Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 6844 (Misses'/Miss Petite Cardigans) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 527 times 55 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:missyyz
photo
About missyyzstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 2/6/09
Reviews written: 4
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2013
Posted on:2/1/14 3:28 PM
Last Updated:2/1/14 3:51 PM
Project Photo:McCall's: 6844 by missyyz

Pattern Photo:McCall's 6844
McCall's Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Easy & Great for Beginners
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $15.16 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Faux Suede  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description: Misses'/Miss Petite Cardigans

Pattern Sizing: XSML to XXL I made Extra Small for DD

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?

OH YA !! Happy to not be disappointed. I made view C with a longer peplum.

Were the instructions easy to follow?

The instructions were SUPER


What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?

LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE this pattern (I think everyone does)


Fabric Used:

A denim/grey faux suede with about 18 percent stretch. It's not a knit exactly, but not quite a stretch woven.... It's its' own thing but it drapes like a dream and behaves wonderfully when sewn. And, it has enough stretch to make this cardigan work as a kind of casual jacket.


Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:

No major alterations. Lengthened the bodice by an inch. Lengthened the peplum by almost 3 inches. Because I didn't have a true knit, I did set in the sleeves to get a bit of structure on the sleeve cap. I had to reduce the amount of ease in the sleeve cap. I left the bottom peplum with a raw edge (this stuff doesn't fray or unravel)

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?

Everyone recommends this one and I am on "Team Peplum" too.

Conclusion:

Very happy that I tried this cardi. I'll be making one for myself next.


Buy this pattern for $15.16  List Price: $18.95   Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
KathB said...
I love your fabric choice. Looks expensive :)
2/1/14 4:17 PM
KathB said...
I love your fabric choice. Looks expensive :)
2/1/14 4:17 PM
KathB said...
I love your fabric choice. Looks expensive :)
2/1/14 4:17 PM
TJSEWS said...
I love your version. It's gorgeous. Great fabric choice.
2/1/14 4:21 PM
MrsCharisma said...
Nice! Hope your daughter loves it!
2/1/14 4:34 PM
Aixoise said...
Really, really good looking. Great idea to use the faux suede. It works very well.
2/1/14 5:38 PM
STARG said...
Your fabric choice is great! Looks very soft and drapey.
2/1/14 7:09 PM
Lori V said...
This looks great, beautiful fabric.
2/1/14 7:19 PM
sewbehind said...
I like the longer length you chose to make this in. DD is lucky. Are you sure you are a beginner? You seem a natural!
2/1/14 7:21 PM
SewWil said...
Love your version of this cardigan! Your fabric is beautiful.
2/1/14 7:53 PM
Myspirit4 said...
Love the fabric!
2/1/14 8:05 PM
Levone said...
Nice looking cardigan!
2/1/14 8:35 PM
msschiel said...
That looks gorgeous!
2/2/14 7:25 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Another great version!
2/2/14 8:46 AM
DJWa said...
Nice!
2/2/14 9:39 AM
ceedee said...
You're right - who doesn't love this pattern? But your fabric choice takes this to another level. Wow. Your version is definitely going on my Wish List. Thanks for the review details too. Love it all.
2/2/14 11:25 AM
brandywine said...
I haven't seen this pattern before and it is now on my MUST-BUY list! Fantastic!
2/11/14 7:08 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Self Drafted Pattern 29655-1000
photo
Review by squirrelly... on 8/5/07
Read Review

Lily Bird Studio Camille's Dress Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Camille's Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Perfect Peasant Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Perfect Peasant Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Ottobre Design Magazine 04-2012-30 Groovy skirt
photo
Review by Sandi S on 11/3/12
Read Review

Favorite Things Ballet Slippers Pattern
Favorite Things Ballet Slippers Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Hazel Paper Pattern
Victory Hazel Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6510 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
McCalls 6510 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7095 Pattern
Burda 7095 Pattern

Details
Price: $5.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us