SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8982 (Misses' Jacket and Vest)

11 more reviews
Viewed 571 times 
Reviewed by:acmena
photo

 
 
About acmenastar
Australia
Member since: 8/7/13
Reviews written: 42
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 42
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/31/14 7:48 PM
Last Updated:1/31/14 7:48 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
trudiz said...
Thanks for reviewing this pattern. I also noticed the darts on the knit, but not on the woven. Didn't make sense to me either. Anyway, it's on my stack of "next" muslins. I'm going to give it a go - - with notes from your review.
2/1/14 10:09 AM
trudiz said...
sorry. hit the save button twice, tried to delete, didn't happen.
2/1/14 10:09 AM
TJSEWS said...
Thank you for your honest review. I purchased this pattern and will reference your review when I work on the muslin. I too thought it was odd that the knit had the darts while the woven did not.
2/1/14 4:17 PM
marthamyers said...
I am finishing up this view just now. Somehow I thought it was a top instead of a vest. My mistake though - you are totally right about the armscye. Way too low for a sleeveless top. I decided to add darts because, as you say, it needs them. And I added a lining once I got my head around the fact that it is a vest rather than a top. I think it is intended to be layered under the jacket and so the jacket is sized slightly larger.
2/2/14 7:47 PM
margk said...
Thanks for your review. I also have narrow shoulders and was initially interested in this as a top, so I won't now :)
4/9/14 5:47 PM
sew magic said...
Thank you for your straightforward review of this top. I thought, after reading all of the other reviews, that the fit of this jacket was wrong, but just on me. I used a silk noil as mu muslin. It seems to pull in the wrong places, i.e. neck and shoulders, yet the sleeves are too large, and I shortened the shoulder length twice but it still looks like it is hanging way off my shoulders. I did a FBA and that area was fine, but it still seemed to fit oddly on me. I love the look of it but probably also will not try it again, as I have spent way too much time prodding it along!
5/5/14 3:13 PM
Sarah Liz said...
I agree, I took one look at the vest and thought there is no way that would work - it is so huge in the armholes, you can see straight through!! I think the jacket could be used as a short sleeve blouse though.
6/27/14 8:04 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Fishsticks Designs Emmy Top & Dress

photo
by: khurtdvm

Review
Lolita Patterns Spearmint Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection Happi Coat & Hanten (230)

Victoria Jones Collection Happi Coat & Hanten (230)

Buy Now