SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Jalie> 2908 (Women's Stretch Jeans)

161 more reviews
Viewed 396 times 
Reviewed by:tommied
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About tommiedstar
VA USA
Member since: 8/3/13
Reviews written: 9
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2009
Posted on:1/26/14 8:39 PM
Last Updated:1/26/14 8:48 PM
Project Photo:Jalie: 2908 by tommied

Jalie: 2908 by tommied  
Pattern Photo:Jalie 2908
Jalie Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Denim  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
A multi-sized jean pattern with flared legs.
Pattern Sizing:
Multi-sized, from girls to plus sizes.
Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes!
Were the instructions easy to follow?
Yes! I loved the fly front instructions. Some of the best I have ever used. If you carefully follow the diagrams, you will see all of the topstitching, etc.
What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I love the multi-sizing. It will be good to sew jeans for not only myself, but my girls as well. I am not particularly fond of the waist band...may use a fitted waistband next time I make it.
Fabric Used:
Denim with 4% lycra blend. I also used 100% cotton denim for my muslin - no stretch...they were tight on the hips, but still looked nice.
Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I cut a straight size R and I shortened the pattern by about 2-3 inches (I'm 5'2"). In addition, I made them straight legged vs. flared. Next time I make them, I will add a fitted waist band and make them a little more fitted through the legs - mostly for style reasons.
Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
YES! and YES!
Conclusion:
A great pattern - love it. Well drafted, fits well.
Check out more on my blog Unseamly Girl
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sue Parrott said...
Wow, they look great! Nicely done!
1/26/14 9:56 PM
tommied said...
Thank you!!!
1/26/14 10:27 PM
julie w said...
Great fitting jeans, very professional
1/27/14 3:45 AM
caper81 said...
Nice job! I enjoyed your accompanying blog post;) Great raglan t-shirt too!
1/27/14 8:23 AM
jjosiejo said...
Fab! I have the pattern, but haven't mustered the courage yet... :)
1/27/14 8:48 AM
becca a said...
Fabulous jeans! These look great. I agree with you, this is a wonderful pattern.
1/27/14 10:53 AM
Oh2Sew2 said...
A great fit right out of the envelope for jeans?! I'm jealous!! I do have this, I should give it a go to see if I'm as lucky as you are ;)
1/27/14 2:43 PM
tommied said...
Thank you all! Give the pattern a try. I was skeptical too! But trust the pattern, pick your size based on your hip measurements. I also did a muslin, which helped a lot!
1/27/14 4:37 PM
SewLibra said...
Great job on your jeans! I keep saying I'm going to go for it, so thanks for the inspiration.
1/28/14 0:09 AM
Jstarr4250 said...
Such a great pair of jeans! I'm with you on the waistband...it needs a curved one. Beautiful job on these.
1/28/14 7:13 AM
LM2HYD said...
Nice Job! :)
1/29/14 3:31 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Sewing Workshop Liberty Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Liberty Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Fit For Art Trouser Details for Eureka Pants

Fit For Art Trouser Details for Eureka Pants

Buy Now
Self Drafted Pattern Pacman ghost costume

photo
by: kerrybum

Review