Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Textile Studio: 1209 (Monaco Shell) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 2936 times 18 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA USA
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 337
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 283 people
patterns reviewed: 238
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/30/05 3:17 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $12.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
drsue said...
Great job! That is a wonderful looking fabric.
5/30/05 3:22 PM
jemgirlca said...
Cute top! That fabric looks really pretty with that pattern. Nice fit, too.
5/30/05 3:27 PM
BjP said...
Great looking tee...fits you so nicely! You have me intrigued about the good instructions for the vee-neck so will have to give it a try.
5/30/05 3:55 PM
CarolynGM said...
Very pretty fabric. I like this pattern too -- I don't know why I've only made it once.
5/30/05 4:19 PM
jlg said...
So pretty on you, Deepika.
5/30/05 4:54 PM
mamakooz said...
Great top! The color looks pretty on you.
5/30/05 5:09 PM
PVA said...
What a beautiful top! It looks just wonderful on you, & it certainly looks like it would be very comfortable. Thanks for the review.
5/30/05 6:18 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely fabric. Glad to read this review. Just read Chris's and I need to make this up. The top fits you well.
5/30/05 6:29 PM
diane s said...
Nice top! Don't you love the self facings? I used elastic in the armholes, stitched and turned.
5/31/05 0:14 AM
ChrisK said...
Another great Monaco shell, I like the colour on you, it's very pretty. I love this pattern.
5/31/05 2:21 AM
PixieCat said...
What a perfect top and the color is beautiful on you!
5/31/05 5:35 AM
Tailypo said...
Great looking top, and glad to read it is beginner-friendly. Your cliff-hanger review (what is this v-neck secret?) has clinched it for me and I'm going to give this one a try.
5/31/05 6:08 AM
AnneM said...
The more reviews I see on this top, the more I like it. Great style on you.
5/31/05 7:16 AM
munchkin said...
Deepika- that top looks great on you! I think you just convinced me to buy the pattern. You very good taste in patterns and fabrics, I find myself looks up your reviews to see what patterns worked well, and what fabrics you used.
5/31/05 9:40 AM
patsijean said...
I understand using bias binding for the armhole, but, why did you cut it "2 inches shorter than the armhole circumference"? You would have to have stretched the binding while you were stitching it on. Could that be why there is no gaping around the armhole?
5/31/05 9:43 PM
Deepika said...
Patricia, depending on the stretch of fabric, I always cut the binding slightly shorter than the armhole/neckline circumference. That way there is no risk of gaping and it pulls it close to the body. But even when I had not bound the armholes and I tried the top on, there was no gaping whatsoever, which is why I am so impressed with this pattern.
6/1/05 7:07 AM
Hilary said...
Deepika, this looks *beautiful* on you! You are right, the neckline is extremely flattering. To me it looks almost like a cross between a boatneck and a v-neck. I may have to try this!
6/1/05 2:45 PM
aneri_masi said...
Just saw this review. You look beautiful in this top. I see that the neck is a little wide, did you have to put in lingerie guards to keep the bra straps from showing?
6/29/05 8:06 PM
Deepika said...
Hi Kashmira, Since I didnt remove the seam allowances for doing the binding on the armholes, that gave me a little more coverage on the shoulders but its still slightly narrow. I would put lingerie guards next time but I don't think its necessary.
6/30/05 7:03 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Burda 7738
photo
Review by HawkeMorni... on 2/16/12
Read Review

Oliver + S Hopscotch Skirt, Knit Top & Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver + S Hopscotch Skirt, Knit Top & Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Music Box Jumper Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)
Oliver + S Music Box Jumper Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewaholic Patterns 1204 Alma
photo
Review by starryfish on 3/20/13
Read Review

Jamie Christina Sunny Day Dress and Skirt Pattern (JC308SD)
Jamie Christina Sunny Day Dress and Skirt Pattern (JC308SD)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Clara Bow Apron Pattern (ln102)
Sew Chic Clara Bow Apron Pattern (ln102)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4686 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )
Butterick 4686 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $15.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7308 Pattern
Burda 7308 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us