SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2255 

23 more reviews
Viewed 249 times 
Reviewed by:bsacosta
photo

 
 
About bsacosta
FL USA
Member since: 1/1/14
Reviews written: 2
Sewing skills:Advanced
patterns reviewed: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/19/14 3:21 PM
Last Updated:1/19/14 3:25 PM
Project Photo:Simplicity: 2255 by bsacosta

Simplicity: 2255 by bsacosta  
Pattern Photo:Simplicity 2255
Simplicity Pattern Info

More Info provided by bsacosta

Pattern Rating:Easy & Great for Beginners
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Cotton  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description: This is a very pretty summer top. It is easy and quickly to sew. It is also a very comfortable shirt to wear.

Pattern Sizing:I went up in pattern size, because this was the last one in the store. I thought I would have to customize it on my dress form but it turned out to fit nicely and a little bit loose.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?The pattern is true to the photo.

Were the instructions easy to follow? I have sewn two tops and will make a few more for this coming season. The instructions were easy to follow.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
It would have been nice if Simplicity would have given the customer more options on the collar.
Fabric Used:I used a very light weight cotton. The only problem was the fabric wrinkles very easily and it is not good for packing to travel.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I highly recommend it.
Conclusion:

Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MrsCharisma said...
Don't you just love how versatile this pattern is?! Great tops! Love them both!!
1/19/14 4:52 PM
regal80 said...
wow that looks great on you!
1/19/14 5:39 PM
Heatherrique said...
Such stylish and pretty tops! I like yours over the ones on the pattern envelope.
1/19/14 7:48 PM
SewLibra said...
Love both tops and the fabrics and trims you chose.
1/20/14 0:32 AM
Scheri said...
Great tops. Thank you for your review. I have added it to my wishlist.
1/20/14 1:03 AM
sewingcanary said...
Iíve been waiting for someone to review this. Thanks. I came close to buying this several times. A sale pushed me over. I was a bit skeptical about the sleeve crowns based on the pattern photo but it looks like yours went in smoothly. It also gives me a better idea of the short sleeve length. Thanks again.
1/20/14 4:43 AM
runmyworld said...
It's just beautiful! I love the fabric you chose. It looks great on you.
1/20/14 11:05 AM
threaddy said...
Both of your versions are just lovely and SO very becoming! I think Simplicity should add your real finished product to the photos of the pattern. Well done.
1/20/14 12:32 PM
SewWil said...
Both tops are very pretty!
1/20/14 1:17 PM
Barbara V said...
Both tops are so pretty and look great on you. Welcome to Pattern Review! Hope to see many more lovely creations from you!
1/20/14 10:12 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2008-103

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Sew Liberated Aida Top Pattern

Sew Liberated Aida Top Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket

Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket

Buy Now