SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 6841 (Misses' Tops)

13 more reviews
Viewed 307 times 
Reviewed by:Ilonka
photo

 
 
About Ilonka
Hungary
Member since: 12/14/13
Reviews written: 45
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 44
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/27/14 9:22 AM
Last Updated:1/27/14 11:20 AM
Project Photo:McCall's: 6841 by Ilonka

McCall's: 6841 by Ilonka  McCall's: 6841 by Ilonka  
Pattern Photo:McCall's 6841
McCall's Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $19.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Pattern Description: Loose-fitting, pullover tops with draped front and back collar

Pattern Sizing: Xsm - med

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes

Were the instructions easy to follow? Very easy and fun. At some point when I had to make the collar it was such an unusual way, and then it all turned out to be just right! Loved it!

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? Very unique looking top. No dislikes.

Fabric Used: Jersey. Drapes beautifully. Bought it for this project.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: Made longer sleeves. Sewed the center front 2 inches higher.
Also I took some in on the side seams by the waist. It was too big on the back, wasn't flattering at all.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? It's pretty unique, so probably will not sew it for some time. Maybe the short version for the spring.
Yes, I recommend it!

Conclusion: Loved making it up, great instructions, nice result!

Available for sale on PR: $19.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MrsCharisma said...
Of course YOU can wear this top!! It looks so cute on you! The jersey is perfect.
1/27/14 10:26 AM
Sheseams said...
Oh Nice!
1/27/14 12:26 PM
sewtime said...
Looks soft and elegant!!
1/27/14 2:11 PM
WinterQueen said...
Looks fabulous! Love it :)x
1/27/14 3:51 PM
dolcevita said...
Lovely - the colour, drape and style are very nice on you.
1/28/14 11:20 AM
wimmie said...
I just finished this top yesterday. I too raised the center front 2 inches, but neglected to lengthen sleeve length. Your top looks better then the pattern picture. I love the way you made your shoulder pleats a little further down in the chest area. Great job.
1/29/14 4:59 AM
DJWa said...
I think yours looks better than the pattern picture. I love it!
1/29/14 9:46 AM
Leslie Bonner said...
Very pretty!
2/13/14 10:06 PM
Sew Good said...
I like the longer sleeves you made. Looks great!
3/20/14 9:05 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
You wear it well! Gorgeous top and great color on you.
4/8/14 0:47 AM
knitgirl16 said...
Your drape is perfect. Better on you than the model. Perfect color.
5/20/14 3:48 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Simplicity 5316

photo
by: cybperry

Review
Sewing Workshop Mimosa Top & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Mimosa Top & Pants Pattern

Buy Now
PerfectFuse Sheer White

PerfectFuse Sheer White

Buy Now
BurdaStyle Magazine 03-2011-132B

photo
by: tiadia

Review