SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Textile Studio> 1209 (Monaco Shell)

18 more reviews
Viewed 2945 times 
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA United States
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 369
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 303 people
patterns reviewed: 267
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/30/05 3:17 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

boutiquefabric


High end fashion fabrics
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Deepika said...
Hi Kashmira, Since I didnt remove the seam allowances for doing the binding on the armholes, that gave me a little more coverage on the shoulders but its still slightly narrow. I would put lingerie guards next time but I don't think its necessary.
6/30/05 7:03 AM
aneri_masi said...
Just saw this review. You look beautiful in this top. I see that the neck is a little wide, did you have to put in lingerie guards to keep the bra straps from showing?
6/29/05 8:06 PM
Hilary said...
Deepika, this looks *beautiful* on you! You are right, the neckline is extremely flattering. To me it looks almost like a cross between a boatneck and a v-neck. I may have to try this!
6/1/05 2:45 PM
Deepika said...
Patricia, depending on the stretch of fabric, I always cut the binding slightly shorter than the armhole/neckline circumference. That way there is no risk of gaping and it pulls it close to the body. But even when I had not bound the armholes and I tried the top on, there was no gaping whatsoever, which is why I am so impressed with this pattern.
6/1/05 7:07 AM
patsijean said...
I understand using bias binding for the armhole, but, why did you cut it "2 inches shorter than the armhole circumference"? You would have to have stretched the binding while you were stitching it on. Could that be why there is no gaping around the armhole?
5/31/05 9:43 PM
munchkin said...
Deepika- that top looks great on you! I think you just convinced me to buy the pattern. You very good taste in patterns and fabrics, I find myself looks up your reviews to see what patterns worked well, and what fabrics you used.
5/31/05 9:40 AM
AnneM said...
The more reviews I see on this top, the more I like it. Great style on you.
5/31/05 7:16 AM
Tailypo said...
Great looking top, and glad to read it is beginner-friendly. Your cliff-hanger review (what is this v-neck secret?) has clinched it for me and I'm going to give this one a try.
5/31/05 6:08 AM
PixieCat said...
What a perfect top and the color is beautiful on you!
5/31/05 5:35 AM
ChrisK said...
Another great Monaco shell, I like the colour on you, it's very pretty. I love this pattern.
5/31/05 2:21 AM
diane s said...
Nice top! Don't you love the self facings? I used elastic in the armholes, stitched and turned.
5/31/05 0:14 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely fabric. Glad to read this review. Just read Chris's and I need to make this up. The top fits you well.
5/30/05 6:29 PM
PVA said...
What a beautiful top! It looks just wonderful on you, & it certainly looks like it would be very comfortable. Thanks for the review.
5/30/05 6:18 PM
mamakooz said...
Great top! The color looks pretty on you.
5/30/05 5:09 PM
jlg said...
So pretty on you, Deepika.
5/30/05 4:54 PM
CarolynGM said...
Very pretty fabric. I like this pattern too -- I don't know why I've only made it once.
5/30/05 4:19 PM
BjP said...
Great looking tee...fits you so nicely! You have me intrigued about the good instructions for the vee-neck so will have to give it a try.
5/30/05 3:55 PM
jemgirlca said...
Cute top! That fabric looks really pretty with that pattern. Nice fit, too.
5/30/05 3:27 PM
drsue said...
Great job! That is a wonderful looking fabric.
5/30/05 3:22 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

SewBaby Animal Wrappers Pattern

SewBaby Animal Wrappers Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Travel High Chair Pattern

SewBaby Travel High Chair Pattern

Buy Now