Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 6844 (Misses'/Miss Petite Cardigans) thumbsup - Type:Suits / Separates    printable version
Viewed 537 times 55 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:KathB
photo
About KathBstar
CA USA
Member since: 9/5/08
Reviews written: 13
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 13
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2013
Posted on:1/17/14 9:02 PM
Last Updated:1/17/14 10:04 PM
Project Photo:McCall's: 6844 by KathB

McCall's: 6844 by KathB  McCall's: 6844 by KathB  
Pattern Photo:McCall's 6844
McCall's Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Great Wardrobe Builder
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $15.16 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Merino Knit  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description:
Close-fitting cardigans (do not meet at CF), have a collar extending into front band and narrow hem. A, C: Shaped hemline, wrong side shows
Pattern Sizing:
XS to XXL
Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes, with the exceptions described below
Were the instructions easy to follow?
Didn't look at them. Many other reviewers have commented, so I won't rehash, but I did not interface, sewed sleeve in flat.
What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
Love the elegant style, easy construction. I'm not crazy about hemming a the peplum, basically a circle skirt shape. Both versions I made were stable double knits, so I left the bottom cut edge raw. I love the way it drapes without a hem.
Fabric Used:
Really yummy merino wool double knit.
Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I'm not crazy about hemming a peplum, basically a circle skirt shape. Both versions I made were stable double knits, so I left the bottom cut edge raw. I love the way it drapes without a hem.
Following another reviewer, I added 3 inches to the peplum of View C. I like the angled peplum, and now the back fully covers.... The back gapped a bit on me, so I topstitched the waist seam, then ran elastic through to draw it in. I also lengthened the sleeves a couple of inches. For reference, I'm 5'8". I sewed a medium, made a SBA and a broad shoulder adjustment. Like others, the fronts overlap on me.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I will absolutely sew it again. I see this pattern as a cardigan TNT

Conclusion: I only reviewed this pattern after so many already glowing reviews in order to show the elastic back treatment.
Buy this pattern for $15.16  List Price: $18.95   Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
RoseE said...
Lovely!
1/17/14 9:36 PM
MrsCharisma said...
Beautiful! It does drape quite amazingly!
1/17/14 10:42 PM
Elke said...
Lovely cardigan and looks great on you.
1/18/14 6:32 AM
RobinE said...
Beautiful! I love the addition of the back elastic-- it really works to give shape to it in a flattering way. Thanks for sharing!
1/18/14 9:39 AM
Adventurer said...
Beautiful fit, drape, color. I like how you made the back fit so well.
1/18/14 10:48 AM
CissieW said...
I like the elastic back treatment! Another great looking version of this popular patterns!
1/18/14 10:58 AM
threaddy said...
Another winner!! Thank you for your comments about fit adjustments and your wonderful addition to this pattern.
1/18/14 11:23 AM
KathB said...
Thanks everyone! I've noticed that many versions here are photographed with a belt... so maybe the slightly droopy back bothered others as well. Regardless, this pattern is a winner. In my mild climate, it counts as "outerwear":)
1/18/14 12:01 PM
WinterQueen said...
Love what you've done with the elasticated back :)x
1/18/14 5:47 PM
MinaLMcGrady said...
Ok , you've given me another reason to make this again. I'll be top stitching the waist seam and adding elastic.... Too cute!
1/18/14 6:31 PM
MamaSewing said...
Beautiful, the elastic is a great change to the basic pattern.
1/20/14 9:11 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Self Drafted Pattern 197770-1000
photo
Review by spiphany on 11/12/10
Read Review

Vogue 8895 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Vogue 8895 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7200 Pattern
Burda 7200 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick B4865
photo
Review by canei on 11/25/08
Read Review

A New York Mini
A New York Mini

Details
Price: $7.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Amaryllis Dress Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Amaryllis Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Trio T-Shirt, Top & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Trio T-Shirt, Top & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us