SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 6698 (Misses'/Miss Petite Dress)

2 more reviews
Viewed 453 times 
Reviewed by:Laurasupernails
photo

 
 
About Laurasupernails
USA
Member since: 11/3/11
Reviews written: 12
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 12
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/26/14 3:25 PM
Last Updated:4/11/14 3:58 PM
Pattern Size:Petite 
Project Photo:McCall's: 6698 by Laurasupernails

McCall's: 6698 by Laurasupernails  
Pattern Photo:McCall's 6698
McCall's Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $19.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Rayon Challis  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
Misses'/miss petite dress has close-fitting, lined bodice, flounces, shaped hemline, very narrow hems, and back zipper.

Pattern Sizing:
sizes 4-12, I cut a size 10.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes, aside from my color and fabric choices.

Were the instructions easy to follow?
Yes. They were pretty straight forward.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I love the style of this dress. I really liked how in the instructions, there was different ideas like just making a top with one layer of ruffles, or making all three layers and using a sheer fabric for the bottom, which is what I did

Fabric Used:
I used a black rayon challis and a light blue chiffon for the bottom ruffle.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I made the bottom layer in a light blue and did a black rolled hem edge with my serger for an edgy look.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I plan to make another in a red faille. I just have to find an occasion to wear it!
I would recommend this pattern to others.

Conclusion:
This style was so fun! I wore this dress on my 10 year wedding anniversary night out in Las Vegas and felt like a supermodel because when I walked, the dress just flowed so beautifully. I got looks of admiration from many people, and felt so pretty in it
Available for sale on PR: $19.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewingengr said...
I would never have noticed this pattern in the book but this is really gorgeous. I intend to go dancing again and this is perfect and flattering. Putting it on my pattern to-buy list thank you for sharing your review of it!
1/26/14 4:06 PM
WinterQueen said...
Lovely dress, bet it looks amazing on :)x
1/26/14 5:31 PM
Jrhee said...
Looks beautiful!
1/26/14 6:21 PM
ReginaLit said...
Love the pop of color, beautiful!
1/26/14 7:31 PM
stonecutter17 said...
This is so beautiful! What a great color choice too.
1/26/14 8:43 PM
Sew Good said...
Nice job! Really lovely. Thank you for the review
1/27/14 0:17 AM
jjosiejo said...
Gorgeous! Would love to see how it looks on...?!
1/27/14 8:50 AM
SewLibra said...
Looks great, just like the pattern envelope!
1/27/14 11:51 PM
MinaLMcGrady said...
Very very nice!!! I love this pattern- cant wait to make it now .. I can imagine the flow of the ruffles .. Yes, thanks for posting/ very pretty dress.
1/28/14 2:40 AM
Sheseams said...
You made a casual pattern into a very nice formal dress!
4/11/14 5:13 PM
beanchor said...
You look great in this. The blue is so refreshing at the bottom.
4/11/14 6:13 PM
supizoo said...
Perfect dress for the occasion. It is lovely.
4/11/14 6:14 PM
regal80 said...
wow that dress is gorgeous! great job on putting it together and choosing the right fabric, you two look great!
4/11/14 11:59 PM
kushami said...
How fabulous! Happy anniversary.
4/12/14 7:07 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Black edging on the bottom tier really makes itů LIKE LIKE LIKE Happy Anniversary by the way...
4/12/14 7:21 AM
Laurasupernails said...
Awww thanks everyone! :)
4/12/14 10:53 AM
stonecutter17 said...
Stunning! The color contrast is just the perfect thing!
4/12/14 3:30 PM
Naninak said...
Thanks for the review. Just beautiful.
4/12/14 10:23 PM
MrsCharisma said...
So pretty!!!
4/24/14 2:06 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 07-2005-110

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2013-127

photo
by: pdiddly

Review
SewBaby Mitten Wraps and One Piece Hat Pattern

SewBaby Mitten Wraps and One Piece Hat Pattern

Buy Now
Victory Anouk Paper Pattern

Victory Anouk Paper Pattern

Buy Now