Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 2603 (Misses Knit Top and Cardi-Wrap) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 229 times 111 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:Renren
photo
About Renrenstarstarstarstar
Member since: 7/20/05
Reviews written: 228
Favored by: 37 people
patterns reviewed: 219
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2009
Posted on:1/21/14 10:21 PM
Project Photo:Simplicity: 2603 by Renren

Pattern Photo:Simplicity 2603
Simplicity Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Supplex ®  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
  Cardi Sew Along
Photographs

gallery view (front)

back view


close up of neckband gathering


tacking down armhole band--Note: I removed the temporary tacking stitches.


side gathers at bustline



Pattern Description:

From pattern envelope:

Misses' Knit Top and Cardi-wrap with Front Variations

I sewed the knit top.


Pattern Sizing:

available in XXS to XL with misses' equivalents shown as 4-24

My envelope contains M,L and XL. I sewed an L at neckline and shoulders and underneath the armhole I gradually moved the cutting line out to an XL.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?

yes


Were the instructions easy to follow?

Yes. I did, however, use instructions for constructing and attaching the neckband as described at Gorgeous Fabrics Blog. It is titled "A Better Way to Attach a Collar Band." It was a very helpful tutorial and I think I probably achieved better results than I would have with the pattern instructions.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?

It goes together nicely and definitely is a step up from a regular tee.

There were no dislikes but I will say it took more time than I thought it would. I wouldn't call the steps fiddly, but you do have to take some care to get the armbands turned under evenly and to get the neckline gathers distributed equally to left and right from CF. (I had to redo this step.)

Fabric Used:

It is a red knit Supplex purchased from fabricmartfabrics.com about a year ago.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:

Okay, I have fewer gathers at the CF than the pattern is designed to have. This is because I was confused about how wide the neckline was and felt it would fall off my shoulders, so I slid the pattern to the right off of the fabric fold to remove about an inch from center front (neckline to hemline). My bad, as they say.

Also, I lengthened the front piece by 1 inch and then I distributed that extra inch starting 3/4 inch below the armhole over about a 3 inch length along the side seam line. This is a method I learned from Kwik Sew patterns which allows for a little more room at the bustline. I guess it's kind of a quickie FBA but really, it's more like getting more room without resorting to the use of a dart. I especially needed the extra room after my modification described in the above paragraph.

Also, when I turned in the armhole edge at the 5/8 inch stitch line, and then folded that in on itself, I hand stitched the turned in cloth because I could see there was going to be a tendency to roll with this knit. Like a slinky and a poly, it had a mind of its own and I wanted to make sure my final topstitching was straight so I had to convince the fabric to cooperate with me. This meant needle and thread. I did remove my hand stitching (of course) but I also removed the 5/8 inch machine stitch which was meant to be left in. It seemed a little like unfinished business leaving it in.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?

Yes and yes. I do think it might me a bit dressier than my normal tastes run so I doubt it will become a favorite but it's certainly nice for a change of pace.

Conclusion:

I'm impressed enough with this top that now I guess I need to attempt the cardi.

I do believe for a 2nd one of these knit tops I would be inclined to find some of the metal rivets that are everywhere on RTW and try my hand at attaching those.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
4 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Quickie said...
My attention was drawn merely by the beautiful red of this shirt. Your story about fitting was useful
1/22/14 0:10 AM
treefrog said...
Nice top Renren! The neckline looks great and I like the idea of the side gathers at the bustline. The rivets sound fun - you can also get hot-fix ones too
1/22/14 3:46 PM
katlew03 said...
Great looking top. Like the gathers.
1/24/14 9:24 PM
Margaret said...
Very nice! Great-looking neckband and gathers. This does look like a good design for adding embellishments onto.
2/4/14 12:29 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Simplicity 2596
photo
Review by mastdenman on 4/24/11
Read Review

Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern
You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Nicola Skirt, Blouse and Dress Digital Pattern
Victory Nicola Skirt, Blouse and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Flouce Top Digital Pattern
Salme Flouce Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Self Drafted Pattern Self Drafted Pattern
photo
Review by Summerlea on 2/22/10
Read Review

McCalls 6764 Pattern ( Size )
McCalls 6764 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 6947 Pattern
Burda 6947 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us