SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5927 (Misses' Jacket)

1 more reviews
Viewed 365 times 
Reviewed by:MrsCharisma
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About MrsCharismastarstarstarstar
MN USA
Member since: 2/1/13
Reviews written: 139
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 63 people
patterns reviewed: 136
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/26/14 5:54 PM


Butterick: 5927 by MrsCharisma  Butterick: 5927 by MrsCharisma  
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
slmstyle said...
Too bad for all the mishaps of this pattern as I really like the style and it looks great on you! Thanks for your helpful review of this pattern and I will keep your warnings in mind if I sew this jacket.
1/26/14 6:07 PM
Couturemum said...
Great review. I think the jacket looks great on you and made me tempted to buy the pattern on that alone, but I might wait until I get a little more practice on jackets!
1/26/14 6:20 PM
MrsCharisma said...
Couturemum I have an extra copy that you can bloody HAVE! LOL!!! :) Thanks ladies. Could have been first timers "luck" but goodness gracious...I'll wear it for sure.
1/26/14 6:31 PM
Adaire said...
It looks nice on you but I know that feeling. I always love your reviews because our measurements are nearly identical except my hips are an inch or two smaller.
1/26/14 7:22 PM
careymoonbeam said...
Egads! Thanks for the warning. How fortunate that you are such an accomplished seamstress and were able to make a great looking jacket in the end.
1/26/14 8:00 PM
canei said...
I like it. I love the fabric and the color!!!!
1/26/14 8:28 PM
trudiz said...
Thank you for the very helpful review. I appreciate that you shared this experience. I will steer clear of this pattern for sure.
1/26/14 8:53 PM
michellep74 said...
Great-looking jacket! Aren't you glad you persevered?
1/26/14 8:59 PM
Sue Parrott said...
It's very cute...I wish it had been a better experience but I have to say I know exactly what you are talking about! Take my advice and if you hate a pattern, put it in the Goodwill pile!
1/26/14 10:02 PM
Jrhee said...
I think it looks great! Thanks for the link to the sleeve lining trick. Must try that myself next time!
1/26/14 10:12 PM
msschiel said...
It looks cute, too bad it didn't work out for you. Maybe you can find a similar style that actually works out!
1/26/14 10:43 PM
1SewSweet said...
Very, very nice jacket! It is worth everything you had to go through to make it a success!
1/27/14 4:56 AM
MrsCharisma said...
Thanks all! I am wearing it today and yes, I am glad I kept going because now I'm sure that with a "good" pattern I can produce a fabulous jacket :) But I still won't make this pattern up again. Time to cull!
1/27/14 10:28 AM
carolynw said...
It looks nice on you but seems it was a whole lot of work - look at it as a learning experience for your first lined jacket. IMHO you should add buttons and jazz it up
1/27/14 1:01 PM
carolynw said...
It looks nice on you but seems it was a whole lot of work - look at it as a learning experience for your first lined jacket. IMHO you should add buttons and jazz it up
1/27/14 1:02 PM
MrsCharisma said...
Thanks Carolyn! :)
1/27/14 4:03 PM
SewLibra said...
Your review is cracking me up. I'm sorry you're so mad, (been there), but in the end your jacket has a wonderful fit! Thanks for including the bag lining tute.
1/28/14 0:00 AM
fattyboomboom said...
Well you look so cute in it, no one could tell you were upset! Thanks for the great review.
1/28/14 2:02 PM
sarah121haras said...
Thanks for the review! For all the trouble you had it looks amazing! Your construction looks impeccable.
2/9/14 7:41 PM
sarah121haras said...
Thanks for the review! For all the trouble you had it looks amazing! Your construction looks impeccable.
2/9/14 7:41 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Butterick 5726

photo
by: morzel

Review
Vogue Patterns 7634

photo
by: couturemom

Review
BIRTH OF A BUSTIER - A CD Book by Kenneth King

BIRTH OF A BUSTIER - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
Petite Plus 150 Pattern

Petite Plus 150 Pattern

Buy Now