SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 6278 (misses lined dress)

8 more reviews
Viewed 379 times 
Reviewed by:Lori V
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Lori Vstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/20/02
Reviews written: 347
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 181 people
patterns reviewed: 346
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/27/14 11:44 AM
Project Photo:McCall's: 6278 by Lori V

McCall's: 6278 by Lori V  McCall's: 6278 by Lori V  
Pattern Photo:McCall's 6278
McCall's Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Easy to Sew    Dresses    
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Cotton Jersey  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
tapered, above mid knee lined dresses, with yoke front and back, V shaped side front, sleeveless and short sleeve variations and zip. Affords colour blocking potential. I made version C with contrast yoke, sleeves and sides.
Pattern Sizing:
4 to 20
Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes, very much, just didn't fabric choices
Were the instructions easy to follow?
Very easy to follow. The trickiest part is sewing the insets to the main body of the dress. I marked carefully, reinforced the corners and pinned. This helped tremendously.
What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I liked the look of the dress design, thought the black at the insets would give the illusion of a waistline (which I need). I was surprised when I saw this pattern was out-of-print, I think it is quite stylish and current.

Fabric Used:
A houndstooth cotton jersey from Girl Charlee and a black spandex knit also from Girl Charlee
Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I added 1" to length but I did forget to lower the bust dart. I was disappointed I forgot this but with the knit, it is a bit more forgiving.

I also lined the dress with a tricot knit.
I did not do the side pieces but redrew the front and back to be one solid piece. I also pinched out the dart when I redrew the piece. Maybe a bit unconventional but it worked for me.

I did use the black fabric for the yokes on the lining, keeping the nude tricot from peaking through at the neckline.
Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I would probably sew this again, in another distinctive color combination. Here is an idea for someone houndstooth and royal blue
Conclusion:
I love my new dress, it is a confidence booster just wearing it.
more pictures and info on my blog

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewtime said...
Your dress is so cute and you should wear it with confidence!!
1/27/14 1:33 PM
livelife said...
Nice pattern and fabric combo! The dress looks great on you!
1/27/14 2:42 PM
Sharon M said...
Very cute! This has been on my to-sew list for so long but think I'll wait till it's a bit warmer. Love it on you!
1/27/14 2:46 PM
Deepika said...
wow, your dress is so flattering! I love love love houndstooth fabric and contrast black panels. This is a winner!
1/27/14 3:23 PM
LizJ58 said...
I'm surprised it's out of print, too. I had seen a peplum top on ModCloth.com in November or December that had a similar bodice style, and was planning on adapting this pattern at some point. However, it seems like the major pattern companies might be retiring patterns pretty quickly these days. I noticed that two Vogue top patterns that aren't really old were retired, when I went to find out yardage information on them.
1/27/14 3:42 PM
CissieW said...
Wow. Lori, that dress looks wonderful on you. Love it with the pink jacket too. Those points sort of scare me, but what do you think might happen with black leather inserts?
1/27/14 4:49 PM
carolynw said...
Looks wonderful - black and white is always so smart - love the jacket with it too
1/27/14 7:59 PM
Sue Parrott said...
It is very cute! Love it on you!
1/27/14 8:51 PM
SewWil said...
Love your dress!
1/27/14 10:44 PM
SewLibra said...
Love it! A classic houndstooth with a twist and it looks so nice on you.
1/28/14 0:19 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Very pretty. I have had this pattern forever but never made it up. Love your version of this.
1/28/14 6:53 AM
Jstarr4250 said...
You are a knockout in this dress, Lori! Love the idea of it in a knit. I have so many leftovers I can imagine using for this.
1/28/14 6:53 AM
BillieJean said...
Great dress!
1/28/14 6:59 AM
Fran G said...
Love your dress. A great tip on using the black fabric for lining the yoke..very smart. Is your nude tricot lining available online? I have seen some really nice stretch lining on EOS but it is quite costly..
1/28/14 7:51 AM
betty bushwacker said...
Super flattering dress Lori. I love the lines in it.
1/28/14 9:05 AM
STARG said...
You look fantastic in this dress! Love the fabric combinations.
1/28/14 9:49 AM
jenleeC said...
Great dress!
1/28/14 11:00 AM
1SewSweet said...
I really like your version! I'm also happy I already have this pattern too! Haven't made it yet...but now I will!
1/28/14 5:49 PM
yummymummy38 said...
Like what you have done with this, houndstooth is always so classic. I'm surprised not more people have reviewed this, maybe the less than inspiring fabric choices on the pattern envelope has something to do with this
1/30/14 3:48 AM
JoaniesJosh said...
You did a great job with this. You look super!!
2/1/14 7:57 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Colette Patterns Meringue

photo
by: AlyssaJS

Review
Kwik Sew 1671

photo
by: SamF

Review
Victoria Jones Collection Child's Hawaiian Muumuu Dress or Nightgown

Victoria Jones Collection Child's Hawaiian Muumuu Dress or Nightgown

Buy Now
Beginner Sewing Lab 102 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Beginner Sewing Lab 102  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now