SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8804 (Franch couture jacket)

9 more reviews
Viewed 537 times 
Reviewed by:Lenarciak
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Lenarciakstar
GE Netherlands
Member since: 7/6/12
Reviews written: 17
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 16
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/30/14 2:58 PM
Project Photo:Vogue Patterns: 8804 by Lenarciak

Vogue Patterns: 8804 by Lenarciak  Vogue Patterns: 8804 by Lenarciak  
Pattern Photo:Vogue Patterns 8804
Vogue Patterns Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Difficult, but great for Advanced Sewers
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Wool/Poly Blend  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
French couture jacket with quilted lining
Pattern Sizing:
6-14 - I have made size 8
Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
I moidified the patterns a little but generally it look the same

Were the instructions easy to follow?
I did not follow instruction included with the pattern. I have followed the Couture Sewing – The Couture Cardigan Jacket by Claire Shaeffer

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I love the jacket, I love couture techinques used by contruction. It is pattern I will use more often

Fabric Used:
I used wool bland tweed - typical fabric for Chanel/French jacket

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I have made muslin and adjusted the pattern to my size. I have added extra button and button hole on the sleeves as I have made sleeves a little longer.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
O yes, I have already 1 almost on my cutting table and 4 on the waiting list.
For the final result Click Here
Conclusion:
It is great wardrobe builder. It take time to contsruct this jacket but I knew this and I enjoyed every minute. However if you do not like couture techniques, hand stitching - don't start.

chech my blog for more detail Click Here
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
35 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Jstarr4250 said...
I saw your jacket on my Flickr feed a few days ago and fell in love with it. How you managed to do such gorgeous buttonholes in boucle fabric is a marvel. I also admire your bias pockets and 3 piece sleeves. Beautiful work!
1/30/14 3:14 PM
ArtAttack said...
Gorgeous jacket! I love your fabric. Ditto JStarr on your perfect buttonholes! Great job...beautiful work.
1/30/14 3:21 PM
r e n said...
Beautiful fabric and jacket. The couture techniques certainly enhanced the final outcome--enjoy wearing this fabulous jacket!
1/30/14 3:23 PM
MrsCharisma said...
This is just stunning. I love it.
1/30/14 3:25 PM
cleverkitty said...
Beautiful jacket!!!!
1/30/14 4:49 PM
PattyE said...
That's a gorgeous jacket.
1/30/14 5:08 PM
bes said...
Beautiful jacket and workmanship!
1/30/14 6:17 PM
jlg said...
Wow!
1/30/14 6:26 PM
Sharonspils said...
Amazing jacket, your attention to detail shows through!
1/30/14 6:44 PM
jenleeC said...
Your jacket looks stunning and well worth the hours of hand-sewing for such a beautiful finished garment.
1/30/14 7:02 PM
Ineedaname said...
Beautiful jacket - the colors made me click on your review immediately.
1/30/14 7:25 PM
Re Becca said...
Gorgeous! Love the color combo, that trim is perfect and I don't think that fabric is bland at all!
1/30/14 7:31 PM
USMCMom said...
What exquisite workmanship! Lovely in every way. Wear it in good health. Coco Chanel is surely smiling!
1/30/14 8:17 PM
caroljeancarmichael said...
Your jacket is a thing of beauty. Just in time for Valentine's Day. Since you are an experienced tailor, I am wondering how long it took to make this.
1/30/14 10:01 PM
Sue Parrott said...
Oh, so pretty!
1/30/14 10:13 PM
Danmar said...
Wow I'm in awe!
1/31/14 0:14 AM
cmcarr said...
Perfect!
1/31/14 1:45 AM
Sharlovestosew said...
Beautiful! I love how you treated the lining using a red then the white. The braided trim is beautiful too, where did you purchase it?
1/31/14 2:01 AM
Quickie said...
Such a Beautifull jacket . Congrats
1/31/14 3:00 AM
Lenarciak said...
Thanks a lot for all nice words! @caroljeancarmichael I took time to make it... I did not calculated yet. I was forced to take long breaks in between. @Sharlovestosew I have bought the trim in online shop with all sewing supplies.
1/31/14 5:21 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great looking jacket!! Love the red and white. Beautiful workmanship.
1/31/14 5:28 AM
mending maven said...
STUNNING! Gorgeous workwomanship?
1/31/14 7:57 AM
Tee Jones Actie said...
Very pretty jacket!!!!
1/31/14 8:02 AM
dresscode said...
Wow! Buttonholes are gorgeous!
1/31/14 8:07 AM
redside said...
How elegant. Beautiful work!
1/31/14 9:36 AM
chenille said...
Just stunning! I love everything about this jacket.
1/31/14 9:44 AM
ASiverson said...
Beautiful!
1/31/14 9:58 AM
carolynw said...
Love your jacket - your work on this is absolutely perfect. All the time you spent on this resulted in a truly couture jacket. Great work!
1/31/14 11:10 AM
VirginiasDghter said...
Oh this is spectacular! The whole thing...just GORGEOUS! The time spent on this project was WELL worth it! Nice work!
1/31/14 1:50 PM
Camerio said...
Absolutely beautiful!
1/31/14 6:46 PM
SewWil said...
Gorgeous jacket!!! Great job.
1/31/14 9:17 PM
becca a said...
This jacket is absolutely stunning!
2/1/14 9:44 AM
wimmie said...
absolutely without question stunning. You do the French jacket proud. are you really in the process of making 5 more. wow
2/1/14 11:23 AM
STARG said...
Beautiful jacket.
2/1/14 12:04 PM
Lenarciak said...
Thanks a lot for all your comments - it is stimulating and inspiring :-) @wimmie - taking into account I have more then 5 tweeds/favrics for this type of jacket for myslef plus my momther and niece would like to have such jacket as well - I will be busy with sewing them ;-)
2/2/14 5:30 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Victory Madeleine Paper Pattern

Victory Madeleine Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection 309 Womens' Long Dress

Victoria Jones Collection 309 Womens' Long Dress

Buy Now