SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1341 (Misses Dress)

2 more reviews
Review submitted in 2014 Little White Dress Contest Contest
Viewed 600 times 
Reviewed by:sewingandalterations
photo

 
 
About sewingandalterationsstar
UT USA
Member since: 3/19/10
Reviews written: 9
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/4/14 1:53 AM
Last Updated:2/4/14 2:04 AM
Project Photo:Vogue Patterns: 1341 by sewingandalterations

Vogue Patterns: 1341 by sewingandalterations  Vogue Patterns: 1341 by sewingandalterations  
Pattern Photo:Vogue Patterns 1341
Vogue Patterns Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Recommend, with Modifications
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $32.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Pattern Description:
From pattern envelope: Close-fitting, lined dress has front and back cut in one with right sleeve, tucked left shoulder, pleated left skirt, pleated yoke back/sleeves, pleated left sleeve, shaped back inset, invisible left side back zipper, and no side seams.


Pattern Sizing: 6-22 I made a size 18

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes

Were the instructions easy to follow? More or less. The pattern is so out of the ordinary that I had to use the tissue as well as the pattern instructions for some of the steps.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I love that this pattern is so unique. I've never sewn anything quite like it, so that was a lot of fun. I did not like that the circles and notches on the back seam did not match up in my size. I didn't check other sizes. Because of the unusual construction it would have been helpful if they matched so I would have an idea of where to best end the zipper.

Fabric Used:Double knit. I'm unsure of fiber content. Probably polyester

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: Length added to hem.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? There's a excellent chance I will sew it again. I would recommend it to others if they're ready to try something different.

Conclusion: It's a strange pattern and fun to sew. Keep in mind that a muslin is pretty much a must for this pattern. There are no side seams and the pattern has NO indication of finished measurements and NO markings for altering the pattern other than the size grading lines. None. Another important thing to know is that the lining is important for how the dress falls. The front dart is sewn to the lining , which causes the fashion fabric to lay differently in front. It make a HUGE difference! The dress is distinctive and the knit makes it comfortable. I'm always pleased to find fun patterns suited to a rectangle body style. I really like this dress and the construction was just plain fun. My styling choices for the Little White Dress contest are explained on myblog.
Available for sale on PR: $32.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
2 Airedales n Me said...
What a gorgeous dress pattern! I'd love to see a photo of yours…..
1/26/14 3:15 AM
2 Airedales n Me said...
Oops - duplicate post
1/26/14 3:15 AM
aaltje said...
what a lovely dress!
2/4/14 4:03 AM
DaisyA said...
I love what you did for the neckline on your blog. The sparkley white addition works well. Now you have inspired me to revamp my midnight blue version.
2/4/14 4:04 AM
Couturemum said...
Wow! Stunning dress. I just ordered this pattern and can't wait to see it. Great job
2/4/14 6:24 AM
caper81 said...
Wow, this turned out great!:)
2/4/14 8:35 AM
Quickie said...
You transformedbyour white fabric with the aid of a challenging pattern to a stunning dress. Congrats
2/4/14 10:29 AM
atymonw said...
I really love your version of this dress! It was hard for me to visualize this pattern on a more rectangular shape but it looks great on you! I also love the insets.
2/4/14 12:44 PM
lovenicky said...
What an unusual dress! You did a great job!
2/4/14 2:38 PM
Jacqui315 said...
Very impressive! You wear it beautifully!
2/4/14 4:41 PM
annakeeton said...
The interchangeable panels are innovative! Lovely dress.
2/4/14 10:16 PM
makingtheflame said...
Fabulous!!!!!!!! Awesome job, and thanks for the thorough review!!!
2/4/14 10:38 PM
becca a said...
Lovely dress! How clever to fill in the bare shoulder--makes the dress so much more wearable.
2/5/14 8:59 AM
Berkie said...
Your dress looks much better on you than on the model. I think you look lovely in your dress.
2/5/14 10:40 AM
Sarah Liz said...
What a great drape on that dress. Very nicely done.
2/8/14 3:52 PM
madbadger said...
Very nice!
2/8/14 8:23 PM
fattyboomboom said...
Thanks for all your details about the pattern. Your dress is lovely and so versatile!
2/9/14 8:48 PM
chenille said...
It's just lovely and I like your version better!
2/10/14 8:28 AM
sacmabell said...
Thanks for the feedback about the lining and need done muslin. I like the dress.
2/13/14 10:21 AM
butterflyfly said...
Wow! What a unique dress! Well done - it's such a complex pattern, but you did a great job!
2/16/14 3:05 PM
petro said...
You really made this unusual pattern work, its a lovely dress.
2/18/14 4:55 AM
katecorrie said...
Now very inspired to make this dress myself!!
4/2/14 12:47 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

New Look 6071

photo
by: margy.64

Review
You Sew Girl Mod Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Mod Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Eureka Top & Skirt

Sewing Workshop Eureka Top & Skirt

Buy Now
New Look 6747

photo
by: Saint Nolt...

Review