Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
StyleArc: Claudia Stretch Woven Top - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 309 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:Sigrid.
photo
Friend of PR
About Sigrid.starstarstarstar
NETHERLANDS
Member since: 11/14/06
Reviews written: 144
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 132 people
patterns reviewed: 139
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/2/14 6:31 AM
Last Updated:2/2/14 6:35 AM
Project Photo:StyleArc: Claudia Stretch Woven Top by Sigrid.

StyleArc: Claudia Stretch Woven Top by Sigrid.  StyleArc: Claudia Stretch Woven Top by Sigrid.  
Pattern Photo:StyleArc Claudia Stretch Woven Top
StyleArc Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description
Cigarette leg pant features an interesting front seam and a darted back hemline. The Claudia pant has a waist facing and side zip to eliminate bulk to give a slim silhouette.

Pattern Sizing
4-30 StyleArc patterns are sold per size

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes

Were the instructions easy to follow?
StyleArc has very basic step by step instructions with a few additional drawings. Perfectly ok for me and even if you're a beginner, these pants are easy.
StyleArc defines them in the range 'Medium/Challenging', but I can't see what's challenging about them. An invisible zip maybe?

That said there is one thing thing that is not good in the instruction drawing: at point 4 the drawing suggests you sew up both side seams to the top. Don't do that! The zipper has to be inserted. It's correct in the written instructions. I sew in the zipper before completing the side seam, but that's just my way of working.

Likes
The style of it, looking the same (apart from the front seam) to a rtw pair I have.
No dislikes


Fabric Used
A woven fabric with a little bit of stretch. It has been in my stash for ages, don't know the exact material it's made of.

Pattern Alterations or any design changes you made
Almost none! I did buy the pattern to my hip size which is a different size from my waist. Of course I had to take in a bit at the waist but that is really all I did: took a centimeter from the front seam at the top and made one of the darts a bit bigger.
I'm wondering if I have to give it an extra centimeter in the center back. I'm wearing it today and will decide upon that.

I did serge the waistband facing at the sides that overlap the zipper tape instead of folding it. It reduces bulk.
I also understitched the waistband before turning it over.
And trimmed the top of the darts to remove bulk as well.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I already have two fabrics in blue and black on my table to cut it from. Definitely recommend the pattern.

Conclusion
I'm rapidly becoming one of the StyleArc fans. This is such a basic pair of pants in a current style which fit me almost right out of the envelope.

If you don't like the center front seam: it's very easy to eliminate it, just tape the pattern pieces together at the seam line. I will do that on one of my next pairs, with my figure that means a little dart at the front, which is fine.


Pictures
Side
Back/side
Back for education only ;), yes a few wrinkles, and I am considering just to accept them as part of the combination figure/stretch fabric/not being too obsessed with fitting
other side

thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Dynamo said...
These look great on you!
2/2/14 10:56 AM
bjird said...
Nice job!
2/2/14 11:06 AM
Knitz said...
Very nice!
2/2/14 2:13 PM
Clareew said...
These are a great fit. well done.
2/2/14 2:31 PM
Dee2 said...
Great looking pants! The seaming is very interesting & along with the side zip contributes to a nice fit.
2/2/14 3:04 PM
Margaret said...
Very nice! Nice seaming detail.
2/3/14 9:13 AM
becca a said...
These are great, flattering pants!
2/3/14 10:26 AM
SewLibra said...
Excellent fit on these pants! I am adding this pattern to my wish list. Thank you for the review.
2/3/14 7:46 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

New Look 6710
photo
Review by a.me.s on 2/10/08
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Pyper Ruffle Cardi Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Pyper Ruffle Cardi Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Favorite Purse Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Favorite Purse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2006-113 Wrap Top
photo
Review by cabinbaby on 8/4/08
Read Review

Islander Sewing Systems Women's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Women's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern
Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1361 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 1361 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3115 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3115 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us