have to tighten those bra straps.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Maybe, one for me at some point in time. It's a pretty flattering style.

Conclusion:
Lots of pieces, lots of cutting, lots of seaming, pretty cute dress.
Buy this pattern for $15.96  List Price: $19.95   Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MrsCharisma said...
I love this. LOVE. It is a gorgeous dress!!
1/17/14 4:40 PM
aquamarineerica said...
Very beautiful!
1/17/14 4:49 PM
Sew Good said...
I think this is a beautiful dress! Your daughter has almost the same measurements as I do (except in height) so I know what size to do :) Thank you for the review!
1/17/14 6:58 PM
Adaire said...
So pretty! And a perfect fit! Amazing that the pattern sizing was so far off. Do you suppose they will ever listen to us?
1/17/14 7:04 PM
SewWil said...
Very pretty dress!
1/17/14 8:25 PM
KathB said...
Adorable! I love your daughter's fabric choice.
1/17/14 10:08 PM
cmcarr said...
Beautiful.
1/18/14 0:40 AM
tigergirl said...
this looks fantastic ........... on to the wishlist it goes
1/18/14 0:55 AM
Danvillegirl said...
This is a gorgeous dress!
1/18/14 9:41 AM
threaddy said...
Lovely!!!
1/18/14 11:24 AM
SewLibra said...
Very pretty and great fit on your DD!
1/18/14 4:32 PM
Sandi S said...
Looks great - I just reviewed this one as well, and it does run big.
1/18/14 5:18 PM
sewtime said...
Very pretty!!
1/18/14 8:03 PM
MamaSewing said...
So pretty, I love this pattern and the fabric makes it beautiful!
1/20/14 9:16 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

No Pattern Used 0000
photo
Review by cindy-lou on 8/2/07
Read Review

Victory Simone Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Victory Simone Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Super Skinny Pants Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Super Skinny Pants Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 1084 MISSES' DRESS
photo
Review by Violet Els... on 4/15/10
Read Review

You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern
You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Tahoe Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Tahoe Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6916 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )
McCalls 6916 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2396 Pattern( Size ONE )
Simplicity 2396 Pattern( Size ONE )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us