SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 6760 (Misses' Dress and Jumpsuit)

5 more reviews
Viewed 177 times 
Reviewed by:aaltje
photo

 
 
About aaltjestar
NETHERLANDS
Member since: 8/22/11
Reviews written: 33
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 33
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/26/14 3:15 PM
Last Updated:1/26/14 3:18 PM
Project Photo:McCall's: 6760 by aaltje

McCall's: 6760 by aaltje  
Pattern Photo:McCall's 6760
McCall's Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Suits / Separates    
Available for sale on PR: $19.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Pattern Description:
Dress and Jumpsuit, this time I made the dress.
Pattern Sizing:
8-16
Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
It did.
Were the instructions easy to follow?
Yes they were. I did make this pattern again, the jumpsuit to be precise (reviewed here), so I knew what to expect.
What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I really love the tight fit around the waist and the wide waistband.
Fabric Used:
Polyester satin with a cotton lining (top) and a sort of mesh lining for the skirt. I think I only needed 2 meters for the dress, because of the much shorter skirt (it is a circular skirt, so that requires a lot of fabric).
Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
- I shortened the dress to knee length.
- I added piping to both sides of the waistband.
- My own suggestion in the previous review was to change the way the armholes are - I did follow that suggestion and stitched the overlapping parts together, to avoid them gaping.
Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I am not sure whether I will use the pattern a 3rd time. If I do, I might make it one size larger or do a small FBA, it is pretty tight now. Or use a stretchier fabric - that is a tempting idea, because I do love the pattern and highly recommend it.
Conclusion:
Great dress, easy to put together (well, if you choose a fabric that isn't too slippery...)
Available for sale on PR: $19.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Quickie said...
that is a nice style on you
1/26/14 3:52 PM
WinterQueen said...
Fabulous! Love the entire outfit. It looks great on you :)x
1/26/14 5:32 PM
sewingcanary said...
I just love seeing how much difference fabrics can make. You'd hardly know these are the same pattern. It sounds like you��ve learned from it :) If you've never tried FBAs, do. You'll be amazed what they can do. I never bothered until I bought a Simplicity Amazing fit pattern. It came with A, B, C, and D cup front pieces. I tissue fitted each of them. I was AMAZED. I am sold. IMO, it is worth the time to do them properly rather than to just add a bit extra across the bust and a smidge to the length like I used to do. Have fun in this bright little dress/jumper!
1/26/14 9:17 PM
Sew Good said...
Very nice! I keep looking at this pattern but haven't bought it because I have others that are similar...but you are tempting me again :) I really like the version you did. Love the waist!
1/27/14 0:25 AM
carolynw said...
Straight off the runway - fabulous!
1/27/14 12:14 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Sew Liberated Esme Top Pattern

Sew Liberated Esme Top Pattern

Buy Now
Jamie Christina Abbey Coat Pattern (JC314AC)

Jamie Christina Abbey Coat Pattern (JC314AC)

Buy Now
BurdaStyle Magazine 11-2009-133

photo
by: QuiltSewSe...

Review