SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8636 (Misses' Top)

19 more reviews
Viewed 458 times 
Reviewed by:jwitt
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About jwittstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 1/15/11
Reviews written: 10
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 10
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/29/14 4:54 AM
Last Updated:1/29/14 5:20 AM
Project Photo:Vogue Patterns: 8636 by jwitt

Vogue Patterns: 8636 by jwitt  
Pattern Photo:Vogue Patterns 8636
Vogue Patterns Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Great Wardrobe Builder
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Merino Knit  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:


Pattern Sizing:
Pretty good. I made this for my gf, an hourglass figure. 12 8 12. I cut the 12 and made a muslin with some cheap cotton knit.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Sort of. I started with version B, but was unable to make the neck sit as nicely at the diagonal joins, in the merino knit, so swapped to version D for the neck. It had worked fine in the muslin.

Were the instructions easy to follow?
Yes.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
Great basic. You can make a jumper without being able to knit! This style would be easy to personalise.
Fabric Used:
Merino knit
Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
None to speak of.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Yes. I will make some more. Hopefully I will crack making a nice flat neck band as I like the vaguely retro styling.This the first real knit I have worked with very pleased
My gf wants another with slightly longer sleeves.
Conclusion:
Good basic pattern.


Available for sale on PR: $27.50 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
cindyann said...
Looks terrific! Nice work.
1/29/14 8:24 AM
MrsCharisma said...
Nice top! I love raglan tops :)
1/29/14 9:48 AM
Sew Good said...
Nicely done!
1/29/14 10:11 AM
msschiel said...
Looks nice! I like raglan tops because the sleeves are so much easier to sew!
1/29/14 2:51 PM
carolynw said...
Really nice - lucky girl friend
1/29/14 3:11 PM
Couturemum said...
Great top. Love the olive colour, it's a great choice
1/29/14 9:36 PM
VivianZ said...
Great top. I have this pattern and never made it, but I really like your single fabric one.
1/30/14 8:58 AM
ASiverson said...
Beautiful top. TFS!
1/30/14 9:46 AM
Ineedaname said...
Very pretty. I really like the neckline. I'm always looking for something different and this is. I'm putting this pattern on my wish list.
1/30/14 10:30 AM
threaddy said...
very nice. good work.
1/30/14 4:51 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Butterick 4416

photo
by: Foutchy

Review
LJ Designs 0000

photo
by: Gilberta

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Islander Shirt Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Islander Shirt Pattern Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Paloma Top, Tunic & Dress Pattern

Sew Liberated Paloma Top, Tunic & Dress Pattern

Buy Now