Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Jalie: 2908 (Women's Stretch Jeans) thumbsup - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 305 times 158 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:tommied
photo
Friend of PR
About tommiedstar
VA USA
Member since: 8/3/13
Reviews written: 9
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2009
Posted on:1/26/14 8:39 PM
Last Updated:1/26/14 8:48 PM
Project Photo:Jalie: 2908 by tommied

Jalie: 2908 by tommied  
Pattern Photo:Jalie 2908
Jalie Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Denim  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description:
A multi-sized jean pattern with flared legs.
Pattern Sizing:
Multi-sized, from girls to plus sizes.
Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes!
Were the instructions easy to follow?
Yes! I loved the fly front instructions. Some of the best I have ever used. If you carefully follow the diagrams, you will see all of the topstitching, etc.
What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I love the multi-sizing. It will be good to sew jeans for not only myself, but my girls as well. I am not particularly fond of the waist band...may use a fitted waistband next time I make it.
Fabric Used:
Denim with 4% lycra blend. I also used 100% cotton denim for my muslin - no stretch...they were tight on the hips, but still looked nice.
Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I cut a straight size R and I shortened the pattern by about 2-3 inches (I'm 5'2"). In addition, I made them straight legged vs. flared. Next time I make them, I will add a fitted waist band and make them a little more fitted through the legs - mostly for style reasons.
Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
YES! and YES!
Conclusion:
A great pattern - love it. Well drafted, fits well.
Check out more on my blog Unseamly Girl
Buy this pattern for $12.75     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sue Parrott said...
Wow, they look great! Nicely done!
1/26/14 9:56 PM
tommied said...
Thank you!!!
1/26/14 10:27 PM
julie w said...
Great fitting jeans, very professional
1/27/14 3:45 AM
caper81 said...
Nice job! I enjoyed your accompanying blog post;) Great raglan t-shirt too!
1/27/14 8:23 AM
jjosiejo said...
Fab! I have the pattern, but haven't mustered the courage yet... :)
1/27/14 8:48 AM
becca a said...
Fabulous jeans! These look great. I agree with you, this is a wonderful pattern.
1/27/14 10:53 AM
Oh2Sew2 said...
A great fit right out of the envelope for jeans?! I'm jealous!! I do have this, I should give it a go to see if I'm as lucky as you are ;)
1/27/14 2:43 PM
tommied said...
Thank you all! Give the pattern a try. I was skeptical too! But trust the pattern, pick your size based on your hip measurements. I also did a muslin, which helped a lot!
1/27/14 4:37 PM
SewLibra said...
Great job on your jeans! I keep saying I'm going to go for it, so thanks for the inspiration.
1/28/14 0:09 AM
Jstarr4250 said...
Such a great pair of jeans! I'm with you on the waistband...it needs a curved one. Beautiful job on these.
1/28/14 7:13 AM
LM2HYD said...
Nice Job! :)
1/29/14 3:31 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Butterick 4063
photo
Review by TalyQ on 1/29/09
Read Review

Butterick 5786 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Butterick 5786 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6700 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
McCalls 6700 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2007-126 Trousers
photo
Review by Pinkytoo on 10/6/07
Read Review

Dixie DIY Ballet Dress
Dixie DIY Ballet Dress

Details
Price: $4.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Carly Bubble Romper Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Carly Bubble Romper Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things The Lunch Bag Pattern
Favorite Things The Lunch Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Take-Along Bags
Take-Along Bags

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us