SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Textile Studio> 1209 (Monaco Shell)

18 more reviews
Viewed 2943 times 
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA United States
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 359
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 295 people
patterns reviewed: 259
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/30/05 3:17 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
drsue said...
Great job! That is a wonderful looking fabric.
5/30/05 3:22 PM
jemgirlca said...
Cute top! That fabric looks really pretty with that pattern. Nice fit, too.
5/30/05 3:27 PM
BjP said...
Great looking tee...fits you so nicely! You have me intrigued about the good instructions for the vee-neck so will have to give it a try.
5/30/05 3:55 PM
CarolynGM said...
Very pretty fabric. I like this pattern too -- I don't know why I've only made it once.
5/30/05 4:19 PM
jlg said...
So pretty on you, Deepika.
5/30/05 4:54 PM
mamakooz said...
Great top! The color looks pretty on you.
5/30/05 5:09 PM
PVA said...
What a beautiful top! It looks just wonderful on you, & it certainly looks like it would be very comfortable. Thanks for the review.
5/30/05 6:18 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely fabric. Glad to read this review. Just read Chris's and I need to make this up. The top fits you well.
5/30/05 6:29 PM
diane s said...
Nice top! Don't you love the self facings? I used elastic in the armholes, stitched and turned.
5/31/05 0:14 AM
ChrisK said...
Another great Monaco shell, I like the colour on you, it's very pretty. I love this pattern.
5/31/05 2:21 AM
PixieCat said...
What a perfect top and the color is beautiful on you!
5/31/05 5:35 AM
Tailypo said...
Great looking top, and glad to read it is beginner-friendly. Your cliff-hanger review (what is this v-neck secret?) has clinched it for me and I'm going to give this one a try.
5/31/05 6:08 AM
AnneM said...
The more reviews I see on this top, the more I like it. Great style on you.
5/31/05 7:16 AM
munchkin said...
Deepika- that top looks great on you! I think you just convinced me to buy the pattern. You very good taste in patterns and fabrics, I find myself looks up your reviews to see what patterns worked well, and what fabrics you used.
5/31/05 9:40 AM
patsijean said...
I understand using bias binding for the armhole, but, why did you cut it "2 inches shorter than the armhole circumference"? You would have to have stretched the binding while you were stitching it on. Could that be why there is no gaping around the armhole?
5/31/05 9:43 PM
Deepika said...
Patricia, depending on the stretch of fabric, I always cut the binding slightly shorter than the armhole/neckline circumference. That way there is no risk of gaping and it pulls it close to the body. But even when I had not bound the armholes and I tried the top on, there was no gaping whatsoever, which is why I am so impressed with this pattern.
6/1/05 7:07 AM
Hilary said...
Deepika, this looks *beautiful* on you! You are right, the neckline is extremely flattering. To me it looks almost like a cross between a boatneck and a v-neck. I may have to try this!
6/1/05 2:45 PM
aneri_masi said...
Just saw this review. You look beautiful in this top. I see that the neck is a little wide, did you have to put in lingerie guards to keep the bra straps from showing?
6/29/05 8:06 PM
Deepika said...
Hi Kashmira, Since I didnt remove the seam allowances for doing the binding on the armholes, that gave me a little more coverage on the shoulders but its still slightly narrow. I would put lingerie guards next time but I don't think its necessary.
6/30/05 7:03 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

The Technique of Underlining Garments
The Technique of Underlining Garments

Register

Vogue Patterns 8565

photo
by: Deepika

Review
McCall's 6208

photo
by: Clareew

Review
Jackets for Real People DVD

Jackets for Real People DVD

Buy Now
Jeans for Real People DVD Set

Jeans for Real People DVD Set

Buy Now