SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8982 (Misses' Jacket and Vest)

10 more reviews
Viewed 547 times 
Reviewed by:acmena
photo

 
 
About acmenastar
Member since: 8/7/13
Reviews written: 35
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 35
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/31/14 7:48 PM
Last Updated:1/31/14 7:48 PM
Project Photo:Vogue Patterns: 8982 by acmena

Pattern Photo:Vogue Patterns 8982
Vogue Patterns Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Pattern OK, but did NOT work for Me
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Cotton  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description: MISSES' JACKET AND VEST: Loose-fitting, unlined jacket or vest has front extending into back collar, front darts, back extending to lower side front, no side seams, and shaped hemline, wrong side may show. B: sleeves with slit, narrow hem and topstitching by hand. D: mock front band, stitched hems, back cut on crosswise grain. The description is not quite correct. There are side seams, just not where the back extends into the front.

As I was making a muslin, I chose the woven version of the vest - View E


Pattern Sizing: 8-10-12-14-16 After a quick tissue fit, as it was so loose fitting, I cut a size 8 instead of my usual 8 shoulders, 10 bust & waist and 12 hip. It fitted perfectly in the hip area but gaped much more than I would have expected around the armhole. There was an excess of fabric below the shoulder blades, but that may have been more to do with my shape than anything else.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Apart from the armhole, which didn't appear so gaping on Marci's version... Yes

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes, very straight forward.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I love the design.
I thought it counter intuitive to put bust darts in the knit version, but not in the woven one. Either way it needed extra darting in the armhole as per the knit version. As well, the shoulder slope on the jacket is greater than that on the vest, also odd to my way of thinking.


Fabric Used: cotton muslin

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: After making a quick muslin of the 3 main pattern pieces, I determined that it really was a vest pattern designed to have something worn underneath. If it is warm enough for me to go sleeveless, then I don't want anything other than a bra under my tops. To make it wearable for me, I would need to do some major surgery on the pattern.

I looked at making a short sleeve jacket instead. However the jacket is 2cm wider on the shoulders than the vest. The vest width is exactly right for me but is 2.5cm lower under the arm. Therefore, putting the sleeve in the vest wouldn't work. I'd need to do a narrow shoulder adjustment on the jacket pattern.


Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?After so much fiddling around, I've lost the inclination at the moment, maybe in winter I'll have another go. A soft knit might produce a better result as well.
It may be perfectly fine for someone who is not small in the bust and shoulders like me.


Conclusion: Love the design, but the execution needs work for ME.

Available for sale on PR: $27.50 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
trudiz said...
Thanks for reviewing this pattern. I also noticed the darts on the knit, but not on the woven. Didn't make sense to me either. Anyway, it's on my stack of "next" muslins. I'm going to give it a go - - with notes from your review.
2/1/14 10:09 AM
trudiz said...
sorry. hit the save button twice, tried to delete, didn't happen.
2/1/14 10:09 AM
TJSEWS said...
Thank you for your honest review. I purchased this pattern and will reference your review when I work on the muslin. I too thought it was odd that the knit had the darts while the woven did not.
2/1/14 4:17 PM
marthamyers said...
I am finishing up this view just now. Somehow I thought it was a top instead of a vest. My mistake though - you are totally right about the armscye. Way too low for a sleeveless top. I decided to add darts because, as you say, it needs them. And I added a lining once I got my head around the fact that it is a vest rather than a top. I think it is intended to be layered under the jacket and so the jacket is sized slightly larger.
2/2/14 7:47 PM
margk said...
Thanks for your review. I also have narrow shoulders and was initially interested in this as a top, so I won't now :)
4/9/14 5:47 PM
sew magic said...
Thank you for your straightforward review of this top. I thought, after reading all of the other reviews, that the fit of this jacket was wrong, but just on me. I used a silk noil as mu muslin. It seems to pull in the wrong places, i.e. neck and shoulders, yet the sleeves are too large, and I shortened the shoulder length twice but it still looks like it is hanging way off my shoulders. I did a FBA and that area was fine, but it still seemed to fit oddly on me. I love the look of it but probably also will not try it again, as I have spent way too much time prodding it along!
5/5/14 3:13 PM
Sarah Liz said...
I agree, I took one look at the vest and thought there is no way that would work - it is so huge in the armholes, you can see straight through!! I think the jacket could be used as a short sleeve blouse though.
6/27/14 8:04 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Vogue Patterns 8631

photo
by: fwdberlin

Review
McCall's 7321

photo
by: sewnaomi

Review
Maggie

Maggie

Buy Now
Sew Chic The Tia Dress Pattern (ln1312)

Sew Chic The Tia Dress Pattern (ln1312)

Buy Now